Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

close to Exhibition center

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Very helpful staffs Breakfast is great But very bad food in the Chinese Restaruant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very nice business hotel near the Domestic Airport

Posted Aug 22, 2017
First time staying at this spacious hotel at Hong Qiao area. Great with very spacious room and hotel surroundings.
2 out of 5
by Britton

Don't Stay Here

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
This place was miserable. The internet cut out every five or ten minutes. The refrigerator barely lowered drinks below room temperature. The "gym" had a few home-level pieces of equipment that were either broken or severely run down. The service was generally indifferent at best. While the cable guide says there are several english language stations, there really aren't. Not even news stations. Several of the venues like the second floor bar and restaurant were closed all three days I was there without explanation. The location is awful. It is facing an elevated highway (actually it is very nearly under the highway) and there is nothing nearby. While it looks to be close to the convention center, it is impossible to walk there because there is no way over the river without walking along the highway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Very nice, clean and no mold or smoke smell

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Heated rooms, good breakfast, great staff. Near to the HongQiao airport and a shuttle bus runs every hour.
Cons: The refrigerator wasn't cold. Just cool. I like my drinks cold. Not much to do in the area and the wifi signal was unusable.
Location: Not much in the area except a large convention center. The nearest metro station is about a 15 minute walk.
I was concerned as I had read reviews of other on the smell of mold in the room. I am not sure if I got a good room or if they had replaced the carpets, but the room didn't smell like mold or smoke, which is rare. I didn't have a sinus headache the whole time. Overall it is comfortable, breakfast is good and the staff is great. I was there during the cold season and the room was nice and warm. One major issue is that the Wi-Fi signal is unusable. The internet is good and decent speed, but the signal is in and out. If you plug into the wired connection behind the desk, it is fine. I used a small portable router that I carry with me while travelling that covers the room, so for me it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Big name hotel but not so great features

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Lower price and closer vicinity to the train station
Cons: Shower area; breakfast food selection.
Location: Very close to train station and the exhibition convention center.
Shower experience is a mess; water gets out everywhere during shower because the glass door didn't seal water completely plus the water drainage didn't work properly on the outside shower area. Room lighting feels dark. Overall, the hotel seems a bit run down even with the Howard Johnson name. Perhaps, it explained the lower price.
3 out of 5
by David from Scottsdale AZ

nice stay at the price

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
everybody got their had out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by nathan

Nice place for an overnight before a flight.

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was clean and luxurious. The cleanest hotel i have stayed at in China, where even 4 star hotels are worn-out and grimy. It is close to the airport. A 30RMB taxi ride. And I took the airport shuttle service back. But it is under an overpass in the middle of nowhere. So don't expect to eat anywhere other than the hotel. There is a KTV as part of the hotel. Out of curiosity, I asked how much. 600Rmb for a room with a girl. Yes, that kind of girl. I guess it's common in China.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bryce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels