Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

DONT STAY HERE

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: IT WAS CLEAN
Cons: AS NOTED ABOVE
Location: NOTHING AVAILABLE TO DO OR SEE IN THE LOCALE. ALL SHOPS AND RESTAURANTS CATERED TO LOCALS ONLY...NO ENGLISH ANYWHERE. VERY ISOLATED HOTEL
TOO FAR FROM CITY CENTRE AIR CON NOT WORKING FOR ENTIRE 8 DAY STAY STAFF HAVE VERY LITTLE ENGLISH ROOM WAS VERY SMALL TOILET WAS BLOCKED EVERY DAY
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury and convenience

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
I was in Shanghai for several non consecutive nights on Business and stayed at the Sunrise on the Bund hotel. It was luxurious, clean, well staffed and the rooms were perfectly sized and included every possible amenity. Although it's about a 15 minute walk to the Bund area (very straight forward once you get your bearings) I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone traveling whether for business or vacation. I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great Hotel but not on the Bund...

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: SPA Facility
Cons: TV must me updated. Price of breakfast should be reconsidered.
Location: In the middle of nowhere but if you take a taxi it's only 30RMB away from all the attractions.
Great facility 10 min away from the Bund. SPA facility is just great but the room size is tiny with old fashion TVs and "no brand" music centers. Breakfast is good but very expensive for China (138 RMB = $28). Hotel main business is the Tourist Groups who got deeply discounted rated with breakfast included. There are no any restaurants bar around beside the ones belong to Hotel (Captain's Bar downstairs and 2 Oriental Restaurants on the Second Floor).
3 out of 5
by Ivy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by In from Philadelphia, PA

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for two days after our air B&B turned out to be this artist's loft which was really stunning but a 30 minute walk from a subway stop that was 40 minutes from the Bund. For the room price, the quality was fabulous. We were both very relieved, and agreed that we needed someplace more 'civilized'. We certainly got it - there was high tea every day in the cafe near the lobby!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent accommodations, great value, location?

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Accommodations and amenities are excellent in every way. Staff were gracious and tried to help, despite limited English speaking ability. Breakfast offered good variety and was well prepared, but rather expensive at 134 RMB, making it the single most expensive meal of any kind during our entire time in China. Biggest caveat is the location, about 1 mile from the Bund and other tourist sites. Walking and directions were not a problem for us, but location and lack of English-speaking assistance could be an issue for a somewhat less independent Traveler.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Stay in Shanghai

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Short Business stay in Shanghai. First time at this hotel but was impressed. Short walk to the North Bund area. Also, the wifi was great. I was able to access Google without my own VPN which worked out great. Will stay again if price is right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great place to stay, off the beaten path

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, great bathroom facility.
Location: Removed from the beaten path, so you'll mostly be heading out. However, don't miss the Jewish Refugee Museum just three or four blocks away.
I was very pleased with my stay at Sunrise on the Bund. It's a little off the beaten path, but it's close to many things to do in Puxi, either by taxi, or by Metro (Tilanquiao station, about two blocks away). My room was very compact, but very comfortable for a single traveler. Might be a little tight for a couple. My view included the Pearl Tower. The neighborhood is Hongkou, and has an interesting as the Jewish section of town in the years leading up to WWII, and after Pearl Harbor, the area became the Jewish ghetto. Definitely a great room for the price. Excellent workout facility. I didn't use the pool -- they require a swimming cap, which is a little odd for a guy with a shaved head. The breakfast buffet is quite good, though like most of these, it's a bit pricey, but still worth the convenience.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

CW from California

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for two nights. The breakfast consisted of a large selection of foods, all excellent. The concierge spoke English and was able to assist on several tours and sites. The room, although not overly large, was fine for a single traveler. It was clean and had all the amenities I wanted.