Ratings based on 1,161 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Great sanctuary after a running trail event.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, staff was ok, room was emaculate, near the race start
Cons: Price could be more affordable - we had no choice as two ladies running a trail race, we could not afford to go back to HK island after a tiring race.
Location: Trail running!!! Lantau is a trail running haven.
I was happy it was close by. The staff was able to communicate and that is a plus. The environment is like any resort - very quiet but nothing much else. Would have appreciated elevator even though it is only 3 floors but there is sufficient room to install an elevator especially to carry heavy luggage. Even though I have no real complains, if I had a choice I would not picked this hotel again due to the price. I don't think it is value for money. But I guess with the race event so close by, they banked in on the increase in demand and low supply of accomodations on Mui Wo. But I don't think this is good business - this is just cutthroat. Price was more than hotel prices in HK island. Price per night is HKD1240 - don't you think this is excessive???
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Modest beach hotel; poor choice for airport hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Mostly the setting and view; not much else.
Cons: Ambience, staff helpfulness, food quality & access should be improved (taxis have to drop you off more than a block away-in a nearby alleyway).
Location: Oceanside/outdoor activities. For us, it was an overnight layover hotel, so no opportunity to assess any of these items.
We booked this hotel for an overnight layover between flights, relying on your information that it was only ~5km from the hotel. Perhaps that's true as the crow flies, but it turns out to be an approx. 20 km/30 minute ride over some twisty and rugged terrain, negating much of the value compared to the "real" airport hotels. (I strongly suggest you correct that very misleading error.) Further on the negative side, the hotel and its facilities were quite basic, and the staff, while friendly, were not very helpful: for example they apologized for the non-existent or broken elevator, but made no attempt to offer any help lugging suitcases up the stairs. Food in the connected restaurant, especially breakfast, was below par, both in the "absolute" and certainly in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in over the last 3 weeks in Asia. So maybe not too bad for the price, but overall disappointing. On the positive side, the oceanside setting and view were very nice, and someone coming to enjoy the water and the outdoors might find the property more appealing than we did. (We had no time to evaluate the hotel's recreation facilities, so I can't comment on them.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Not recommend

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I will not recommend this hotel unless you don't have any choice. Early morning shift desk Clark (man) was so rude. There's no Service/help available after midnight. Better book another hotel 5 miles far cheaper and much better. Beds are not comfortable, over charge for breakfast. Better walk 5 minutes and eat at Mc Donald for better and cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macau

Nice Hotel on the Beach.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, and view.
Cons: NA
Location: Seafood, hiking, dining, beach activities.
I've been returning to the Silvermine Beach Hotel for the greater part of the last decade, and it keeps improving. First of all, the location is superb. The hotel sits right on the beach, has a nice indoor/outdoor restaurant, nice sea views, and is within walking distance of good hiking up the mountains towards Discovery Bay or the other way, into town for dining, shopping, or access to the ferry which goes to Central Hong Kong. The rooms are adequate, with comfortable bed, but Spartan mini bar or snacks in the room (meaning, nothing is in the fridge). The restaurants nearby include local seafood. The hotel also has a modest gym and spa, and I availed myself of the massage service in the spa, which helped relieve a stiff neck, but the price is rather high in the spa. Also, the hotel is not more than a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport, which is accessed via a winding mountain road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and Mui Wo Pier

Posted Feb 5, 2017
A very relaxing place with sea breeze and nice breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Fantastic location, hotel disappointing

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Decorate the rooms. Clean the air con. Send the non-cleaning staff on a customer service course. Replace breakfast food when finished.
Location: Location was idyllic, across the road from the beach. Lots of walking, and taking boat to other islands.
When we arrived we were shown to a very shabby room. We several other rooms with wallpaper peeling etc. before being shown a room that was OK. The windows wouldn't open and, despite being a non-smoking room, it stank of smoke. Told hotel staff who said they would deal with it but nothing changed. Eventually worked out if was coming from the air con; maybe the filters needed cleaning? So we bought our own in-room air freshener to mask the smell. The staff at breakfast were surly and items of breakfast ran out without being replenished, including coffee. Had to pay a $400 deposit on arrival, though have no idea what this was for. It's not as if there was a mini-bar in the room! Found it very difficult not having wifi in the room. It was only in reception and then not very good. By contrast, the staff who cleaned the room were thorough, efficient, polite and friendly. The shower was good and there was always hot water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't stay here

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Cons: make reservations refundable with advance notice
not a pleasant experience, terrible management, I will never make another reservation here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Awesome staff.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
We loved staying here and were looked after very well by their staff. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Just OK

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The location is very good, right in front of the beach.
Cons: The hotel.
Location: The location is very good, right in front of the beach. Ocean view is very nice. We enjoyed riding the bikes. Food was not impressive.
The location is very good, right in front of the beach. Part of the hotel is renovated, but poor workmanship. Cracks and peeling paint on walls. The rest of the hotel is very old. The staff is nice. Every thing cost extra, breakfast, room key. Seem petty.