Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Unique, friendly place to stay in Hollywood.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Location: Close to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, easy to get to Universal Studios. Shops and restaurants nearby.
Unique, quirky place to stay in Hollywood. Lovely welcoming staff made it feel very personal. The hotel and accommodation is slightly dated but all the special "magic" touches more than make up for this. Our suite was huge and very well equipped, with a small balcony overlooking the pool. Free laundry service, free snacks and ice-cream machine. Magician at breakfast. We went to Universal Studios whilst we were there and the staff were really helpful and gave us typed out instructions on how to get there and back as well as passes for the metro. A really nice touch was that the staff could order takeaways for you to be delivered to your room , or you could eat on the patio downstairs. We had a really nice Thai takeaway one night. Out of all the places we stayed during our California road trip, the Magic Castle was my children's favourite place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to everything

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Awesome location, friendly and helpful staff, metro near by which was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great family Hotel - Wonderfull staff

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Staff and service. Great atmosphere for kids.
Cons: Update rooms. Sofa beds not the best for comfort.
Location: Hoolywood Blvd, tours etc.
Great hotel for families with fairly basic and slightly dated but spacious rooms. Staff are fantastic and very accomodating. Nothing appears to be too much trouble and they are great with the kids. A lot of little perks for the kids with a nice warm pool complete with a popsicle hotline, ice cream machine and soda fountain as well as a great range of free snacks available any time. location is fnatastic for Hollywood blvd and tours etc. Certainly not the most modern facilities but is more than made up for by the fantastic attitude of the staff. would recommend this Hotel for anyone travelling with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice and close to everything

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: The hotel is right near everything in Hollywood, walking distance
The hotel is in the prime location to Hollywood and walking distance for those who don't drive whilst on hoilday's
3 out of 5
by Deborah

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was fine. Our room was wedged into a stairwell. Very clean, but nothing exciting. Lots of families enjoying Mother's Day weekend and the pool, which was cool. I'm sure some of the blogger rooms facing the pool would be nicer. Stafff was friendly, location was great for Hollywood tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Hollywood boulevard attractions.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Great location. We love visiting the castle. Close to Hollywood attractions and hotels. Friendly staff. Nice heated pool. Free snacks are great!
1 out of 5
by Patrick

This place was dirty and outdated with cockroaches

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
I was charged for an updated room and givin an outdated room with roaches that was dirty and way up a hill it was probably the worst room they had
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Magic Castle Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The staff. Just so helpful. The central location
Cons: Modernisation of rooms. Breakfast content
Location: Brilliant location, everything Hollywood is close at hand. You need transportation to visit the wider attractions of LA
This was a perfectly adequate hotel, very close to the Hollywood Blvd. The staff were very helpful and accommodating in every way. The free mid day snacks and ice cream were a surprising bonus which we probably should have made more use of. This is an excellent hotel for people with young children. The pool was clean,safe and heated. What lets the hotel down is that the rooms, or more probably the building is a bit dated and therefore lacks the style and format of say the Marriott chain approach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Everything was great! The staff was amazing and we had to leave too soon. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
We really liked the friendly and helpful hotel staff. Hotel location is great. We enjoyed our stay. If ever back in the area, we will stay here again.