Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
the staffs are nice but the room has a weird sewage smell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

nice hotel closed to Tsuen Wan MTR

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Clean
Location: Sea View
Convinience as have 2 way transportation to Tsuen Wan MTR from Royal View Hotel in 10-15mins intervals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Long Way to Anywhere

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Stayed here for seventeen days Nov 19- Dec 5 2016. Room was adequate but quite small clean and short on clothes hangers (5 for 2 of us) More provided on request. Quite a shock to be asked for a two thousand dollars deposit on checking in, but this was refunded in full on leaving. Did not bother with hotel breakfast as my companion is a non breakfast eater, and I thought it excessively expensive. Reception staff variable - initially one girl was rather abrupt but others much more friendly later. Great service from Concierge staff and the shuttle bus driver who got out and came round to assist me boarding and alighting (I have a mobility problem) Room was serviced and consumables topped up daily but shower drain was slow and eventually almost overflowed. This was sorted quickly when reported. Room was very quiet and beds very comfortable. Hotel provided handy phone which was great, enabling local phone calls and email access without payment Main gripe was the time taken to get into town - fifteen minutes on shuttle bus then MTR for 20 -25 minutes. Great Money Saving tip: If you are staying more than a couple of days and are over 65 get a Senior Octopus Card from the MTR station - this will give you a maximum fare of HK$2 for any trip on MTR, buses, and ferries plus Star Ferry is free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Excellent

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Excellent view and clean, definitely good choice at this price range
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel cleaninless needs to improve.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Dust behind desk, stains on chairs. Rug looked dirty. For the price I paid to stay for 1 night I was hoping for a cleaner room. I had booked a 1 king bedroom through expedia and the hotel ended up putting me in a room with two single beds. Disappointing. View from hotel was nice. Food not so great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The overall experience was good.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
The room was quiet and clean. It was spacious compared to the rooms in the hotels located in tourist area. However, there should be more shuttle buses between the hotel and Tsuen Wan MTR station since this is the link between the hotel and other transportations. Also, customers should not be charged $10 HK per trip. This is not fair because the hotel is forcing the customer to pay for the inconvience they have created. The customer has to pay for shuttle fare every day and for something they MuST use every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London uk

Nice hotel only if you want to be near the airport

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Hotel look classy and it's near the airport but far from everything else. I only recommend if you need to rest for a day. Staff are OK just OK.,food was expensive but hotel views are nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala city

Poor transportation to the airport

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: The environment is excellent, but to move around is something uncomfortable
Everything is ok, the beach near is nice, it is away from the noise of a big city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The only thing I like about this hotel is the room size!
Cons: It's time for them to remodel their rooms.
Location: The location is in the middle of nowhere!
I picked this hotel because it's managed by Sun Hung Kai which is a quality brand! BUT not this one. The bathroom is full of mold and the bathroom ceiling is getting rusty. Carpet has stain and rotten smell, it makes my stay very uncomfortable. Dust is all over. Overall, i will give a negative star for cleanliness.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You have other options.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
If you can afford a room at Royal View, you can have other choices which are similar prices but the service and room conditions could be way better. The room here is a bit old, there were watermark on the sofa, the furnitures are broken and there was hair on the shower room when i first entered to the room.