Ratings based on 1,860 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Only good location .

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Old bed frame, old carpet , old air condition make Noisey. Not enough parking lot. No good experience for our family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

What you'd expect for a budget hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, dustiness, scent of cleaning products EVERYWHERE
Location: Greek Theatre, Hollywood
Read some promising reviews about this hotel and how good it was for a budget hotel, but unfortunately, my stay ended up winding me disappointed. You're simply paying for the location and the name of "Hollywood" at this point. Upon entering the main office to check in, I saw that there was some renovation being done, but with how the work looked, it seemed as if it would be awhile for those renovations to be complete. Prior to handing me my room keys, the hotel receptionist SNEEZED on his hand, and didn't even wash them. Room was dusty and smelled like alcohol/cleaning products everywhere. If everything was cleaner, I'd say it would be good for a budget hotel, but was terribly disappointed with the cleanliness. Otherwise, location was great and convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

average hotel with good staff

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: pool
Cons: better breakfast
This Motel is good for the $$$. Area is a bit far away from any good restaurants if you are not driving. Staff is friendly and pool area is nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good choice in that location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
If you want to be close to Hollywood Blvd, walk of fame and the theaters this is a pretty good choice at a fair price. Rooms are large and clean. Staff is super nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
To much noise and no carpet on the floor . I can hear every talk on the hallwag
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, Ca.

Somewhat below average

Posted Sep 28, 2017
My main concern was the cockroach infestation. They (Owners) may want to check with some of the larger hotels and casinos and adapt their procedures. Sure hope I'm not taking any uninvited guests home?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the money if you're on a tight budget

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Value wise it was decent. Quite outdated, and although generally quite clean, there was a hair ball on the carpet which put me off slightly. The lamp wasn't working so we had the harsh bathroom lighting instead, and it's worth noting if it's important to you that the shower head was fixed in our room and the sink was in the actual bedroom separate from the bathroom itself The bed was comfy though and we can't complain location wise! In summary it is cheap for a reason however pretty close to everything and free parking makes it good value for money. We'd probably pay more next time and stay somewhere else but if you're on a tight budget and not spending time in the hotel go for it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Yes the room was big but the smell and the bed is horrible and the bathroom made me laugh . The picture are amazing but when I got there boom
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Tahir, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your not your identity cause we will check which room you stayed, now it is very hard to find out. Room and bath room pictures are same on internet. We use air freshener everyday. You should be fair with your rating and comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We didn't want to spend an arm and a leg for a one night stay over in Hollywood, so we gave this place a shot and were pleasantly surprised. The man at the front desk was helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and we slept well, though the bed was a bit harder than home. Our room was on the second level overlooking the nice pool which looks well maintained. No issues with parking. Breakfast is simple continental, but looked fresh. Checkout was easy and hassle free. We'd stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Tahir, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for fair comments. Thank you to choosing Hollywood City Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Decent motel close...ish to Hollywood attractions

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I was overall satisfied with my experience. The front desk guy was very friendly and helpful upon arrival (the only thing I didn't like was that the two nights were automatically charged to my credit card as soon as we checked in). He provided us with information on various tours that we could sign up for as this motel is a pickup spot for many of them. Our room was nothing fancy and outdated, but it was very clean. We can attest to that because the strong smell of the cleaning products was actually a bit overwhelming. The free continental breakfast was totally fine as it had the main staples to give us a burst of energy to begin our busy days - hot coffee, bananas, cereal, toast, and various sugary pastries. Although we were unfortunately too busy to enjoy it, the pool looked great! The only negative thing I can say (and it's not really a negative because it wasn't a big deal) is that it isn't as close to the Hollywood attractions (ie. Sunset Strip, Hollwood Walk of Fame, etc.) as I thought it was going to be. We still had to Uber everywhere, but they were cheap since they weren't long drives. It was right on the cusp of technically being within walking distance, but far enough where you don't want to walk that far in the sweltering heat. There also aren't a whole lot of sit-down restaurants nearby, but there is a Starbucks and great place to get delicious subs (I think it was called Jersey Mike's?) within a 5 minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Tahir, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Cee, Thank you so much for your opinion. We have policy to charge one night on your credit card on same arrival cause sometimes guests credit cards declines or do not show up, so will be stuck to sell room. We are in Hollywood area and lots of attraction close by like walk of fame, Dolby theater, Wax museum, Griffith Observatory. If you will get room on top these attraction will end up paying $200.00 per night more. Thank you to choosing Hollywood City Inn. Will love your stay.