Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Awesome Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, easy access to MTR station, shopping mall and harbour front.
Cons: Provide charging station for new iPhones and Android phones as well
Location: Harbour City shopping mall & TST shopping areas.
Beautifully renovated, rooms are bright & cool, with modern & contemporary lightings design and curtains, love it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Dennis, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

It will always be our family's favorite hotel.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms are good size, and always clean.
Gateway has good accommodations, rooms are spacious, clean and the staff is always helpful. I like that Gateway has several exits that lead you to either Canton Road, or to the Mall. It also helps that the Airport Express Bus stops there for pick up to Kowloon Station. It's also close to the MTR station, about 10 minute walk. The bus stop is just outside the hotel. Restaurants are all around the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Carrie, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Excellent hotel even remembered my birthday with a birthday cake!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Darren, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Great location near shopping and the famous Star Ferry which takes you over to Hong Kong island and more souvenir type markets. Kowloon itself has more upscale shops such as Gucci, Cartier and every other big name in jewelry. Great free Wi Fi and very clean rooms. The evening Buffet is simply outstanding with hundreds of dishes. A great opportunity to try Asian dishes and regular western fare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear our valued guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Conveniently located near all the upmarket shopping and branded boutiques. 10 mins walk to ferry terminal. I've booked 2 rooms and requested for interconnecting rooms as there were 3 children to be looked after by the parents and grandparents but the requested rooms were not given. There's a stench in the toilets due to the shower curtain. Gives off a bad smell. One of the room also smell of smoking cigarettes but it was a non-smoking room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear JZ, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comment about the improvement of the hotel facilities has been well received and our team will look into addressing this accordingly. We thank you for your comments and suggestions as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts. We are delighted to learn that in spite of the above, you did have an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Gateway Hotel. Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient for everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear our valued guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Good location. Friendly staff
Cons: On-going construction, noisy in the afternoons.
Marco Polo is our comfort zone. we're so used to staying in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Tito, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gateway is very accessible and helpful personnel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Size of beds are great and comfortable cushion. Smells good it's a non smoking hotel and the mini bar is free
Cons: better if floor is not carpet better if you make it wooden
Location: Eat yummy goose and egg tart shop till 10 pm!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Gateway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear value guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bracknell, UK

Great hotel with convenient travel links

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel as expected of 4 stars. MTR, bus and ferry all in close proximity. loads of shopping malls around and you can buy anything within 10mins
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Value Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Gateway Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Thomas Salg General Manager Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels