Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel Right on the Edge of the Water

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The gardens, pool and facilities of the Aston at Papakea were very nice. We loved our view from our balcony and we ate most of our meals there. We took advantage of the facilities...attended yoga class, swam in the pool every day and played on the putting green. The hotel is tucked away off the street and feels private, other than most of the resorts where people can walk by and through. Our only complaint was that our specific unit was dated and a bit run down. We struggled with a water leak and wet floors our entire stay. We mentioned it to the staff several times and they finally fixed the issue on our second to last day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: A room with a view of the ocean (which we didn't ask for when we booked!) and the staff was accommodating. Beautiful facilities & easy parking.
Cons: FYI: The hotel itself doesn't have its own beach, but it's a quick walk to the beach next door.
Location: The location was great! Close to Kapalua and Honolua, close to the blowhole, & Slappy Cakes!
My boyfriend and I visited Maui this past June, and we were delighted with this hotel. The location was great-- right on the water, close to great restaurants, and gorgeous. The staff was extremely helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francsico

Relaxing atmosphere near the ocean

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Super relaxing atmosphere for families.
Cons: The condo cleaning service needs to be detailed better during the booking process. We did not know the details until we arrived.
Location: Great location near Times supermarket. Driving distance to two of the best snorkeling sites on Maui and the blow hole.
The condo complex is super relaxing. Families hanging out at the pool, miniature golfing, shuffle boarding, and having dinner on the balcony. Our condo was a bit outdated but it was clean. We used the washer/dryer to keep our laundry manageable, which is a super important for us when traveling. The only thing I would change it to book a condo with two real queen beds, not a sofa bed. The sofa bed is difficult to sleep on for an entire week. The front desk clerk wasn't really helpful. He seemed distracted and didn't explain the welcome orientation. He just passed the key fob and map to me and walked away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Lyn Molina-Reiss, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed a relaxing vacation and appreciated our ideal location. Your valuable feedback regarding room for cosmetic updates and improvement in our customer service is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our management so that we may address and improve in these important areas in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you for an even more enjoyable vacation sometime soon, and send you are aloha until then. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Concierge was excellent at the hotel. Very helpfu.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I did not like that they had a $250 cleaning fee that you have to pay that they did not tell you about at time of booking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hemet

nice hotel for older couples

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: the beds need upgraded,quite time should be later
The bed was blown out and we got told to keep it down at 10.WE go to Hawaii to have a good time so if you are the same wouldn't recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Lyn Molina-Reiss, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our ideal location. We do appreciate your feedback regarding your bed, and apologize for any discomfort you experienced. We will share your review with our management so that we may address and improve this detail for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from oregon

Great place.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Just about everything!
Cons: Towel trading program. Not even bad just not consistent.
Location: You can walk to beach, shops restaurants etc. A lot more a short drive away. The view of grounds, pool and the beach were incredible.
Full kitchen, washer and dryer in room, great view, grounds extremely well kept, BBQ grills by the pool. The place was great. Only negative minor thing I can think of is a little confusion by the staff. They were very nice but the towel trading program rules changed by the staff on hand. One time sure we will be right over. And they were. Next time no we don't do that. Next time only during certain hours. There is a card in the room but some staff seemed to disagree with it. Maybe they were just busy at times. Again GREAT PLACE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Lyn Reis, GM, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we genuinely value your feedback and apologize for any inconveniences you may have faced with the towel procedure. Your concerns will be shared with the team to improve on our ongoing effort to provide our guests with excellent product and services. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise and hope for your return in the future. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice hotel, great location, and great staff!

Posted May 31, 2017
This hotel has great views, friendly staff and great location! Extremely clean and beautiful grounds! The only way out could be better is to have a poolside bar & ocean access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Lyn Molina-Reiss, Hotel Management
Aloha April! Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our views, friendly staff, pool and grounds. We hope to welcome you again soon! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemet, CA

Beautiful hotel with great beach access.

Posted May 29, 2017
I was extremely overjoyed by the Beauty of the Papakea Resort! I had only 4 days to enjoy such beautiful island, and enjoy the tranquility and relaxation of your Resort. I was surprised to find an elderly couple who were also there enjoying your beautiful Resort, celebrating there anniversary. Yet that wasn't the surprise, the surprise was that they happened to be from the same state as I! We spent a little time chatting and they told they'd already been there for 10 days and were leaving the next day! They said after staying at your Resort I would have a hard time leaving. I am happy to say I did feel that way! Be assured that my vacation although short was made so much more stress free and enjoyable staying with you! I love the gorgeous and breathtaking island of Maui, and if I ever have the privilege of going back, I would most likely enjoy the comfort and beauty of your Resort! Cindy, the person who checked me in, made me feel welcome at once! Thank you for making my stay in Lahaina a fabulous experience!!! Sincerely, Maria Gomez
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Lyn Molina-Reiss, Hotel Management
Aloha Maria. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay! Your kind and valuable feedback put a smile on our faces, and we can't wait to welcome you back to our corner of paradise again soon. You are in our ohana (family) now! Your kind words will also be shared with Cindy. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wainfleet, on

Great place for a chill vacay!

Posted May 23, 2017
Our room was clean and comfortable. Stayed in a one bedroom on the ground floor and it was perfect! The pool was great! There were always beach chairs available and the staff was so friendly! Would def go back! Loved it and loved Maui!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Lyn Molina-Reiss, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are glad to learn you enjoyed a comfortable vacation stay and that you appreciated our pool, beach chairs, and friendly staff. It will be wonderful to welcome you again! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
THE hotel was overall comfy, clean, spacious great view. Definitely will stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Lyn Molina-Reiss, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay over all, and can't wait to welcome you again soon. Mahalo!