Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, Wa.,USA

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Nice stay for a quick one night lay over. Facility is a bit behind in replacing carpet, etc. but more than adequate to our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Hotel on the North Bund

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Just needs good housekeeping and the HVAC system cleaned smelled musty.
the hotel location was good but the hotel had a musty smell from the time you walk in. the room had a great view and with a little work the hotel could be great again. there was black mold in the grout on the bathroom and in the shower. good location walking distance to the bund.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster, Canada

Great location, poor upkeep

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Couldn't have booked a better location to see the Bund. So close as just a walking distance across a small bridge. Hotel staff were pleasant and spoke very fluent English. Rooms are not well maintained beyond the bed and toilet. When I shut the bathroom door there was a HUGE wad of hair that had built up showing how the rooms are not cleaned well. This was the case for other parts of the room. I went to plug in my phone behind a side table and you could see how dusty it had gotten in behind. I couldn't run bathwater - only have a shower in my room which they made a faint attempt to fix in the three days I was there. They did offer to move me but to a different floor, and not the king sized bed I had booked. I ended up going to my friends room to have a bath....original hair dryers on the walls and not convenient to use. Need to upgrade. Breakfast buffet was one of the worst I've ever had in my travels. The cooked food was not of good quality. If you can put all of this aside, this hotel has great value for the location.
5 out of 5
by Brian

PERFECT LOCATION IN SHANGHAI

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here in 2010 and chose it again not only because it has a fine view of the Bund but it is very close to the cruise ship terminal & we had arrived by ship from Hong Kong. We took an Executive Suite and it is much bigger but actually they are on the 4th & 5th floors, whilst the Scenic Standard rooms are on the 9 -11th floors & maybe have a better view of the Bund & illuminations ! Either way it is worth paying the small extra for the Bund view. My only comment would be that they are a bit difficult to get hold of directly. ( Essential to take small supply of toilet paper when ever you go out as restaurants do not supply it ! - even the good ones ! )
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Used to be much better

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Business Trip
The floor I stayed in is not renovated, every thing looks and feel old.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and comfortable room

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Seagull on the Bund. The location was perfect, the hotel beautiful and the staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Location is fantastic. Steps away from the Bund.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just say no

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: has a nice bar with a view over the Bund. Unfortunately, they won't serve Chinese food there and serve only the terrible stuff they call "Western food
Cons: cleanliness, service, facilities
This was probably once a nice building at the edge of the Bund. That's all it has to recommend it. Musty, smelly, nothing very clean, and staff out of 1978--I went to the half-empty restaurant at 7 pm, for instance, and asked if I could order and was told they were busy cleaning and I had to wait 15 minutes. 40-watt bulbs, slimy carpets, no gym--for $30 a night maybe but not for $150.
3 out of 5
by MUHAMMAD

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They would not accept my booking,

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing when you are ripped off the rest does not matter.
Cons: They need a quick lesson in contract law and some physical prompts
Location: Just went for a run to get away from the place the gym was disgusting
They would not accept my booking "they rejected it" then went to charge me the full rate. As Shanghai was booked out I was stuck. They were arrogant rude and to anyone reading this never stay there if fact tell anyone you know they are ripoff artist.