Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel in A Not So Good Neighborhood

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Free mini bar and laundromat however , you need more machines . There were only 3 small washing machines & 3 dryers- one of which was broken.
Cons: Larger laundry room with bigger and more machines.
Location: Great local food and markets nearby . Subway station about 10 minute walk.
The overall room was spacious enough to accommodate my family of 5. Beds were comfortable and refridgerator, microwave, basic utensils , and kitchenette sink were a definite plus. There was a great view of the area from my bedroom and living room windows. Bathroom blow dryer was terrible . It would turn off in less than 2 minutes and it was inconveniently located inside the medicine cabinet. Turning on water heater for showers was also inconvenient . Hotel is located near a lot of great places where the locals eat but the surrounding neighborhood is sketchy with a lot of garbage in the streets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Ricky Cheng Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time for the review about your recent stay with us. We love feedback. Feedback really help us for improvement. Thank you for raised out the issue, our maintenance team fixed the blow dryer at once. In regards to the dryer at the Laundry room, the dryer was out of service after high demanding usage. We called the service provided to check, but no parts on hand. please rest assured that the order of parts were being processing. The self laundry service will be resumed soon. We are sorry for the experience you encounted were not our very best, but we hope to have a chance host you well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice and cozy hotel in convenient location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Mini bar is free for guests and toilet is separated.
Cons: When I tried to connect 2 devices, the 2nd connection was rejected.
Location: Golden Computer Arcade
The room was not very large, but I think this is standard in HK. Hotel is located near Sham Shui Po where is the mecca of IT products.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hiro, Thank you for your comment and review. regarding for the wifi connection, it should be unlimited at the hotel. But for the wift hot sport, its just one device only. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope that we have a chance to host you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great value for money.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
twin studio room is as spacious enough as 4 star hotel in HKG. Bed was too soft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and review. Sorry for the bedding preference was not fit to your tasty. Due to the bedding preference are quite personal, we can tailor made the soft or hard mattress according to your preference. We look forward to host you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall ok.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Not for the weak hearts. It's located in a poorer district.
Nice and clean room. Good gesture to provide free minibar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Alice Lui, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. The location may not fit you all traveler, that's why we got 5 sister hotels in different location of Hong Kong. But you can see the "REAL" Hong Kong. We hope we have a chance to host you again. Regards, Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The family room was a little smaller than expected from pictures, but otherwise, it was very cosy & comfortable for a family of 5 to stay in. The staff were very accommodating & friendly & I would definitely consider returning again to Ovolo West Kowloon HK :)
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Manager Ovolo West Kowloon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and staying. Love to see our staff was impressed during your trip. For the photos showed on website, all of them were taken in our rooms. May be our all white colour wall caused you the illusion. We mentioned our room size for each room types. My team and I can't wait to host you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ovolo at Sham Shui Po

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Is at least 10mins walk from any MTR station. We end up taking more public buses instead.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wu, Thank you for your staying. Hong Kong got a very good public transport networking. No matter anywhere, you can easy to go within one hour. We hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

excellent

Posted Jul 18, 2016
really good location and the rooms were spacious (even for intl standard as normally the hotel rooms in HK are tiny)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Ricky , Hotel Management
Dear Anton, Thank you for your excellent review. Great to know that our room and location were met to your expectation. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Ricky Hotel Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Hotel Room and Facilities

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent. They worked over and beyond our expectations to service our needs and make us comfortable.
Cons: The hotel management must represent the truth in room accommodations, services, and other activities that may impact negatively for guests.
Location: The location was convenient to MTR stations, but lacked adequate local restaurants.
The room and facilities provided was not similar to the represented room and facilities in the reservation process online. My wife and I were surprised that none of the pictures matched and the room was small and inconvenient. And, when we checked-in, we were informed that the hotel was under bathroom reservations and to expect loud noises from renovation work. This too was also a misrepresentation of the hotel when booking online. We left this hotel feeling that Ovolo had totally misrepresented and failed to inform guests of room conditions and ongoing renovations. In our minds, Ovolo did not offer honest and reliable services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Ricky Cheng Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eddie, Thank you for staying and your valuable review. We are sorry for let you down. According to the Expedia website, all of the pictures were taken at our hotel. I am afraid that our different room type the layout caused your confusion. Due to we are upgrading our facility, some of the bathrooms are conducting renovation. It may caused the noise disturbance during the day time. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused. Once again, sorry to let you down. We hope that still have chance to host you and let you feel our hotel once again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT 4 Star Material!

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The Staff was very helpful with moving our booking to Ovolo Southside
Cons: Remove the 4 Star rating. I would NEVER have choosen this hotel if the ratings were honest.
Location: Demonstrations were happening in our area at the time. This also played into our decision to move.
I've been to Hong Kong 3 times in 5 years. Every time we travel we stay at Ovolo Southside. This time a friend and I decided to stay at Ovolo West Kowloon due to being close to the Cruise Terminal. We were expecting good accommodations but we were wrong. We checked-in around 7pm. The check-in process took about 15 mins and we waited in the lounge which was somewhat comfortable. Upon entering our room 10A, Duo Suite, we found that the room still appeared to be under renovation. The wall were dingy, the linnen was "white-ish", the bathroom sink handle was broken, the rooms one of the rooms was dusty and dirty, one of the two A/C units did not work and we were missing eminities. Unforunately this was the standard in all the rooms because five other friends staying in three other rooms had very similiar complaints. We decided to leave Ovolo West Kowloon and go to the Ovolo Southside where we had stayed before during our visit to Hong Kong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Ricky Cheng, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. Your constructive feedback was reflected to related department for the further improvement. We hope that would not cause you any bad image of Ovolo Hotels. Regards, Ricky Cheng
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
The room layout was great. None of the equipment worked properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by Ricky Cheng, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your staying, we hope to see you again. Regards, Ricky Cheng