Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Leaves a lot to be desired

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Guy who checked us in was very nice.
Cons: Definitely needs updating. The room has double windows and you can open the window but not the second window so you can't get air flow into the room.
Location: Pratt Museum is a great place to visit as is Fat Olive's for pizza
Location is fine and view of the bay is fine but you're also looking at the back of trailers. No screens on doors so flies get in. No water in the kitchen area - you have to get water out of the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We have awesome front desk people, I'm glad you had a good check in experience. The view of the bay and mountains from our rooms is outstanding, we appreciate the beauty of Alaska. Sorry if your room was to warm, the windows open in all rooms, so we will fix the window in your room that was stuck. We also have fans at the office for any guest who wants one. Best Regards, Pam - office manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel is great- neighbor room was snoring

Posted Aug 23, 2017
room was great- beach walk is nice- the person next to us snored and it was after 11pm so we could not get the hotel office to be moved to a quieter spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Pam - office manager., Hotel Management
Thank you for mentioning our great rooms. Our housekeeping staff does an excellent job, the rooms are comfortable and clean. I'm sorry for the snoring problem, the office phone will be answered through the night, there is just no one in the office, someone is on site to care for your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel with great views.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Awesome view of the bay right our window. We saw sea lions swimming around and a bald eagle flying over head.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great ocean view.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Of all of the hotels we stayed at in Alaska, this one was our favorite. We had a great view from our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda, Ca

Needs Shades!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet and under budget.
Cons: Full black out curtains for privacy and to block out the "Midnight Sun" (An Alaskan saying and truth)
Location: Good food downtown, obviously fishing for Halibut, several 'tourist'' shops on the spit and in the area. There is a movie theater in town.
On a business trip to Homer, overnight then back. Booked this hotel because it said ocean view and was in expense account requirements. Check in was okay, received a real metal key for the door instead of a card, interesting.. The room was clean but sterile, in that it was a box shaped open room. Door at one end window/'balcony' at the other. The biggest feature (or lack of) to note was that the windows used mini blinds for privacy and sun blocking. Sadly , they were only okay at privacy and HORRIBLE at blocking the sun. My stay was in July and the sun does not go down until AFTER midnight. It was very herd to sleep, and therefore function well the next day. The office is separate from the rooms and when it rains (a lot) it makes it more difficult to pop in with a question or request. The room was fairly quiet, and as above, clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Pam - manager, Hotel Management
Thanking for mentioning the clean rooms. Our housekeeping staff is great, our rooms are clean and comfortable which add to restful and peaceful. We do have an amazing amount of sunshine in the summer time in Alaska. We are sorry it kept you awake, we do have nice sleep masks at the front desk for any guest who want a pair. Best Regards, Pam - manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice close to the beach

Posted Jul 12, 2017
we were there for a short time, hotel was close to restaurants and other tourists locations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deteriorating hotel that's way over priced.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Price was outrageous for a basic room with hardly any accommodations. Our view wasn't horrible but still ugly to look at the other worn buildings. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone, escpcially to someone who is trying to enjoy the beauty of Alaska.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Pam - manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Ocean Shores. We have clean and comfortable rooms. The best view is from our Beachfront rooms, the have an uninterrupted view of the Bay and mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marietta, Ga

Wonderful View

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Clean with a great view of the bay and mountains.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy access to Homer and the spit.
Really enjoyed our stay. Wonderful view and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
No black out shades had to use a blanket because having children in a daylight bright room, not conducive to sleeping. But place was awesome views. And comfortable bed, very alaskan decorations, Iditarod pictures and memorbilia in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Pam - manager, Hotel Management
Sorry about the sunlight problem, we have sleeping masks at the front desk for any guests that want them. I realize a mask doesn't work well for kids. We love the view from Ocean Shores, the mountains and the bay are beautiful. Thank you, Pam - front desk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to everything Homer.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The hotel had wonderful views and cozy beds.
Cons: You could hear everything the upstairs folks were doing. Quite frustrating. With the cost of the room, the owners could put in better insulation.
Location: The location was perfect. Super close to the beach. And, perfect for beach combing during low tide.
We had a nice stay in Homer. And, generally the hotel was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry the upstairs guests were noisy. We are happy you enjoyed the beach combing, the tide pools here by Ocean Shores are amazing. Pam - Office manager.