Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay With View of Ocean

Posted Mar 19, 2016
We stayed there for a week and everything went well. Comfortable and clean in beautiful surroundings, It is a very nice stay- which could be excellent if these things were considered: 1. Breakfast is optional for $15 per person which is a bit steep for what it is. It would've been nice to have this included - that way we can be more inclined to meet some of the other folks staying at this small inn. 2. WiFi is very weak/barely works in the rooms. It is an inconvenience to go to the guest lounge to check e-mail, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kailua Kona

Close to Hilo this accommodation offers good views

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Hilo
Cons: Less selling of décor. Have a shop but don't make most of the place with sale tags.
Location: Palace Theatre has great Hawaiian bands, but still needs to get AC - contribute now to them!
The location is close to Hilo yet far enough away to feel as though you are in a special place. The grounds are nice. The views are good. Although close to the highway, the traffic noise is not significant. The buildings are filled with articles for sale - which is an interesting collection but also seems a bit odd to have so much on display with price tags - was this a shop or a nice place to stay. The breakfast is good. There is a common area with microwave, icemaker. The rooms are nice, not luxury. The closet had refrigerator and also ice chest for adventures and lantern. The AC in our room didn't seem to function at full capacity. Overall pleasant, much better than places in Hilo, but not over the top special. This is one of the places where you get email after your stay saying reviews on Trip Advisor etc are important to them, so then one feels pressured to give fantastic review. I wish establishments would not do this. A thank you for staying with us is so much more welcoming than the push for a good review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect and quite

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Sleeping with window open and hearing the sea. Sitting in nice chairs on grass overlooking the cliffs and sea and watching wales
Location: Noted zip-line in town around the corner and Ed's Bakery
My wife and I loved this location. SO PEACEFUL. We just enjoyed relaxing. From this Inn we traveled north and planted a Koa Tree
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Wonderful view and quiet comfortable room.

Posted Jan 6, 2016
I had high expectations and they were exceeded. Best view of the ocean we got our whole trip.
4 out of 5
by Anne

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Best part is the ocean view from our room. Decor in room is a little dated and I think they could include more access to refreshments - beer/wine etc. I thought the breakfast was included with our room but it wasn't. Didn't matter because we had to catch a flight early so we didn't opt for their $15 breakfast charge. This still seems like the best option in Hilo based on what I saw.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Quaint, cozy cottage in a rain forest

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Extreme privacy. The neighbors were hidden by the foliage. We also liked the all-around windows so we could see the weather as it changed.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Less than a mile from Volcano Village for dining. About 2 miles from Volcano National park.
We stayed for 3 nights in this one-bedroom cottage nestled in a rain forest at 4,000 feet elevation outside Volcano National Park. It was fully equipped with a kitchen, bath, outdoor hot tub, and a Franklin stove with real firewood for the cool evening. We ate out but also cooked breakfast and one dinner as a change from eating out. Large windows in all rooms with no shades or window treatments favored keeping an eye on the weather and enjoying the forest. Initially, we were startled that the shower in the bathroom had a floor to ceiling window on the outside wall but you could barely make out the roof line of the nearest neighbor because of the density of the foliage. The hosts left ample instructions for using the amenities, a map and critique of local dining and other tips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Chelsea, Hotel Management
Aloha, While this is a great review, I do believe you left it at the wrong accommodation. We are located in Honomu, which is about a 45 minute drive away from the Volcano National Park. Have a wonderful day. Mahalo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful Inn

Posted Oct 19, 2015
No detail left undone, very beautiful! Our room was very comfortable with an amazing view! Highly recommend the breakfast it was simply delicious!
5 out of 5
by Martin from Wokingham U.K.

A great find

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great setting overlooking the ocean about 15 minutes drive from Hilo and very close to Wakaka Falls. The staff were very welcoming and helpful with advice on planning our day trips and assisting with restaurant reservations. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. A really nice place to spend a couple of nights whilst visiting the West coast.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Gümmenen

In alte Zeiten zurückversetzt

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Wunderschöne alte Villa, 30 m über dem Meer, tropischer Garten mit vielen Geckos. Unser Zimmer (Nr. 4) hatte einen grossen Balkon, alles super. Unsere Söhne waren im ersten Stock (Nr. 6) ebenfalls schönes Zimmer. Air condition konnten sie nicht gebrauchen, da Schalter viel zu weit oben angebracht. In der Dusche war die Brause verkalkt und hatte Grünspan angesetzt. Essen können wir nicht bewerten, da unser Weiterflug am Morgen sehr früh war. Insgesamt positiv.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A must stay!!!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: This bed and breakfast gave the best home away from home feel.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Very rural but tropical location. Nothing close by. About a 10 minute drive to downtown.
If you plan to visit the Hilo side of the island, then I believe this would be your best choice! Great views and excellent service. I would recommend the second floor for best views.