Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Very good position

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Especially if you want to be near the Bund A little far from metro station Breakfast very good - staff very nice - Room large but needs some attention as it was showing it's wear & tear. Reception area needs an upgrade & more guest lounge seating to relax in while waiting. It is oldly worldly with lots of character. Would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the bed was bad, but the hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: the location
Cons: the bed needs to be changed
the bed was bad, but the hotel in a good location. close to the subway and the bund
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton canada

Very picturesque and historic location near bund

Posted Jun 4, 2017
No hassles, good food, very clean and quaint. Historic old hotel nicely modernized. A short walk to Bund where you can go on river cruises or bus tours
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton, canada

historic hotel, great location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: the history, the location
Location: bund is right nearby; easy to walk to metro (subway) in about 5 minutes or so.
loved the room; hotel has lots of history, unique features; great museum about the hotel and the evolution of the bund region right in the hotel; fun to stay here! staff will turn down your bed in afternoon, give you next day's weather report. lots of neat hallways to explore--the hotel has some hidden corners, unique features, not like the new types of hotels where every floor is exactly the same!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old classic hotel very good location and convenien

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Overall good stay floors a little creeky but adds to the character
4 out of 5
by G

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by MARIA LEONORA

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Though we requested the rooms to be side by side; while the room numbers are indeed in sequence but one was located in farthest corner, though not a big deal, must have been language barrier. Over-all,our stay was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding location

Posted May 11, 2017
Old world charm. 19th century architecture wonderful.
3 out of 5
by Melinda

Lovely but old hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
The lift well was undergoing refurbishment so we had to walk 2 floors of steps. The Wi fi in our room was abysmal which is not very handy when in a foreign country. The daily service was welcomed although the rooms are in bad need of refurbishment themselves. We were awoken one morning by children playing loudly in the adjoining room which sounded like they were in our very room. The acoustics are not good for sleeping in even tho there are black out curtains. The smell of cigarettes seemed to waft in to our room as well.
3 out of 5
by Athanasios

Historic building

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Interesting old building with character and History