Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Awesome place to stay, nice view and convenient.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: We loved this place and will stay here again if we plan vacation to Oahu island again. I am really satisfied with their Staff, location, breakfast and overall look.
Cons: They don't have a lot of space for parking and I guess owners occupy most of the parking spots themselves.
Location: It's a really convenient place, close to airport and all nice places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from colorado springs

Nicest travel stay surprise I've ever had.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: It's across the street from the University of Hawaii's Manoa campus, yet quiet and tranquil. Parking is dicey BUT included which is so very rare.
My room and its environs was unique, historic and overwhelmingly charming.The Manoa Valley Inn is on the Nat'l Register of Historic Places with good reason and yet it's clean, fully-functional and a treasure for the eye of travelers seeking beauty, tranquility and an experience that triple the rate couldn't beat. Facilities like shower, bathroom are clean if Spartan. Part of the amazing Inn's grounds is the covered lunger/bed over looking a tranquil Asian pond. I"m no expert but is seemed a blend of Victorian and Hawaiian styles--please, please check out their photos online. Original Victorian wallpaper, dazzling chandeliers and night views of downtown Honolulu are wonderful. Breakfast was healthy and filled with local treats. The hostess/manager speaks Japanese and English and defines kindness and grace. I will post a few pictures but you must experience this for yourself...even locals should plan a anniversary of holiday stay. I'll always treasure this wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utica NY

nice, different, breakfast and parking free!!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Different and free breakfast and parking.
Cons: Expedia
Location: It was very good for us. We did not need to be near beach.
This is for expedia to read. It was advertised as a Queen bed but was a full only, I am a tall person. The bathroom is not shown and is misleading. This bathroom is for short people only. I do not fault the hotel but I fault EXPEDIA! I am not happy with you. I will work directly with them next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Quiet and Quaint Inn

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: This hotel was close to the city, yet felt like we were far away. The staff were very kind, and the scenery beautiful.
Location: Downtown Waikiki was about a ten minute Uber ride (because of traffic and what not). The inn itself is only about two miles from town.
This inn was a very different scenery than the rest of Waikiki. They have a garden and hot tub available, and the greenery surrounding the building made it feel like we were hundreds of miles from the city. We had a beautiful view from our bedroom and the decorations through out the building were amazing. With all the decorations we felt like we were staying in a museum, and it was so wonderful. We will definitely be looking into staying here again when we visit next.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opportunity to stay in a National Historic Landmar

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Spring fed pool. Unique charm. Quiet residential neighborhood.
Cons: Add an elevator. 3 flights up with luggage is a bummer. Top floor was hot. Add a tub. Signage was terrible, hard to find.
Location: Next to the University of Hawaii.
Rare opportunity to stay in a historic home in Oahu. Great breakfast options. If you crave an Asian breakfast you'll find a large rice cooker and curry. For the rest of us there were individual pancakes. Lot's of knickknacks, some original to the house. Fresh flowers and wicker. Gorgeous tropical garden, bursting with flowers and fruit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for one night.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
I checked in late and there was no one to greet me. Parking is very limited. The room was large and well decorated. The bathroom was not entirely clean and dimly lit. It only had a bathtub, but no room to stand up because of the close ceiling. I had to leave earlier than breakfast was available; they did not offer anything to go. They did let me stow my luggage until the late morning, which was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful victorian paradise in honolulu

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: friendly, quiet, close to university, safe....
Cons: the staff could speak a bit better English...
Location: near university and easy directions to expressway...zoo was close, diamondhead, the aquarium...
i stayed here the last two times in honolulu..it is conveniently located near the university, hidden in the midst of a tropical paradise, excellent breakfast, beautiful victorian decor...easy parking, quiet, a nice pool, views, and reasonably priced! g
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2016
We loved staying at the Manoa Valley Inn. The staff is wonderful. The breakfast was much more than a continental breakfast! Our room was very nice, clean, with a very comfortable bed. We'd definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Parking was free and the breakfast was great.
The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was excellent-- eggs made to order, potatoes, sausages, toast, English muffins, two types of jam, sauteed vegetables, pancakes, fruit (watermelon and pineapple), coffee, tea, and orange juice--not the typical continental breakfast. Parking was free, but the parking spaces were very tight. I enjoyed staying at the Manoa Valley Inn and would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alamo, California

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 20, 2015
This establishment is currently undergoing some outside renovation. When we arrived there was no place to park our car because the workers had taken all the spots. They were building a new patio with what looked like old wood. Entering the house we had to maneuver through various pieces of construction equipment and boxes of personal items (such as magazines) which were blocking the hallway. No one was there to greet us, and no sign was displayed telling us how to alert someone of our arrival. We finally saw a person in the back yard, who cleaned house there, but she didn't speak English. She went to fetch the hostess though a side door, but when she opened it several dogs ran out and started jumping up on us (they have 5 dogs). It took several minutes to receive our room keys. There are only two positive things I can say about the room. The curtains were very nice, and it was quiet after the workers left. There were two bottles in the shower. One was self-foaming hand soap that lost its lather right away. At least I think that's what it was. The bottle had been used by other guests, and the label was pealing off because it had been through so many showers. I have no idea what was in the other bottle. The contents was the consistency of water, and smelled like some type of cleaning solution. I emptied it down the drain and threw the bottle way so subsequent guests wouldn't have to use it. The toilet bowl would not refill after fishing unless the chain was giggled to reset t