Ratings based on 895 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never get in the hotel. It was horrible outside.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
I lost my money. Never get inside the hotel. It was horrible. Outside and inside. Horrible neighborhood. Very scary place. Have to book another hotel. Very bad experience. Call Expedia customer service. They could do anything. To expensive for the ugly place. Never book this place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Overall

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: One female staff member was helpful.
Cons: Everything
Facilities overall were run down. There was a huge hole in the roof in the hallway and smelled moldy. Room furniture and drapes were very dingy and dirty. One staff member was helpful. Another absolutely refused to help or give guidance. The property seemed to attract undesirable clientele - hanging out all hours of the night - and the hallway had a permanent smell of pot smoke. I reserved this room for my daughter and her girlfriend to stay while my daughter's baby was in neonatal intensive care at a nearby hospital. They tried to overlook the seedy conditions of the hotel and the unhelpful staff but eventually moved to a nice, clean hotel further away. Staying at Gateway certainly did not diminish the already stressful experience of having a very sick baby in the hospital.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like picture

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The hotel is old and in need of a reno. The breakfast is horrible. The hotel photos looked nothing like the hotel. The pictures are definitely old. It is in an unsafe dirty area
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

unsanitary

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: needs to be be cleaned
Location: location was great
the room had a terrible odor even room spray would not help . the walls were filthy. Drapes needed a wash. a paint job might help or even washed board of health needs to review this place do not recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Close to 95 & amenities.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This hotel is old & outdated, but clean. The staff was extremely friendly & courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Hotel needs some work

Posted Apr 5, 2017
It was hard to find. My first clue should have been when the cab driver didn't know where it was. I felt like they could film scarface 2 in our room due the the feeling of shady business going on in the other rooms. The place shows effort in trying to keep it up, but the place is in pretty bad repair. It was one of the cheapest places I. The area though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very large and quiet.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
I like this hotel and visit there often. Very large clean and quiet. Good for the price and very low key area. Will recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by Tomas

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
It was pretty quiet, I had a good resting period. Very close to I-95. Good places to eat around (I-hop 24 hrs). close to FLL airport. The facilities need some improvements, but not a bad place to crash for the night!
4 out of 5
by Jeff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brandon,Fla.

Not happy at all

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
This was the dirties hotel I've ever walked into. It was so bad that we didn't even stay the night. The walls had dirty hand prints up the stare wall,the room walls were just as bad ,the bath room shower curtain looked like it has never been washed.All I can say is: I expected better from a hotel listed on Expedia. Now I have to try and get a refund on my card.