Ratings based on 1,445 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Staff were friendly and accommodating when we arrived earlier than expected and checked in early. Hotel was extremely clean and the room was spacious. Also, great location near a bunch of places to eat and Samford University.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit while in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Convenient central location for what was needed.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: my room location was awesome and the decor and high ceilings, really nice.
Cons: customer courtesy from that guy... I assume he was one of the night auditors. A different guy was there the 2nd night of my 3 stays and he was nicer
Overall, enjoyed my stay. There were some younger individuals on premise that hung around outside near cars but luckily nothing happened to my cars. Nice location for shops and interstate access. Overnight staff was a tad rude and unconcerned about guests needs, while he watched tv on his phone and didn't show urgency to me standing at the front desk. Seemed bothered that I asked for a toothbrush and didn't even offer toothpaste. I walked away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your guest room. However, we would like to sincerely apologize for the issue you have brought to our attention regarding the evening staff. We value your feedback and the information you have given will be used in our continual efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Again, thank you and we hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Breakfast definitely needs improvement. Hotel is old and needs to change the carpets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value your feedback and the information you have given helps in our continual efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Again, thank you and we hope to exceed your expectations upon your next visit in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good in a pinch

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Overall good hotel to evacuate from the hurricane. Breakfast was okay, not Greatest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value your feedback and the information you have given helps in our continual efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit while in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Would have been better but the pull out couch was threadbare.. and the extra blankets had holes in them and the staff didn't seem to care
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We sincerely apologize for the issues you have brought to our attention. The information you have given will be used in our continual efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Again, thank you and we hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The room wasn't as clean as I would have liked. Great breakfast and nice pool. Water pressure in the shower was undesirable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction with the accommodations of your room. The information you have provided as been addressed with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards. Again, thank you and we hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Beautiful Property in Foothills Of Birmingham

Posted Aug 25, 2017
One if the nicest properties I have stayed at. Close to downtown and charming small towns in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit while in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Clean!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
There were stains on the couch and the carpet. It had a very strong musty smell that immediately bothered my child's allergies. The gentleman at the front was not helpful in getting a refund to us but the manger did call me and she took care of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction with the accommodations of your room. The condition of your room has been addressed with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards. Again, thank you and we hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando fl

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our stay was comfortable the pillows on the beds were too small there was no bedding in the closet for the pullout couch when we first arrived had to go back downstairs for sheets and blankets
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We value your feedback and the information you have given will be used in our continual efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit while in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My stay was very pleasant! I definitely would recommend to stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by MBarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit while in the area.