Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, very accessible

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Room was too hot due to being above the pool, needed a fan!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Blah!!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The memories I shared with those who were staying with me allowed me to overlook the conditions.
Cons: The hotel needs serious updating, better quality bedding and improvement on food and restaurant menu.
Location: I was there for a family reunion and was not privy to the sights. The countryside is magnificent!!!
Hotel is an upgraded camping site. The rooms are uncomfortable and old. The staff was a bit disoriented, but kind. The food is mediocre at best. There is not much around the hotel in terms of restaurants, so you are subjected to the food whether you want to or not. The prices are very expensive because you are basically a captured patron. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely long weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff & Food
Location: Spent a day at Chester Zoo, nearby Talacre beach was lovely. Scala cinema in Prestatyn was very nice and comfortable.
Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, restaurant and bar area were very pleasant. Room was a little dated, but very clean and had everything you needed. Couldn't ask for more at the price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tidy Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: a bit of updating butstill a nice place
Location: location is very good for Chester, Chester Zoo, Liverpool and if you like shopping Cheshire Oaks.
Nice clean and tidy hotel within easy reach to Chester Zooand Cheshire Oaks shopping mall and Liverpool etc, it has a nice pool not big but good enough to swim in also has a health club free to guests, loads of parking and the staff are friendly and very helpful, meals are all fresh and the burgers they do are really good overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

lovely hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Helpfulness of staff, meals and very quick restaurant service, everything was clean and tidy. Situated in lovely countryside and near to main road
Cons: Matresses!!!
Location: Location was great. Although near the main road, didn't hear any traffic once inside, even with window open. Surrounded by lovely countryside
Arrived just after a wedding party so everywhere was covered with confetti which looked a bit messy but was soon cleared up ... we arrived just at the wrong time! The hotel was comfortable, staff friendly, meals delicious, in fact everything was fine except the bed was rock hard! Had to go out and buy a quilt to lie on to soften it! I'm sure the staff would have given us another one if we'd mentioned it but didn't think it worth complaining about as everything else was good. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2nd stay and would stay again

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The pool and Sauna was very welcome after a day walking round Liverpool. Also good breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: Layout of room 56 also dining area for guests when there is a function on could be a little better.
Location: We visited the 100 statues on Crosby beach, Cavern Club and Albert Dock in Liverpool. Also Shopping in Chester & walked across Pontcysyllte Aqueduct.
We had room 56 this time we stayed. It was very large but not used to best advantage I feel. Large king size bed made by pushing 2 singles together which was fine but only 1 side had bedside cabinet also TV was on the dressing table to the side so you may get a stiff neck watching it whilst laying down. 1st morning the breakfast was full buffet continental and full English as there was a football team staying and students. The 2nd morning was a served cooked breakfast if wanted together with buffet continental breakfast. There was a wedding party on the 2nd night we stayed. This did cause a bit of a mix up with our table reservation for that evening as they also had a party of students staying. They did apologise profusely and gave us a nice bottle of Pinot Noir at the house wine price (£10 off). Also even though we could hear the wedding party it did not disturb us.
4 out of 5
by Bren the Pen from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK

Would Stay Again

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Lovely elevated view, would stay again, staff efficient and friendly and prices, e.g. bar are very reasonable. Great breakfast. Great stay.
4 out of 5
by Liz from England

Value for money hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2012
Pros: The spa/swimming pool is lovely. The full English breakfast was good.
Cons: The evening meal was badly cooked. Definitely wouldn't recommend it.
Location: Lovely location. Our room looked out over the River Dee.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The young man on reception showed us round on arrival and made us feel welcome. First impressions upstairs was that it looked rather tired and some walls were in need of a fresh coat of paint. Our room, although a bit dated, was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and the shower over the bath was really powerful. The beds were very comfy, I'm a bad sleeper but I had a really good night's sleep here. The pool was a bonus. It was lovely and warm and the changing area and pool were spotlessly clean. Our one disappointment was the evening meal. My husband eats just about anything but he left most of his gammon and chips (chewy gammon and chips not cooked thoroughly). I had the butternut squash risotto which was rather bland with too much rice and very little butternut squash. Perhaps it was an off night and we were unlucky as the other reviews say the food is great. Other diners had the curry which seemed to be going down well. Breakfast however was a great improvement on the evening meal and hubby was very pleased with his 'full English'. We would definitely stay here again.