Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place needs a remodel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Very disappointed with this hotel. The hotel needs a refresh and the rooms lacked any type of charm or refinement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Luxury Hong Kong Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great location, service, and staff. High end bath products along with a well appointed mini bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Outstanding overall

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Simply fantastic! Staff attentiveness, facilities, location and the personalised touches make this a wonderful place for a HK business or leisure traveler. Horizon club facilities are definitely worthwhile if you can stretch to afford. Pool/health centre are excellent. Location above Admiralty MTR makes connectivity very easy. Overall incredible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Top Shelf on Hong Kong Island

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Measured up to Shangri-la standards. Exellent room. Fantastic view. Very attentive staff.
Cons: The location is about a block up the hill. As a result, there are not any restuarants or stores outside the front door. One has to navigate down to the Queensway mall.
Location: Although the location is central, everything is at least a block or two walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Best regards, Franz Donhauser, General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Great location and nice room. Key entry is a bit of fiddle and coffee machine with no coffee cups. Otherwise can't fault it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Hospitality, Food, Cleanliness and desire to accommodate the requests of guest.
Cons: Check in process is too chaotic.
Location: Very nice location but expensive.
Great hotel and amenities as well as authentic restaurants especially the coffee shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Meeting expectations

Posted May 20, 2016
Very good location in the heart of Hong Kong, especially for business. Only negative - swimming pool looks dated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Central to important activities

Posted May 9, 2016
Staff was particularly solicitous and all facilities are first rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Loved, loved, loved my stay at the Shangri-La!

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: The hotel personnel are professional and genuinely friendly and helpful.
Cons: Staying at Shangri-La Island Hong Kong was perfect and memorable.
Location: Connected to Pacific Place Shopping Mall was a bonus. Star Ferry to go s to Kowloon is within walking distance and there is a MTR station in close by
I love Hong Kong and have stayed at a few hotels. This time I stayed at Shangri-La Island HK and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by a number of Shangri-La personnel, each seemed genuinely friendly and attentive. During our stay, whenever we had questions and/or required help, they were very eager and happy to assist. Our room had the most amazing view of the harbor and the location is in close proximity to all means of transit, mall and a grocery store. And lastly, we were very impressed with the housekeeper's good work and attention. Over the years I have stayed at numerous hotels and at this hotel the cleaning of the room exceptional. A spotless room, and I mean spotless was always left for us to come back to. They even noticed that from the fruit bowl, we liked the small green pears than most of the other fruit, so they left us extra. Its details like this that make me love this hotel so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for centeral

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Although it maybe a little older hotel it has aged gracefully class cleanliness outstanding service from doormen to cleaning staff. the rooms size bathroom size harkens back to when a hotel room was made with comfort in mind not the dollars and pennies per square foot. Awesome property.