Ratings based on 901 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Huge room, lovely atrium

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Large room, proximity to Highlands Hospital
Cons: Room had bulging and peeling wallpaper, damaged/missing tiles in pool and hot tub. Hotel needs repairs and upgrades to match price point.
Location: We were only in town due to surgery at Highlands Hospital
We selected this hotel due to the proximity to Highlands Hospital and price/value. The location was a bit complicated to find, for someone not familiar to the area. The staff was kind and professional, the atrium was lovely, and the room/suite was very large. We were disappointed with the shabbiness (for lack of a better word) of the suite, however. Wallpaper was bulging and peeling (water damage?), and overall the room felt very aged and neglected. We had difficulty accessing the pool with our room key - had a second key made, which still didn't work properly. Frustrating, but staff was apologetic and accommodating. The pool area had several damaged spots, and the hot tub had tiles missing. Overall, I would say that this hotel is in need of repairs and upgrades, but still was comfortable and served the purpose for our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice staff, indoor pool and jucuzzi

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Suited and really comfortable and spacious Nice staff, good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Nice Getaway

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: The staff was courteous and helpful.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Embassy Suites in Birmingham. The staff was very courteous and aimed to please. I will definitely stay at this property again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for an overnight stay

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Location, bar, and restaurant.
Cons: Refurbish the old smoking rooms and clean better.
The hotel is easy to get to and the breakfast is wonderful. The room was unfortunately a previous smoking room and the air freshener/deodorizer was incredibly strong and bothersome. Some hotels just don't get the fact that you have to actually replace carpets, wall paper and furnishings in order to make an older hotel truly non-smoking. The rooms were not particularly clean. For example, all of our doors had dirty fingermarks front and back. They wiped right off, so I am not sure anyone ever washed the doors or door casings. The sink drain in the bathroom didn't open and the fan vents were really gross. In addition, spattered food on some walls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dothan,al

Nice hotel only 1 issue

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The only problem with the stay was that the shower drain barely drained didn’t call to get fixed since 1nt stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The hotel is outdated and is in need of renovations, including the tvs, the restrooms, and the lack of keyless entry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

The bathroom was molded. The toilet and sink was u

Posted Dec 1, 2017
The toilet and sink was stopped up in the second room. I check out of the hotel immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Check in staff was fantastic and assisted with bags to my room. While there they checked to make sure all electronics worked as well as that the room was in order
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: My guest really enjoyed the fact that we had a smoking room in a 4 star hotel. Thank You Embassy for caring about everyone...
Cons: The Evening Reception needs an overhaul on their version of snacks. Children snack, adults need finger foods or Hordouves.
Location: I came to town to visit friends and family and go to Pappadeau's only.
The staff was very nice and attentive to my every need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach, CA

The BIG let down!

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The Omelettes at breakfast.
Cons: Deferred maintenance and faster service.
My friend and I arrived from an overnight flight from CA at 7am exhausted and ready for a nice room and some rest. We paid for the room for the night before so we could check in with no delay. When we got into our room they must have done some sheet-rock work in the bathroom and there was dust everywhere. It was FILTHY! We also found a screw on the carpet along with some contact lenses. We then had to wait over an hour for another room to be available and that one was clean but needed lots of deferred maintenance. When we came back from Talladega on Sunday night they didn't leave us any clean towels. We had to call down twice to finally get some clean towels.