Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Great vacation

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We were worried about booking in July based on weather and the rainy season but we had perfect weather. The breeze off the ocean always kept the heat down so it was never too hot. The hotel staff is what made this trip, they were all so friendly and attentive to your needs. We stayed at the Villa Margarita which had its own private pool and just steps away from the ocean. The view every morning was beautiful. All the adventure tour staff were very knowledgeable and fun. We would go back in a heartbeat except don't go through Houston airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Decent stay near good restaurant options

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We booked this last minute when a rental house fell thru so we got a good deal on the last room available. Resort is in a good location in the same area as the other Hopkins resorts. Almond Beach needs some updating and the pool bar was only open sporadically. The hammocks and lounge chairs were very dated and the pool areas in general needed sprucing up (the infinity pool water was the color green). The hot tub closest to our room had 100s of tiles missing leaving behind rough plaster underneath which was uncomfortable to lean against. The staff was very friendly overall except the bar tender at the main bar who seemed less than interested in making drinks at the very late hour of 8:45pm the evening we arrived. There are several restaurants within walking distance that offer a better variety of meal options at reasonable prices. Enjoyed our stay for the most part but there is definitely room for improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence

Amazing staff and steps from off site food

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Staff genuine, facilities a value at this price point, and a sleepy fishing village a 20 min walk away. Resorts food is very good but menu is limited. We opted for local restaurants steps from the resort for variety. Tour prices are similar wherever you purchase so we stuck with resort arraigned tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

What an upgrade

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very pretty and staff friendly
Cons: remote location
Location: Snorkeling, cave tubing Mayan ruins and a trip to Placencia are all recommended
Finding the resort was a little tricky. Unpaved roads without signs are common and this place is on one of them. Staff greeting very friendly. Welcomed with a cocktail and sign-in done while sitting in the lounge. They said there was a problem with our room and we were put in the "Owner's Suite" If you have a group, you should try to get this. It was fantastic. 5 bedrooms, and 4 baths, full contemporary American kitchen, laundry, large deck with grill right on the ocean. Nice breakfast buffet. Good limited menu. Several restaurants nearby. We did not go on their "Adventures" which seemed a little more expensive but were to good places. You might trade the ease and convenience for a little higher price. It is located in Hopkins which is fairly remote. It is pretty much an hour trip to any other area due to the roads. People are friendly and you feel safe outside the resort as well as within.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Stay but Could Have More Amenities

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Most of all I loved the staff at Almond Beach Resort, they were always so helpful and accommodating.
Cons: I think there could be more water sports and maybe a pamphlet warning about and telling guests how to prevent sand flea bites ahead of time.
Location: There isn't much to do near by. This isn't a place you go to if you want to party it's somewhere you go when you want to relax.
We went to Almond Beach Resort for our honeymoon this April. The staff are super amazing, friendly and very accommodating but the hotel amenities are lacking a little when it comes to water sports. The room was super clean and the cleaning staff made us new animals every day. We loved the shower and the bed is comfortable. The fact that our room opened right out to the beach made it that much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel itself needs some work done. They need better working equipments. The staff was amazing and made our stay absolutely fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

This was an awesome hotel with beachfront rooms.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We had the best vacation here. The room we had, Veranda 2, was right on the beach (21 steps from the ocean, in fact). The room was large and comfortable with all the amenities one would want. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. There was some construction on the side which led to our internet cable being cut; but they installed another cable. We had to use the resort wi-fi in the meantime. Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this resort to all our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel was sold out YET we never felt crowded. This place is small enough that you can really relax.
Cons: Live entertainment, a drink of the day special price and cleaning the pool earlier in the morning.
Location: Hopkins was really beautiful. We visited Placencia and felt it was to 'touristy' for us.
We found the BEST food in Hopkins. Chef Bob was great! Luba Laruga was AMAZING!!! And the best tamales EVER can be found at Berthas on the Hummingbird Hwy.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Wonderful beach location

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. Where else can you walk out of your hotel room and be directly on the beach at such a reasonable price? The staff was very friendly, especially Dennis who learns everyone's name and is super helpful with whatever you may need, even teaching you how to open a coconut with a machete. The hotel price includes free use of the PaddleBoards, kayaks, snorkel gear, $5 bike rental, and $30 hobie cat rental. They clear the seaweed from the beach when it blows in so you can swim freely. It was a small, uncrowded little hotel in a quiet little village.
5 out of 5
by noelani

Totally relaxing, modern beach stay.

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Amazingly gorgeous resort! The photos they use make it look a bit outdated but it is definitely not! The friendliest staff, proximity to the beach is the closest ive ever seen and the food was yummy!