Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by MARIE FRANCE

Gorgeous location,!!,

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was great, we liked very much. Location and the people. No doubt to have the experience in this cozy town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you very much Marie France.It is very nice to hear this from you.We hope to see you very soon
5 out of 5
by JEAN

King and queen for the night!!!

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was a dream come true... It was the best thing about our whole two weeks vacation..we went all over Spain..the room we were in had two windows and i felt like a queen of the castle and my husband the king... It is worth the money and the trip to stay there
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Jean and his wife, Thank you from all the staff. We are vey touched by your very pleasent comment and we are waiting for you to see you again. Best regards
4 out of 5
by Sue

Lovely castle experience

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
We loved what they did with the renovation of the castle to become a modern hotel with up to date facilities in a lovely location. Unfortunately, it was hard to drive to the Parador as access roads have been blocked for pedestrians only and not been updated on the GPS. This seems to be a common issue with staying in Paradors in Spain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
A gorgeous property in an old castle. The village is beautiful and charming, very quiet. Great hiking is a 20 minute drive up Jaizkabel despite the tourist info office having no details to share about hiking. Restaurant Alameda was recommended, a Michelin 1 star and 5 minute walk, and was amazing. Highly recommend and was a tremendous value. I would love to visit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location; beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Good food and wine! Nora at reception went above and beyond when I left a purchase at a local bar! The grounds are beautiful! Great experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel extraordinaire!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff are excellent so are facilities. Will come back when we can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun way to enjoy an old ruin

Posted Aug 18, 2016
paradores are always a safe bet in Spain. While the rooms were small they were charming and the overlooking Terrace onto the sea was simply beautiful. Breakfast buffet was nice in town was really lovely.
2 out of 5
by mark from Dublin

Has to be better hotels if this price range!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Paid €275 for a superior room with a view. While the view was nice the room was far from superior! Having stayed in six other Paradors on this trip, this was the worst room and it was the only one that was "superior". The wifi didn't work and when I mentioned it on check out I got the by now standard Parador shoulder shrug....as if saying "nothing to do with me, I only work here!"
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

No air conditioning

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Beautiful old castle
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: The location is in the centre of Hondarribia , old fisherman village with gorgeous views.
It's a beautiful old building, but with that comes a problem: no air conditioning . We would open windows , but it was too noisy from outside at night and unfortunately during the day the cleaner would close it even when we put a note not to enter to our room. That made us feel violated. We cancelled the room as soon as was possible and changed a hotel