Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to event I attended at the Cooperage!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Walking distance to beautiful town. Nice staff, clean room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of Honesdale.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Original decor.
Cons: Some renovation without destroying the historical structure.
Location: In middle oh Honesdale, PA. Beautiful scenic area.
Older hotel with ambiance, great friendly staff in the middle of town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old and run down

Posted Nov 25, 2016
First, this hotel is above a bar. We got the 2 bedroom full kitchen. I called ahead of time and asked if kitchen would have everything I needed to cook. They told me it would. It did not! I had no pans or knives, sponge. I asked manager for oven pans and kitchen staff never brought me anything. The pull out sofa was broken. There were no extra blankets. I asked them to fix it for my second night. They brought me 2 cot roll away beds. That doesn't fix the fact that we had to sit on a broken couch during our stay. I asked various people to help and no one fixed problems. It cost $139 a night. I would never stay there again! So disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
It was real load and a lot of noise from the restaurant and its Bar was open until 2.00am and didn't fall asleep until 3.00am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Towanda PA

Disappointing for the price

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Delicious meal, very friendly staff.
Our room was clean. However, the amenities are extremely outdated. Thankfully we didn't need to use the plug-in room heater-- but could have used air conditioning-- but there wasn't any. The window had no screen. The restaurant downstairs was outstanding and lovely, but the upstairs was another world. Room walls were terribly thin. Not recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Owner is awesome!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Management and the owner worked with me to fix a room mix up. The bar and lobby were a great place to hang out on the evening prior to a wedding, and the owner is well respected in town for renovating the hotel. I would stay here again when visiting Honesdale.
2 out of 5
by Robyn

"Historic" shouldn't mean dirty.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Such a disappointment....It all started waiting for someone to check us in, then I confused them by wanted to pay cash, and it took another 20 minutes to get change. While I am well aware of it being a "historic hotel" that doesn't mean you don't have to take care of it. The carpeting in my room was disgusting. The bedding in the smaller bedroom had stains on both the sheets, pillow cases and bed spread. I went downstairs and asked if the bedding could be changed while we had dinner. When we came back to the room, the only thing that had been changed was the bed spread. Stained sheets and pillowcases were still there. I went and asked for new sheets and pillow cases and changed it myself! It really was disgusting. Luckily I brought my own pillow/blanket which I laid on. We also realized later on that the door in the second bedroom which also led to the hallway was unlocked the whole time- and wouldn't lock! I asked for ice, the poor waitress who tried to help me was sent back and forth from the kitchen to the bar 3 times before someone would get it for her. Again, just because the hotel is old, doesn't mean its ok to be dirty. Extremely disappointed to pay $200 and feel that uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Fine for one night. Bartender is also evening clerk and there was a little mixup with the room. They had me for two rooms. That was fixed at check out. Bar is nice and a wide variety of craft beers to choose from. Cleaning lady was friendly and thorough.
4 out of 5
by darlene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Pleasant, clean and rustic

Posted Aug 1, 2016
To avoid driving for 10 hours, we needed a place to stop for the night while doing camp pick ups/drop offs for our kids. This was perfect. Great dinner and drinks. Hoped to walk about town for a bit but it was POURING. So we hung out at the bar. Room was small and minimalistic but perfect for our needs. Very clean. Staff was friendly.