Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london Ontario

Great Hotel with the beat staff!

Posted Feb 18, 2018
We loved our stay at Hopkins .. the staff are so warm and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure our stay was the best it could be .. Allen, the concierge was amazing as was Teo .. Patricia was so sweet and gave us excellent service as well as Mariano and all of the restaurant staff .. our only complaint was that the beach was not great because of all of the rain it was stirred up and quite dirty ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alvin, TX

Fantastic!

Posted Jan 28, 2018
This resort is great. The staff are some of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. The room was very nice and comfortable. They offer complimentary paddle boarding, kayaks, and bicycles. The Rum Shack has tasty food, ask for Mariano, and Marvin makes the best drinks. I can’t wait to stay there again. If you are looking for a place with full spa services, this isn’t the place for you. Otherwise, i fully and highly recommend the Hopkins Bay Resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Staff is very nice and accommodating and people in the village are very friendly as well. However, the location of the property is at the end of the village and it is not very easy to walk in and out of the complex at night because there are no paved roadsand no street lamps so it is very dark. You either need a car or have to take a taxi.Hotel itself has one restaurant which stops serving food at 8pm. Also if you are a vegetarian you only have 1 option on the menu( garden salad made of iceberg lettuce and tomatoes)The small restaurants in town close very early and have limited options as well and nightlife is definitely lacking. This location is not an ideal or easily accesible place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great beach access

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Cons: A kids club was advertised but didn't appeared geared for children. Luckily it wasn't very crowded or I could see not feeling to welcome as a family.
The staff were helpful and the manager especially made efforts to make sure our needs were met. The bikes were a great feature. The rooms were very spacious and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Excellent resort with rooms right on or off the beach. Located in a spot from which you can easily bike to area restaurants. Very care free environment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new canaan ct

Hopkins bay hotel belize

Posted Dec 26, 2017
If you want quiet with nothing to do and no where to go this is the place for you! Small fishing village. No waves. Nice staff and nice room but really there is nothing to do. You must cab it everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Quiet

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Not a place for people who want a nightlife. For us it was amazing! Relaxing and very quiet, the only downside is restaurant too expensive for the quality of food. Besides that plenty of other choices close by. 2 1/2 hour to Xunantunich ruins and close to many other sites. We would go back again tomorrow if we could. We rented a 4 wheel drive vehicle which gave us the freedom to schedule our own tours. About a 3 hour drive from BZE. Do not go down coastal highway take Hummingbird highway Directions on resort website. Awesome place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very nice beach

Posted Dec 8, 2017
This was our first trip to Hopkins , although not our first trip to Belize . The resort itself is in a good location , just feet from the beach I can’t complain about that at all . The staff for the most part is very friendly - the front desk people were not as warm as others but they were fine ... The rooms are spacious with kitchens and separate living room areas , but don’t expect all the comforts of home . The tv in the first room we booked was a joke - it was the size of a computer monitor on the wall and no tv in the bedroom ( this was a queen room building 9). The next day we complained and they were able to move us to a bigger room with a better tv . Lack of consistency is always a problem in a poor country so you have to be open minded about that.... As far as the food served at the Rhum Shack it was always yummy . We ate breakfast and most dinners there . True there is a limited menu but they do have one daily special for dinner and everything tasted good . The bar and restaurant staff is very friendly too . As for stuff to do in Hopkins , we found it too quiet - but if you are the adventurous type who wants to do all the hiking and snorkeling type things it should be fine . The pools were nice , but not heated which was a deal breaker for us . The temperatures in the south of Belize were a bit colder then in the north so we didn’t use the pools at all , nor did I ever see any other guests in them .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Location: Good location, but isolated from any activity without a car or a group. Transportation is extremely expensive.
Francis the manager, Alan, Henry, Pedro and all the staff went out of their way to make the stay wonderful, and provided a private guide to do Bird Watching since I was on my own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AWESOME LITTLE RESORT,

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Location, beach and staff
Cons: Slight upgrades to the rooms and restaurant
Location: Beach and beach
This littlle place is really nice, with beautiful clean beach and a wonderful staff.