Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Nice hotel, staff was great! Close enough to city center to take a short train ride in and avoid driving downtown. Hotel shuttle even dropped us off at the terminal and picked us up!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Thank you for your review! We look forward to hosting you next time.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Thank you for your review! We look forward to your next visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Comfortable rooms, Very Clean

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was clean, people who owned it very nice.
Cons: Our room was hot when we checked in and it took a while to cool down. Would have been nice to have air on when we arrived.
Location: Walmart nearby, lots of fast food places and one very good restaurant.
This hotel was very clean and comfortable. My only issue was no elevator but for the cost involved, I thought it was very nice. Breakfast was nothing special but it was what you would normally get. Biscuits and gravy, boiled eggs, waffle iron, and some pastries. Also 2 types of cold cereal, with milk and o.j. I would certainly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Sawan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I certainly hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by Benjamin

You get what you pay for...

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The people who work here were really nice, but unfortunately this place is a dump. I reserved my room a couple months ago, and my stupid fault was that I accidentally booked a smoking room. Because I was coming up for the eclipse all the rooms were booked, so I was stuck. The smoking room smelled like a smoking room, so there is no room to complain there, I don't think the sheets were cleaned, if they were then they need to just throw those ones away as they looked dirty, as did the comforter. The tub had rust, and no towels (as the towel bar was missing), the remote control didn't work, the ice machine was broke, and the dog in the next door room kept barking (not really the hotels fault, but it added to my aggravation). Again, the folks working the front desk were very nice. I just think that this place is rarely used, and they don't invest the funds made into improvements... But it could also be that I was roomed in the building across from the main building, which is likely never used, but because the eclipse they needed to put folks in the reserve housing... Just my guess. One bright spot is that they had HBO in my room and I was able to watch the new episode of Game of Thrones!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
We literally thought the "smoking" rooms area was an abandoned building. The room was SO smoky. We understood this is what we booked (due to Eclipse) and the desk guy did come spray some stuff in the room that marginally helped, but it smelled like a dirty ashtray. If you're a non-smoker and have any other choice, take it.
2 out of 5
by frances

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Free ant farm

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I requested Topeka in the Expedia search engine, but I was given this hotel in Horton, KS every time. The rate was ok by modern price standards and I soon found out why. None of my family members could sleep because little black ants were randomly crawling on us and waking us from our half sleep. We have never eaten in our room but that night and morning, we were an ant colony feast. Instead of staying two nights as we were supposed to, we checked out and left early the next day. The staff were nice and the breakfast food was a little below average. We had never been in hotel with ants before so this was a first experience for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Sawan Patidar, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is odd since your were not only on the second floor, but when we went to the room after you checked out, we did not find any ants. I understand that you had made a mistake and thought we were located in Holton and since your reservation was made through a third party and you could not cancel your two night stay, you stayed the first night and requested to checkout for the second. I am glad we could work with Expedia and I was able to cancel your second night without any penalties to you.
4 out of 5
by Yvette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No satisfied

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Card key didn't work. No other suite available. Staff had to let me in my room each time. Room was fairly clean but I. Desperate need of updates.