Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Gone Down Hill....

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location. Restaurant down stairs. Free WiFi. Outstanding cook to order breakfast in the mornings.
Cons: Upkeep is slacking in a bad way.
Location: Just off of us 280/31. 10 minutes from downtown and historical sites. Great shopping and dinning options at the summit and galleria.
I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 5 years. Each time has been worse than the previous one. The desk staff was ok, but the room staff could care less. I had to ask multiple times for clean towels and new soap items for the shower. The shower was an open walk in stall that drained water all over the bathroom floor. Some of it even wet the carpet under the door going into the room. There was lime/rust/calcium deposits on the sink spout. The toilet seat was old and cracked and had stains on it. The fridge smelled like something dead inside. The phone didn't work. And my air conditioner would not cool the room down to where I wanted it. It ran 24/7 for the entire 4 day stay Also, the down stairs Ruth's Cris experience wasn't as I remembered it. My meat was not cooked correctly and my glass stayed empty for a good portion of my stay. My server, Juan, spoke broken English and was difficult to understand. I used to love coming here for a room thats nicer than your regular holiday inn, but after this stay Im not sure I will be coming back. Dont get me wrong, Its not horrible.... the free breakfast was outstanding both times I ate it. Cooked to order fresh and no wait. The pool and hot tub area were nice. The room basically did what I needed it to do but I didnt come here for basic. I am used to a higher quality out of this particular hotel. For the price I paid, I could have went to one of their upscale competitors downtown or near the galleria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from okc

Its old and outta date..

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Mold on the ceiling. Paint peeling. Front counter was excellent. the rest of the staff was a little rude. The stay over all was ok. Wasn't impressed. It looked way better in the pics.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Ok hotel close to the Zoo

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff was super friendly.
Cons: the cleanliness of the room, amenities that were promised, and the breakfast provided to all guests.
Location: Zoo & Botanical Gardens
We only stayed one night, in the "Premium 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Suite". Air conditioning struggled to stay at 72 degrees, the curtains were dusty and the stains in the carpet were visible even with the dark crazy pattern. There was no Keurig coffee brewer, snakes, or drinks even though we paid for the "premium" room. Oh, and the refrigerator was hotter than our 72 degree room. Again, this was an ok stay for one night and a visit to the zoo, however I would not recommend longer than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birmingham stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The room smelled very badly of foot odor, which cleared up in a day. Apparently this must have been a pet suite. This was not healthy due to my allergies. On the day before checkout our room was not tended to and on arrival we found the television remote not working which after reporting it to the front desk, wasn't resolved until a second trip to the front desk. The pool was not consistently maintained. Complimentary made to order breakfast and happy hour was a very nice surprise. Although the suite is outdated, my family and I were comfortable after the minor glitches were resolved. I must mention that this seemed to be a very busy weekend and some of the staff did their jobs while others to be overwhelmed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham.al

Needs upgrades

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Its overrated.the pics on the website look amazing but when we got there it was just ok.the a/c wasn't that cold.the microwave smelled like burnt popcorn.the mini fridge wasn't cold enough. Mold all over the restrooms ceiling. The paint was peeling in the restroom. Breakfast was ok. Front desk was really nice.the other workers were rude half the time.. We won't be staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I have stayed here twice now, both for family events. Absolutely not worth the price! And definitely not to par level for an Embassy or Hilton property, either time. The hotel is past its prime, was probably very nice in the 80s-90s. Looks like quick fix attempts were made at updating and repairs. Also smells like a moisture problem, room smelled very mildewey and bathroom ceiling with black mold spots. Fan in the bathroom appeared to be original to building and was negligible at best; probably hence the mild spots. The plate that connects shower head to tiled wall was broken and hung there leaving exposed gap in the wall. Fridge was broken and wobbly. Only 1 remote for 2 TVs. One mini trashcan for entire suite, had to request a fan from front desk to try to ventilate out some of the mildewed air. No stand to set luggage on. Pool and hot tub very heavily chlorinated, irritated skin. Someone in the hotel apparently had pizza as pepperoni was dropped on the atrium stairs and remained there all weekend. Location is not the best, located in middle of corporate office building industrial park. Have to drive to even the close locations (zoo, etc). No sidewalks in vicinity to run/walk and "fitness center" was a walk in closet. Staff was nice. Rooms were spacious. No improvements made from last trip a few years back. It they would make actual repairs (not short cut quick fixes) and address the aging building it could have potential.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: huge rooms
Cons: customer service, b-fast, cleanliness, hot tub
Hot Tub "broken", but appears water is in it and running - no effort to really find out what the deal was, could my family use it; b-fast: awful: like, they use the least quality ingredients, they have zero customer service, everything was kind of disgusting - you could see them making stuff on the flat top and it was full of old food, burning away... gross... bed too soft; tv small.. room huge though...
5 out of 5
by Mark

Nice, Clean. Comfortable

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay, they even had my room choice ready when I got there. Wow someone paying attention to detail.
5 out of 5
by MElizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels