Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homewood, Al

Quick stay for Bama vs LSU

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The clerk let us check in early so we could make it to T-Town on time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Mesha Sanders was very accommodating to our needs with out hesitation. That is again for a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I hated it the hotel need to be updated and I seen a roach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

The Bates Motel would had been better.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing but I believe in saying something nice. The lady at the front desk was very sweet.
Cons: Tear the hotel down and build a new one. This place is not only a dump but it is not safe to sleep in.
Location: Close to all of the major universities and downtown but there are other hotels in the area to stay at.
I really didn't expect much since the hotel was cheap but I was not expecting this. First things first. The lady at the desk was very sweet and she deserves a better work environment. She needs to go to some of the more nicer hotels because she would be a great asset to them. But that is where this ends! First I went into my room at midnight after a difficult day of moving my daughter into college. I was tired, hot, and worn out. All I wanted was a clean, cool, comfortable room but I got the opposite. First the room was dirty. Their were exposed wirings that honestly could not be safe and I have a feeling the city would shut this place down if they knew. The room had an odor and the door barely locked. The tv didn't work. The lights didn't work because of the exposed wires. The tub was dirty as well as the room. But here is the real downfall. The AC stop working around 1am and by the time I woke up at 5:30 my room was hotter than the mid summer day in Birmingham and you know how hot that is. It was miserable. The bed had bed bugs in it and unfortunately I didn't sleep due to the temperature of the room and the bugs biting me through out the night. I thought about going out to my car and sleeping the front seat because this place was a nightmare and I have stayed in some bad hotels but this one top the list of hotels from the other side. When I told the lady at the front desk all she could say is that she was sorry and honestly it is not her fault but man!
5 out of 5
by Peter

comfortable stay

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Sam and the front desk team were very accomodating even after checkout
5 out of 5
by Peter

A very good stay

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, very helpful, Sam even after checkout was most gracious
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for the price

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
I think the hotel is older. There was a crack from the ceiling to the floor on one of the walls. When in the bathroom, there was a constant rumbling noise behind the wall, not sure what it was.
5 out of 5
by Charisse

Good service

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
It was fine besides a maintenance man entering my room unannounced. Even with that the front desk rep was great!
2 out of 5
by Steven

Looks are deceiving

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
At first it seemed like a good hotel. Until I started seeing roaches everywhere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does Not Match The Photos

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
This place is a dump. The outside is decent. Security at night is extremely rude for no reason. The comfortor from the 80s hadn't been washed since then. Only stay here if its an emergency and you have no where else to go.