Ratings based on 2,099 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Perfect location for a stop over. Clean and comfortable room. Easy access to shops and transport. Would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I had a great stay, I had a quick turnaround with my connection, however this hotel was an excellent way to spend 12hrs in Hong King.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very close and shuttle to the airport

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Walking distance to subway train, agoda to big Buddha, and shopping, restaurants. The room is pretty good size and comfort. But take half hour travel by subway to the other locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Airport

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Modern clean hotel with a nice pool. Shuttle service to the airport doesn't start until 6 which is a problem if you have a 7 am flight. But that is my only complaint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

So convenient

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful
The hotel is no more than 5 minutes by shuttle from the airport and is a perfect choice for transit passengers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Short but restful stay

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This was a welcome place to break up a long trip. All was well with my one night stay, although free Wi-Fi in the room would have been nice. Very nice hotel otherwise. One useful piece of advice I can give is that the hotel shuttle bus picks up guests at doors 28-29 vice the designated Hotel Shuttle door at the airport. They run every 15 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4☆

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very convenient to airport, shopping mall and mtr.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good but could do better

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Clean and relaxing
Cons: Staff need to be consistent in what they tell guests
Location: We took a cable car to the big Buddha - walking distance from the hotel. One stop away from Hong Kong Disney land. Very easy to get into town
We had a pleasant stay at Citygate Novotel, visiting my brother who lives close by. It was a good location close to airport and metro system into town. The bar staff were polite and the room was lovely and clean- although the bathroom was an odd style- looked great but the practicality was water from the shower went all over the hotel room floor. However we had two major problems with the hotel. Firstly we asked to book a taxi the evening before our departure to the airport in the morning, we were told they couldn't do that but to go to the reception in the morning And it would take 'one minute' for a taxi to come. It took twenty. slightly stressful when you know you've a plane to catch, with a toddler and a baby so time is very much of the essence. Secondly my daughter burnt her finger on an exposed lightbulb at toddler height . No doubt the lighting was meant to look stylish along the corridor but again the practicality let it down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable, decent hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Everything about the hotel was fine except: The reception desk weren't very pleasant (could be also because we we coming in from Bali where literally everyone was smiling all the time) Room service/ food was pretty expensive and average (Add some vegan options)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Charged for something I didn't consume..Read on..

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Long story short, I was charged for a mini bar that I DID NOT consume and the hotel could not be even tell me what I alleged consumed. 26 May 2017: Upon checkout, we handed our keycard and indicated (rightfully) we had no mini-bar consumption. The bill was apparently cleared by the counter and we headed off to the next item in our itinerary in HK. 28 May 2017: Found a credit card charge dated 26/05 from Novotel and spent the rest of our holiday wondering what that was about. 29 May 2017: a) We decided to contact the hotel to send an inquiry about this charge. b) Hotel replied that the charge was a mini-bar consumption with a simple line in the invoice stating "Mini Bar-Interface uses". c) Replied Hotel we did not consume anything and requested for a detailed listing of what was consumed. Since then, it has been SILENCE from Novotel Citygate Hong Kong. 01 Jun 2017: Sent a feedback to Accor Hotels but no replies from them neither. It seems apparently that neither Novotel Citygate Hong Kong nor Accor Hotels are keen to take ownership to address a legitimate query from us. To prevent the inconvenience of contesting the charges and having something on your mind when you are supposed to be on holiday, I'd say: Avoid this hotel at all cost. And Thanks for ruining our vacation because someone in YOUR hotel didn't do due diligence (before our check-in/after our check-out).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Daniel McKeown, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to read your comments regarding your stay. I have emailed you directly regarding the incorrect charge; please accept my apologies that one of my team has made a simple error. The team has been retrained today to ensure that we minimize any inconvenience to our guest. I am also sorry that we have not responded to your request correctly and in a timely fashion. Thank you for your constructive feedback. Sincerely, Daniel McKeown Resident Manager