Ratings based on 3,388 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cork

Lovely staff and great Location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This is the sixth time I have stayed at the Dorsett Formerly The Cosmopolitan. It's recently been refurbished the rooms are comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful. For me the location is great. A few minutes walk from the centre of Wan Chai (if you go in the right direction). There is a tram stop opposite the front door, numerous buses passing by going to all areas including the Zoo, Stanley, Ocean Park and the beaches. Its about 10 minutes walk from Times Square which always seems to have some type of event going on where you can get the metro. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus to Causeway Bay where you can get the metro as well as other stops on the way to the Hong Kong Convention Centre. The only fault I have ever found is the breakfast, it's a buffet with a limited mix of Chinese (congee and dim sum 2 types only) and European hot breakfast foods. It's very overpriced for what is on offer. There are numerous nearby places where you can get whatever your breakfast preference is. On my next trip to Hong Kong, I'll be staying at the Dorsett again. Tip: Get an Octopus card at the airport, use it to pay for all travel and any small purchases saves you ending up with loads of change.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Standard room is very small and inconvenient

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We booked 4 nights at Dorsei Wanchai on a standard room with breakfast. The hotel is small but cozy when you check in. We were offered a bigger room upgrade for an extra amount. We declined it. We got a room on the 17th floor. The room was not like any other room. It was on the back of the elevator. Very small room. No window. Since you are on the back of the elevator you will hear the elevator working day and night. And if someone has a conversation on the elevator, you can hear it too. On our last day, the entrance of our room smelled like trash because next to the room is a hotel storage, and they had food trays from other rooms who ordered room service. Room service has approximately 5 things on the menu and very overpriced. The food is not good. They offered a hamburger with french fries, I just wanted french fries as a side for my soup and they said they could not because the are part of the burger only. The breakfast is decent. The location is only good for someone who goes for business. Great for the convention center. But if you are going as a tourist is better to stay at the Center in the Island or at Kowloon close to the Victoria Harbor. On a positive note: The hotel offer free shuttles to different parts of the island, so it make your life easier. Also the lady who works at the tourism counter is very helpful. She is very good at what she does.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel beside racecourse

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Stayed 3 nights here earlier this month. Good value, nice clean room. A bit of a walk to the MTR but otherwise decent location. Breakfast wasn't included in our room price, we tried it once and didn't go back as very little choice and overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago usa

Good location, limo service Close to train

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Rooms too small Limo service good Friendly staff Good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good experience

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Conveniently situated. Helpful staff.
Location: Reasonably well situated for my requirements..
I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it has always been a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

V central location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great base for getting around HK island . Friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view and helpful staff.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I am thankful that we got the 23rd floor with a nice view. Bed was comfy just that the room is really cramped. You can't open 2 big luggages at the same time. If you did, there will be so little walking space. Only I can fit the space between the bed and closet; my parents can't as its too squeezy for them. I would like to suggest that the rooms to have a better space planning - make it spacious rather than crampy. I am satisfied with the service rendered because all the staff are helpful and knowledgeable. They will give you the right directions to get to places and even advise on the suitable mode of transportation you should take to go certain places. I didn't get to enjoy the complimentary shuttle buses because I don't know whether the drop-off/pick up will be near to the places I want to go or not. Whatever it is, I prefer to be independent and explore HK myself.Hee.. I hope that the hotel could include Halal menu so we could have food as and when we want as the Halal shops are not that near except for the popular Islamic Centre; which is just a walking distance from the hotel. Overall, the hotel is strategically located; nearest mall is Times Square & nearest MTR is Causeway Bay. I like my stay at the hotel and would recommend it to others who wish to visit HK next time. Cheers!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT A PROPER STANDARD ROOM

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I reserved 3 rooms and when we arrived we found our that our 3 rooms located at the back of the elevator. There are no proper windows in the rooms. The interior of the room and cleanliness are fine. But at least we think that they are not the proper room. The hotel kept us this leftover rooms because our cheap deal from Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for the comment. We are sorry that the rooms that you stayed in was not as pleasant as you expected. Next time you may check out our other room types that offer the grand racecourse view or the Causeway Bay city view. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel, close to many shopping and eating area

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The location is very near causeway bay etc. therefore, u can walk back if needed.
Cons: The hotel staff in charge of the shuttle bus was a little harsh when asking people to board the bus.
Location: It is right beside the cemetery but it is not intimidating or scary because it is still in the city.
The days spent living in this hotel were great, the location was great and it was near to extremely good food places like 1 star Michelin Roast goose, egg tarts and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Stayed here before and made sure I did again.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Nice comfortable stay. Of special note were the concierge who was very helpful and helped plan my day with her knowledge of the city and its transportation. Housekeeping who notified me of an item left behind. And check-in who let me check in early after a 16 hour flight.