Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YL

Posted Apr 5, 2017
acceptable compare to the price. very convenient place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great place to stay, Great location

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Great place to stay in a very good location, and close to the tube. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall highly recommended!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
entrance on 2nd floor, but no elevator from the first. Need to climb long stair. Check in on 5th floor. It's a building with many different hotel companies.
4 out of 5
by Pauline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by CHENG DA

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very noisy. Subway train starts to run at very early morning. Your heart beat go up immediately. Carpet is dirty. do not bear foot and walk around.
3 out of 5
by ChangQing from shanghai

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
it's ok for the price stay, and at centre of city. for catch transport is easy. only the room is bitter small. anyway no too bad choice
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Texas, USA

Good if the room is on east side; otherwise, no

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
30-story building equally from line 3/4 or 2 at ZhongShan Park stop. If alone with no/little luggage, either metro line is ok. If luggage, use line 2, exit 7; line 3/4 has long flights of steps. This building has SEVERAL companies using it to rent out rooms. You must enter east side, up long flight of steps or with escalator, when it works. When you go in, there is check-in desk, NOT YOURS. Go past, through the Get-Smart-era doors to elevators, to fifth floor. Even though I asked for east side, they put me on the west side. The west side is over line 3/4, above ground and noisy from 0530-2300. Room condition is good, but ONLY CLEANED ONCE A WEEK, AND ONLY THEN IF YOU STAY MULTIPLE WEEKS. These are really small apartments, with kitchen (utensils), bathroom (toothpaste, towels, toothbrush-no washcloth) and washing machine-no soap. Plenty of hot water; working mini-fridge. Internet was good, ususal China firewalls. Room key is scan card, also lets you in lobby doors late night while the guard sleeps. Only 100 meters to the line 2 exit 7 entrance! Go underground and you have McDonalds and lovely Cloud Nine shopping mall with Carrefour (cheap food/water) and many stores/restaurants. Paper-thin walls; your bed will be 12" from the bed in the next room. I would stay again IF on east side; otherwise, no. No good for families; one person is best; two would be ok. Not for romance. Electric outlets and A/C good. Stay here for location and mini-apartment feel, not for comfort or quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The noise from the subway track is horrible.

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
I am surprised that no one seems to mention the noise from the subway/track. It was horrible. I had a two-night stay in this hotel, and the first night they put me in a room that's facing the track. I request a room change for the second night and the service staff were courteous and helpful. The second room faced the street side but you can still hear the noise from the subway/track. Also, the hotel is actually a business that operates within the building and owns a certain number of apartments in the building you see on the photo of the ad. The location is indeed great, but I am not sure I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Shanghai Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: This hotel was very close to Metro line 2 which was excellent, showers, bed and fridge very good as well, used hot water kettle every morning
Cons: A complete no smoking floor would be nice, my room was a no smoking room, but just down the hall a fellow smoked in an office all day long
Location: Right by metro line 2 which was excellent, lots of restaurants nearby, and little shops down the side roads
My stay in Shanghai was excellent, I went everywhere on the metro, I would recommend it to anyone, the only downside I experienced was on Nanjing Road East, where the hawkers were a little to persistent, The Bund was great, I went into a lot of the buildings and their lobby's were something else, the Shanghai World Financial Center building at night from 100 stories up was awesome, Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Gardens and Bazzar, Zhongshan Park, Tianzifang, Xintiandi, Pudong Riverside walk at night, the Maglev train 300 kph, the acrobatic show are all must does.