Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Off the Beaten Path, Beautiful Place to Stay

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Service was excellent. The staff knows you by name and it very attentive and friendly. All villas face the water so the views are great.
Cons: Resort is fantastic. A few more lounge chairs with padding on the beach would be beneficial.
Location: Hopkins Village is down the dirt road. A few "local" restaurants but nothing much else. Bocawina Resort zip-line and hiking about 45 minutes away.
We had a fantastic time. This is a small resort with 9, 3-room villas and you get exceptional service. We rented a car and drove from Belize City, it was about 2.5 hrs but an interesting drive. The Hummingbird Hwy had a few bad spots with potholes and broken pavement. The hotel is down a dirt road a bit past Hopkins Village. We had a snorkeling tour set for Friday but the weather forecast was for rain and the staff arranged for our tour on Thursday instead, for just the two of us. The boat ride to Coco Plum Island was about 20 minutes and the island is amazing, post-card like views. Great snorkeling. We also did the zip-line tour at Bocawina Resort about 45 minutes away, it was a blast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It is a comfortable place to relax. It is a good location for many activities in Belize. The employees are wonderful.
Cons: Transportation to and from Belize City and Hopkins. The restaurant food quality.
Location: Tours thru the hotel. Water activities at the hotel to the north. Restaurants on the beach are in walking distance.
It was easy to get to a flight to Belize Airport. I would recommend a small SUV if you rent a car. It is difficult to get to Hopkins. The large speed bumps and pot holes on the Hummingbird Highway are a distraction from the natural beauty of the area and the local drivers pass in no passing zones. The hotel has numerous tours which are expensive but easy in that you just have to show up. You can relax or keep busy with sightseeing. Hopkins is a central area from which you can take adventures. Hamanasi Resort is just north of Belizean Dreams and has many water related excursions such as snorkeling and scuba diving. There are nice restaurants along the beach within walking distance. The get to the town of Hopkins requires a car. There is good local food in Hopkins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Beach Relaxation

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Great 'villas' on the beach in Hopkins. Can be 1, 2 or 3 bedroom units, with kitchen. Great tiki bar on the beach. Right next to a full service dive resort so diving is very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Canada, CA

Friendly staff. Wonderfully comfortable.

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Beautiful grounds. Great room and ambience. Very private and intimate setting. Good food and exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff. As high quality as an American luxury resort. Only partial negative is access from airport difficult and village is very small without any American-style shops/support services. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of several beachfront resorts south of Hopkins

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Location, beach, staff.
Cons: Hopkins could be less of a third world experience.
One of several beachfront resorts south of Hopkins along a thin stretch of golden beach. We looked at several of these, but booked this one because it had good rates and had great reviews. After being there for a week, we would have done several things the same, several different. Rent a car ( Saving the $25-$50pp transit costs when you book thru the resort will more than pay for the car), leave the airport for the Western Highway before 1pm, drive to the ruins beyond San Ignacio. When it closes drive back to Sleeping Giant. Stay there long enough to swim in the Blue Hole National Park and St Herman cave tubing (much better than the commercial ones ($50pp and there were only the 2 of us + guide) and do one or two of Ian Anderson's trips (which start about 9am, book the day before). Drive to Hopkins (don't expect much here except a few bars and limited grocery store), book morning dives (Paradise & Jonah's Wall were our best ones; and call ahead to do the Blue Hole dive, as they generally only go when they have 8 people signed up), then do the Bacawona zip line and/or waterfall rappelling in the afternoons (20 minute drive, easy to do a dive in the am and the zip line and hikes in the pm). Belizean Dreams was great. The entire staff was excellent. We walked from one end (Hamanais) to the other (Barracuda), checked out the menus and amenities... and, in fact all were great. We dove with Hamanais. We were glad that we were not on the meal plan because it allowed it to
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Nice place to visit once!

Posted Jun 5, 2015
When we arrived the reception staff was mediocre. I tip the manager who walked us to the room and asked him to continually check in with us and tell us what the town and tours they had to offer. The grounds the maintenance in the restaurant staff were wonderful including the lady that cleaned the room just fantastic! The chef is a four star chef named Luis he was the highlight of the trip. He save this whole vacation for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Spring Break

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Spacious, well appointed, clean and simply divine accomidations. All staff love their jobs and it shows! The tours and guides leave you wanting more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Relaxing getaway

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The staff was great, and the resort was quiet and safe.
Cons: I had hoped for more of the local culture, like Garifuna dishes and music. There was some, but I thought there could be more.
Location: The resort is located on a beautiful stretch of beach; there is great food in nearby Hopkins village; it is off the beaten path, but not remote.
We stayed for 5 nights and loved it. The room was clean, quiet and air-conditioned. The resort grounds are picturesque and well-maintained. The staff is remarkably friendly, as were the guides for the tour to Xunatunich. Daily we would ride the resort's complementary bikes into Hopkins village for lunch. The road gets dark in the evening, so we ate dinner either at Belizean Dreams or one of the neighboring resorts. There are plenty of other resorts within a short walk along the beach. I expected to be surrounded by retirees and honeymooners, but most of the guests during our stay were mid-career couples seeking a quiet getaway. All hailed from either the States or Canada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Proximity of room to the beach was amazing, the fact that the entire resort only has 9 villas (27 possible rooms) is so nice, very low key & relaxing
Cons: The bugs ate us alive at the beach (sand flies?) so definitely bring a good bug spray, one with DEET ours was kid friendly and natural,didn't work
Location: Hopkins is a small town but has plenty of local restaurants (Innie's, Tina's, Frog's Point) that are really great. Very laid back and relaxed.
We just cam back from an amazing family trip (three children ages 10, 8, 7) at Belizean Dreams and really enjoyed it! The rooms are right on the beach and very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant and pool were both very nice as well. Staff is very friendly and gave good recommendations for local restaurants and tours/things to see, also provided great service. We rented a car ourselves and did day trips to the Mayan ruins Xunantunich (about a mile from Guatemala), traditional Mayan village in Indian Creek, Sittee River, Dangriga, Placencia, all easy to get to by car from the hotel. Would DEFINITELY recommend to a friend as a great place to go to!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgewater, CT

The Best Service Possible

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The bar on the beach was the social focal point for the area. You meet a lot of interesting people there. We enjoyed the conversation.
Cons: I wanted to go deep sea fishing. They couldn't supply that service. Otherwise no improvements required.
Location: Very poor country, but very safe to wander around. The local population are all very friendly. The resort can fix you up with day trips..check adds!
All of the staff were outstanding. Could not do enough for you...and remembered your name on top of that! The food could not be improved upon..Chief Louwie provided a culinary treat at each meal....The down side was the expansion of my waist line.