Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Wayne Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, good food, nice bar
Cons: the rooms all need updating, clean rugs & couches, better beds
Location: nice quaint town, plenty of stores and restaurants
Staff was very friendly and accommodating, nice restaurant and bar area, good food - that's it. Rooms were very old / dated, poor condition, uncomfortable bed, stain couch and hotel layout poor. 1 27" tube TV in amore which was hard to view. No TV in bdrm, bathroom very run down, old, shower stall 32" - I'm 6' 230# not comfortable and very tight to shower in. I will not visit this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vail & Aspen, CO

Quaint Historic Charm, Culinary Find - BUT

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Charm, staff, dining.
Cons: Be more transparent on "wine to go" versus serving guest in the bar then hitting them with a very high, unexpected check.
Location: Not quite sure as we had so little time. Found a good breakfast place down the street (sorry, don't recall the name).
We traveled for a one day trip to adopt a dog in nearby Thompson, PA. The Wayne Hotel hit the mark on historic charm and exceeded our dining expectations with an alternative fresh culinary menu complemented by a respectable wine selection, my guess, best in the area. Our waitress was charming and our hotel receptionist were warm in their welcome. The bar offers comfortable areas to sit whether nudging up to the bar our on the coaches by the fireplace. Uniquely the bar sells "wine to go" at very affordable prices. Beware here, however. We asked to purchase a bottle of wine at the prices listed on plaques around the bar from the bar tended and he said "I'll bring it to your table." When we received our bill it was 3x the price listed because he "served us." Our room was a two room suite with a microwave and refrigerator and plenty of seating (coach, etc.) which we planned to bring the bottle of wine to our room but for being offered "I'll bring it to your table" by the bar tender -- nice guy, but could have been a little more transparent or offered to adjust the bill. Life is too short to have argued about this so we chalked it up to just that and we hope our post saves the next guest from running into this situation. Would we stay there again? Yes, but we will be a bit smarter next time.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Worked for what we were looking for.

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
not bad, a bit noisy with the patrons in the bar area when we were trying to sleep. Bathroom in suite was small, and there was no entrance from the second room. In order to use bathroom, 2nd room occupants had to pass through our room. Would have loved to have breakfast at the hotel (even if we had to pay).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to event I attended at the Cooperage!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Walking distance to beautiful town. Nice staff, clean room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the middle of Honesdale.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Original decor.
Cons: Some renovation without destroying the historical structure.
Location: In middle oh Honesdale, PA. Beautiful scenic area.
Older hotel with ambiance, great friendly staff in the middle of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic inn with charm

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Neat old building, historic charm, steam heat, cute bar. Beds were too soft and room too hot. Clean. Quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old and run down

Posted Nov 25, 2016
First, this hotel is above a bar. We got the 2 bedroom full kitchen. I called ahead of time and asked if kitchen would have everything I needed to cook. They told me it would. It did not! I had no pans or knives, sponge. I asked manager for oven pans and kitchen staff never brought me anything. The pull out sofa was broken. There were no extra blankets. I asked them to fix it for my second night. They brought me 2 cot roll away beds. That doesn't fix the fact that we had to sit on a broken couch during our stay. I asked various people to help and no one fixed problems. It cost $139 a night. I would never stay there again! So disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location!!!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was nice with clean rooms and great location. One must realize that the hotel is 189 years old so it has some aging issues. It is clean with free parking, a bar and 2 restaurants on the first level. No elevators, stall showers and the sink is in the bedroom. I enjoyed my stay and felt safe and comfortable there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basically fine but needs refurbishing.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Wayne was fine for a night or weekend. It really needs updating and redecorating. I'd call it more dingy than quaint. But the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable, which are the most important things. The shower was downright hazardous as the water temp changed suddenly from warm to freezing to scalding and back to freezing. Don't stand under the shower - point it away from you. Antiquated plumbing, I suppose. Honesdale is a nice little town for a few hours of exploring.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel with a lot of character

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The building/hotel was built in 1827. It's full of character & has a great bar/restaurant. Located on the corner of the quaint town's Main Street, it's a perfect place to stay.