Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by John

Worst hotel experience

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This was the worst experience I have had on a business trip ever. I booked 5 rooms for myself and my business colleagues. Upon check in my A/C in my room did not work. They sent someone to check it but did nothing other than shrug their shoulders. I had to complain multiple times and find someone to translate for me. There solution was to send up a small fan. After almost 1 hour of arguing in the lobby they finally gave me another room but for only one night. They moved me the next day into another room again with no working A/C. I proceeded to explain the same thing I had yesterday but now to a new staff of people from and yet again nothing. After another 30 minutes they said they would find a new room and move my items so it would be ready when I came back to the hotel. We stayed two nights in Shanghai and I was moved into for rooms. I would never recommend this hotel to my worst enemy as this was the most stressful and unpleasant stay I have ever had. Customer service is non-existing, getting a response is like pulling teeth and they could care less if I was taken care of as they never even asked if I was satisfied or said they were sorry for the inconvenience. There is no score low enough to give this hotel and staff. This hotel is old and run down and there pictures on Hotels.com are very misleading. DO NOT STAY HERE.......
2 out of 5
by Rodney

Not worth it in Shanghai

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Not worth the money, the place is starting to fall apart.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ahmad

Funky Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Funky Hotel. Stayed five nights in Feb 17, and overall had a reasonable stay. The room was a good size and housekeeping provided a good service. The hotel is in a gritty part of Shanghai, and about a 20-minute walk from the famous "Bund". The hotel in need of some maintenance, air-conditioning made less noisy, and the windows need cleaning. Breakfast was OK and the local noodle soups on offer and freshly cooked to order eggs are best, with some improvement needed on the freshness of some of the other items on offer such as cheeses and bread. The most annoying thing is the erratic internet service provided, as it requires constant re-logging in, and at times did not work. For a hotel of this standard, the internet is its weakest service area. Reception was good and the man who checked us in was very helpful, and so was the concierge, who was great with luggage etc. Thank you to them both.
3 out of 5
by Ahmad

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pravo Hotel Shanghai Stayed two nights in Jan 17 at the Pravo in a Deluxe room. Reception was quick and easy the the receptionist was very nice and friendly. The room was very good size with a nice King bed with good sheets and pillows, and a great marble bathroom. They also provided a reasonable breakfast though I would recommend the local food over European as it's better quality. Some of the hot food was just lukewarm. On the negative side the aircon tends to be a bit noisy at night, and windows would benefit from a clean. We had wifi as part of our room package, but the Internet was disappointing as it was erratic at best. This was most annoying as I need Internet access for business etc. The hotel is in overall good condition and is located in a somewhat mixed gritty and reasonable shopping area located about 15 minutes walk from the "Bund" with an easy walk or drive to most places. The concierge was very good and provided a great service. Overall I would give this experience 3-4 stars due to poor internet and aircon, but they can be a 4-5 on a good day.
5 out of 5
by MINGJIE

Perfect hotel.

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable. Very enjoyable. Very nice people of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms better than in some five star branded hotels

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great boutique hotel that I highly recommend, especially for business travelers who don't have a need to step out onto tourist destinations. The hotel is a short walk away from The Bund, but if traveling with a family it would likely seem to be less like a tourist's hotel than a practical one for business travel or lengthier visits. My room was better than than some five star, branded hotels. The bathroom facilities were more modern than some too. There's also a partially obstructed view of PuDong and it's tallest buildings. Short walk to a Starbuck's and a clean, professional massage spa. There's an ATM down the block. A manager who I met in the breakfast area was kind and interested in whether I liked their buffet. It was better than some, but not as good as others. The croissants, for example, must be made with oil, not butter. Chinese people might like them, but Westerners will hate them. Nice and professional staff at the front desk. They were helpful in giving writing out instructions to taxi drivers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Boutique hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
everything was great except for the internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible Staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Overall the hotel itself was nice. The staff was absolutely terrible! They were very unfriendly and could care less about the people staying in their hotel. My father and I were staying there while we were in China on business. The hotel staff saw us take cabs to and from the hotel everyday. On our last night a cab driver tried to rip us off when dropping us off at the hotel. Refusing to pay his absurd amount I tried to get out of the cab. The driver then tried to drive off with my father still in the cab and me hanging half way out with the door open. I yelled for the security out in front of the hotel. The cab driver stopped and when we got out of the cab he came running at me swearing and was acting like he wanted to fight me. The hotel manager and security came up and asked what the problem was and we told them what was going on. The hotel manager looked at us and kind shrugged his shoulders and told us to call the police, that it was basically our problem. I told him to call the police, I couldn't believe they were not willing to help their patrons. We finally got the cab driver to leave by paying him part of what he was asking for but not before the screamed F-OFF to my father and I multiple times. The hotel manager then told us that the red cabs are bad and not to take them anymore. If he knew that this whole time you would think he would tell the people in his hotel who are taking cabs daily not to take the red cabs! Don't waste your time at this hotel.