Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valley Village, California

Think Bolted-down laminated furniture

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, good breakfast
Cons: Cozier furnishings, better staffing
Our initial impression was terrible due to the off-putting and inhospitable 'tude of the rude redhead that finally checked us in. Subsequent staff was much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean helpful staff and excellent restaurant

Posted May 10, 2017
Super friendly staff, small clean adequate rooms, right on shore and by the hop on hop off bus stop rooms were very comfortable thank goodness windows open. No bathroom door it's open to room
4 out of 5
by Gary from Staffordshire

An Experience!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great surroundings, accessibility to walks, local shops, restaurants, cycling (everyone cycles). The hotel was a prison originally. The rooms were originally cells of the prison. Each hotel room was actually one and a half cells (the half was converted into the bath room) some rooms had bunk beds, some had a double bed. We went for the experience of sleeping in a prison.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of anglesey

An Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Everything, the bistro and food was very good and the staff could not be better and the room and bathroom were very comfortable
Cons: Can`t think of anything.
Location: The harbour setting is ideal ,we didn`t spend much time in Hoorn because we went to visit family
The area and setting of the hotel was very good it took a few goes getting there due to roadworks etc. but apart from that no problems at all. We were unlucky not to have a "Cell" to sleep in you need to tick that when you book on the internet which I missed but the room we had on the 3rd floor made up for that because the views over the lake were amazing. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent,we will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, well done, john&sylvia wisse
4 out of 5
by Pamla from Byron, Michigan

Close to central station

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and comfortable for our family group. Close to centeral station and close to other activities. Our room was in the front of the building and the noise from the street made it difficult to sleep. if the window was closed it wasn't too bad, but by the middle of the night the room was stuffy and opening the window made it too noisy to sleep. we used ear plugs and it was fine. perhaps request a room in the back of the building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location but....

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Nice location,good breakfast,helpful staff,internet access and free parking but not everyone's cup of tea simply because this hotel was initially a prison so the rooms(prison cells) are quite modest in size and NO views at the ground floor and some views on the upper floors .Double beds are not quite double but there is an alternative for bunk beds as well. Over all if you are in to try something new that u haven't done before then thats the right place
5 out of 5
by Jo from Surrey

Beautiful!

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels
Fab hotels rooms not huge but very clean. Breakfast great staff very friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by Sam from London

A bit too realistic

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Breakfast was good and staff courteous; the common areas here are great and the location fantastic. but the actual room, down in the basement with no opening window, felt a bit too much like prison. Complete with the smell of drains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tilburg

interessante overnachtingsplaats

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Location: Hoorn is een schitterend stadje. Wandelen, terrasje pikken, dat hebben wij gedaan. Zeilen en varen kan natuurlijk ook. En fietsen in de omgeving.
Het was interessant om een kamer te hebben in een gevangenisgang, compleet met celdeuren, tralies en sobere verlichting (in de gang). Sanitair en voorzieningen goed. Kamer een beetje aan de krappe kant, maar ja wat wil je bij een cel. Goede bedden. Open verbinding slaapgedeelte en douche/toilet. Daardoor gebrek aan privé tijdens toiletbezoek, dat was een minpuntje. Ontbijt goed. Jammer dat de jam op was. Voor ons was het echter vooral vervelend dat het hotel geen fietspomp had. Wij waren op de fiets en hadden in de ochtend een lekke band. Mijn pompje begaf het waardoor we twee uur vertraging opliepen omdat we naar een fietsenmaker moesten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Leuk hotel, prima restaurant, prachtige ligging

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: Een haakje in de badkamer om de handdoek aan op te hangen zou wel prettig zijn.
Een leuk hotel de kamers zijn omgebouwde gevangeniscellen. Klein dus maar uitgebreid met een flinke badkamer. De hotelvoorzieningen zijn basic, maar dat is de prijs ook dus goede waar voor je geld. De ligging aan de haven is prachtig en je wandelt zo het centrum van Hoorn in.