Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Hawaii vacation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Very nice. We had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, Virginia

Great little hotel with aloha spirit

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location and service.
Location: The quiet end of Waikiki. Beach and Kapiolani Park are nearby.
Great location at the foot of Diamond Head. Wonderful welcoming and helpful staff. Comfortable room. What more could one want?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fantastic out-of-the-way boutique hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location, service, cleanliness, comfort, amenities
Cons: elevator, free shuttle service
Location: Nice quiet end of the waikiki beach. However, only a handful of restaurants in immediate area (but they were all good).
First time I've ever stayed in a boutique hotel, and if this is any indication of the rest, it won't be the last. Hotel only has about 50 rooms to it, and as soon as we arrived we were greeted warmly. All the staff were terrific and we immediately felt recognized and appreciated, a feeling that would stay through the entire week we were there. The room was clean and comfortable, with a great view of diamondhead. While the hotel itself has no pool and no direct access to the water, it's only a 2 minute walk to the beach, which at this end, always had ample room (unlike the beachfront at central waikiki). They maintain a free shuttle to take you around town a bit - it's a little slow, and not the most comfortable ride, but at least the web-app lets you see where the shuttle is at any time so you can effectively use it to move around the waikiki area. When your biggest complaint about the hotel is the elevator (only one, and a little slow), you've got a pretty great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, next to beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Beautiful, peaceful, And friendly staff. Lovely atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and quiet hotel near beautiful beach

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great value for money, hotel is comfortable and clean, 10 min walk away from very busy Waikiki or 3 minute bike ride. Hotel provides bikes, beach chairs, towels, plenty of water and boogie board to enjoy beach with great swimming and some snorkeling. Only negative is the single elevator to go up to the rooms and the terrible breakfast options at the 2nd floor restaurant. Excellent meal options just steps away from the hotel - just ask staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

One of my best decisions...

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, everything seemed new, the iron, the fridge, bottled water in the rooms, the valet parking and the parking attendants, every employee
Location: We were within 1/2 mile of Waikiki, so that was an easy walk to restaurants galore. 3-4 beaches within walking distance
I did a lot of research on where to stay and I don't regret for 1 second staying at Lotus Honolulu. Every employee was kind, considerate, and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The room was perfect. Oh my goodness the bed was so comfy. The front desk managers were extremely considerate and seemed to have everything at the ready that we needed or requested. (Stamps, a DVD library, beach chairs, towels, water, a happy hour with wine and snacks every night.) We loved that it was quiet and smaller than the huge hotels down the street. If we are ever blessed to be able to return to Honolulu we will be staying at The Lotus again. Thank you for helping make our trip phenomenal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ward Almeida, Hotel Management
Aloha John and mahalo for taking the time to share this lovely review. I'm so glad that our friendly staff made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and quality amenities we offer to help make your stay more relaxing. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our leadership team. We hope that you do have a chance to return and would be honored to welcome you again for another phenomenal stay. Mahalo and a hui hou!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Very, very nice hotel with amazing friendly staff

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The hotel is a very nice one, so clean, the staff is very supportive and very, very friendly. We felt like home. Water was offered either for the beach, for trips, etc. Also beach chairs and towels are available. The good part is, you don't have the fooling if a huge hotel, absolutely fantastic hotel to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ward Almeida, Hotel Management
Aloha Marcus and mahalo for taking a moment to write a review of your experience. We are happy to hear that you felt welcome by our friendly staff and that you enjoyed our convenient amenities. We strive to make your visit memorable and relaxing and we appreciate your kind feedback. I will share your review with our leadership team and we hope to welcome you again for another wonderful stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel away from the crowds

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Cons: Only one lift so could be a bit slow, and once it got stuck.
Very comfortable stay. Upgraded and had lovely views of Diamond Head and reasonable sea view. Only problem was looking down onto adjacent car park, but nevertheless loved sitting out on the balcony. Good location for us as didn't want to be in the middle of town. Staff all extremely helpful. Coffee and wine in the foyer a bonus. Excellent beach only a short walk away - not the one nearest to the hotel (a bit small) but the next one along towards Waikiki. Only 2 minutes walk. Free shuttle service a bit unreliable but mainly used our car. Only had dinner at hotel once but it was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ward Almeida, Hotel Management
Aloha Judy and mahalo for sharing your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our ideal location just outside the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and that you got a chance to see our spectacular views of Diamond Head. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the elevator. Our intimate, boutique atmosphere allows us to provide exceptional service and quality amenities. We appreciate your feedback and will share your review with our leadership team. We hope to welcome you again for another fabulous stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Lovely hotel for a retreat

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Best features: The balconies in the rooms, location, staff, the ocean walk, the park across the street.
Location: San Souci Beach is great. It's near the zoo and the aquarium. There's a bus that takes you around Diamond Head to the trailhead.
This is the perfect place if you just want to hang out in Honolulu, sit on a balcony and look at Diamond Head. The hotel is low keyed and lovely and the rooms are immaculate. The location is a perfect balance of people, ocean and green space. The hotel provides a shuttle to Waikiki if you want that action and free entry to the art museum which is great. The staff were uniformly gracious and helpful. There is a bus a few doors down that can take you to the Diamond Head trail and then on to the Kahala Mall (Whole Foods for take away meals), or you can take it downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!!

Posted May 13, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel! Great location, great beach, lovely staff, cool atmosphere. I definitely recommend it!!