Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Perfect for an off-the-grid getaway

Posted Jan 29, 2016
We just returned to snowy NY after a week at Hopkins Bay and we are already planning our trip back for next year! The rooms were absolutely stunning and our view was unbeatable. The staff all remembered our names and our room number which made our stay so worry free and easy. Hopkins itself is wonderful. The locals make you feel at home and are extremely accommodating. For instance, we took the free hotel bikes out for dinner and on our return trip, my boyfriends bike chain popped off 4 times and every time we stopped to fix it a local was at our rescue within minutes! This does not mean I am complaining about the bikes. They were such fun and great to have at our disposal! Plus that was one way to experience the culture. My bike worked swimmingly and we didn't have another issue. Everywhere we went we made friends. The Rhum Shack was awesome for food and for drinks. The staff was on point. The houses/rooms are beautiful. Weather was perfect. Loved every second!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Very nice property

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The privacy , cleanliness, staff friendly and all of their amenities
Cons: The road, extremely bumpy road, and better signage indicating how to get there.
Location: No much to do nearby , lucky I did rented a car and I was able to move around.
Nothing wrong with the property, however the road getting there (last two miles closer to it) needs mayor improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most beautiful beach anywhere.

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: The staff bent over backwards for us. There was a discrepancy in the final bill and they made the adjustment and all was good.
Cons: FIX THE ROAD TO GET THERE!
Location: snorkeling, Monkey River tour, eating, jungle hikes in Cockscomb.
Grounds were kept immaculate. Food was very good. Staff couldn't be better. Accommodations were much more than what we expected. Would recommend to all our friends without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Beautiful. Bay could get muddy. Black flies a pain. Pot holes a challenge. But would go back anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale,CA

Location!!

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: I liked everything about this resort. The property was very well maintained. The Rhum shack restaurant food was very good.Very clean and beautiful.
Most beautiful location, right on the beach.After the long and bumpy car ride from Belize airport this place was very comforting and beautiful.We did some activities outside but staying at the resort was much more relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Not exactly what I was expecting, but good

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Hopkins Bay Belize was a nice hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms. They were very accommodating and even made a birthday cake for my friend's birthday. I can't make a single complaint about the staff and the looks of the hotel. However, when I booked the hotel I did not realize the additional costs to get to the hotel....you had to fly there in a really tiny plane and pay for a van transfer. Hindsight on my part, but it was a relatively painless process since the hotel booked that for us. I only had a few complaints about the hotel. First their food wasn't very good and they didn't have the best prices. They didn't have a good selection of fruit to say this was a tropical setting. They weren't very many activities on the resort, most were very expensive and off-site. Bring your bug spray....they are everywhere, even in the daytime. The village surrounding the hotel was full of very nice people and animals! The area is underdeveloped, but there are still plenty to see. I traveled on bikes which worked perfectly for me. Visit driftwood, the herbalist, and the bakery. Bring cash. Not very many places taking visas and we didn't have any luck at the Atm. Oh and there is basically zero nightlife. So if you are a couple or a small group looking for a quiet place to stay then this is the place for you. Oh and if you go to the ruins and eat a Hodges Place....get the beef. It's perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly quiet location

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Pools, bars, gardens, staff
Location: Don't miss out on the live music night (Tuesdays) at Driftwood Pizza a short walk down from the hotel.
A wonderful, small resort set in beautifully maintained grounds. Laid out as individual 'houses' with separate ensuite rooms upstairs and self-contained flat downstairs, both with their own entrances, so whether you have the whole house or just one floor, it is very private and feels like home from home. Lovely sea views from each balcony, and the rooms were kept immaculate during our whole stay. The staff couldn't have been any more welcoming and helpful, during our entire 2 weeks there. You are about 1.5 miles from the village centre, but the free bicycles make it really easy to access the town and all the great restaurants and cafes. There are also golf carts for hire for the less energetic, but the roads are very quiet and safe, even at night, when there is only a very short stretch that is unlit. Food at the restaurant was very nice and comparable price-wise to most of the restaurants in the village and being a vegetarian they went out of their way to ensure they was always a tasty option available every night. Having explored most of Hopkins Bay this resort would definitely be the one I would return to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Everything was very pleasant, rooms were excellent with a great view. Only one complaint was the shower wouldn't shut off, so had to listen to water dripping all night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery and gardens , 2 pools, right on

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Very modern.
Cons: The roads into and around hopkins bay are in very poor condition.
Staff were very cordial and helpful. Food was great especially the breakfast which was included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast California

Laid Back Resort on the Beach

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: everything!
Cons: Signage from the main road would be helpful
Location: We didn't really get to see Hopkins itself, but for a very quiet relaxing time to just completely unwind the resort had everything you'd need.
Had a little difficulty finding the resort as there were no signs off the main road to follow - we knew it was north but there were a few dirt roads leading in that direction so a sign would have been helpful. But friendly locals were happy to direct us. Arriving at the resort it was completely out of character to buildings we had passed to get there - it was modern and relatively new (built in 2007 I believe) with very well-kept grounds. We were upgraded to a beach-front villa, and the unit itself was spotless, had a full kitchen - dining - living area and the main bedroom (king) was enormous with a good en-suite, and the second bedroom also had it's own en-suite and could lock-off to become more of a hotel-room style accommodation. The unit had decks out from the main living area and from each of the bedrooms, facing the ocean and down the steps we were literally 10 steps into the sea. The pool was lovely, with a kiddie section at the one end, there was a beach/pool bar set a little way back, and the main dining area was under a big palapa and housed the main bar too. We had their lobster special for dinner and it was great. Very good value for money all round, and the staff were great. We were only there for one night, but would go back for a relaxing vacation any time!