Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Resort was beautiful and peaceful, only thing it could of had was maybe another restaurant but besides that was a great place to be the staff was very nice and accommodating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville Tn

Nice resort on the beach.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The privacy
Cons: Nothing, it was perfect for what we were looking for.
Staff was great and very welcoming. Each unit is an individual house with a total of 19 units. The beach is very nice and clean with every thing that you would expect for a very private stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel HIll NC

Beautiful hotel in quaint village.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The hotel is beautiful with lovely wood-work and well appointed rooms- all very spacious. Bottled water is provided for guests.
Location: Boat trips to the cayes and reef provide great opportunities for snorkeling, diving or lounging. Inland nature preserves have hiking and waterfalls.
Hopkins Bay is a lovely hotel with very spacious rooms. The pool areas are lovely and the breeze off the ocean is fabulous. The ocean itself is shallow here with sandy beaches. You won't find crystal clear water but a brief boat ride out to the cayes will provide that and ample opportunities to snorkel or dive on the reef. Kitchens are well-equipped although you might not want to cook as there is a great restaurant The Rhum Shack onsite as well as many good choices in Hopkins. There are only 2 resorts at this end of Hopkins- the rest are further south in False Sittee but many of those have great restaurants as well. We used the free bike rental almost every day- Hopkins is small and all of it can be accessed by bike- often a better choice than by car as the roads are full of pot-holes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Beautiful directly On beach ..... Awesome!!!!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We stayed here for 5 days and wanted to stay 5 more!!! Hopkins Bay Resort is BEAUTIFUL! Starting with the landscape, continuing to our spacious 1 bedroom unit, on to the beach. It was better than I hoped. I saw reviews and pictures before booking and had my fingers crossed. The trees are growing and from our "beach view" room it was difficult to see the water. Didn't matter because the grounds are beautiful. Reality exceeded my expectations. Food at the Rhum Shack was yummy - especially the Cajun Fried Shrimp & the fresh fish that we caught on our fishing/snorkeling excursion. Tio & Patricia took great care of us. The hammocks & lounge chairs were comfy! Due to the timing of our trip- rainy season - the water was not crystal clear like I had hoped. But, it was tranquil & relaxing. Hopkins villagers were very friendly! We booked a snorkeling and fishing excursion on our own through Happy go Luckie toys and had a fantastic excursion with Luckie! He was right on the spot for fishing so we caught lots of fish! Snorkeling was awesome! Outside of the resort, we ate at Innies, Driftwood Pizza, Thongs & Chef Rob's. Least favorite was Chef Rob's. Others were all yummy!!! I'm looking forward to another stay and will definitely stay at Hopkins Bay Resort again We drove from Belize City and were able to find our way to Hopkins by following the green road signs. Try to remember landmarks as the drive back to Belize City was not as clearly marked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Perfect

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Location: The village the resort is in leaves a bit to be desired. But plenty of things to do nearby, offshore and onshore.
The resort is very nice, well kept and all around wonderful. The staff was extremely pleasant, everyone from the time we got there until the day we left just super people. Loved it, we will go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Vernon, WA.

Great Stay - Only One Issue

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Wifi, beach, staff
Cons: Hotel restaurant prices
We loved the location, the buildings and their layout. The only issue we found was the food pricing at the Rhum Shack on-site restaurant was over-priced. For example... Breakfast, three (3) - 4" pancakes and two small pieces of fruit... $10 US. Come on, these are pancakes, not quite the filling breakfast. The pools could use a shading feature for the pool so that burnt guests can be in the pool with a spot that had shade in the hottest part of the days. The staff was excellent. The wifi is good as well. We would return to without doubt. The biggest and almost only hang up was the food cost and portion size at the restaurant. We stayed at the beginning of off season (July, 2016).
5 out of 5
by Vionie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Fantastic resort, staff & food!

Posted May 24, 2016
Cons: Improve the signs/arrows to the resort. A little gravel/grading to the roadway into the resort area would be nice.. potholes aren't attractive
Location: Fishing, snorkeling, diving, exploring
Where to start.. Quite simply we had a fantastic vacation. The villas are superbly built & outfitted & very large with a fully set up kitchen if you want to cook. If not the Rhum shack has awesome meals & drinks for very reasonable, by western standards, prices. The quality of the facility, food, drinks & staff was top notch. They offer various reasonable priced excursions or you can go off yourself via taxi, bike, golf cart or rental car on your own. We took their "cook your catch" and "full day snorkeling" trips & had a GREAT time. Saw hundreds of types of fish, caught our lunch, relaxed on cayes & totally chilled out. Special thanks to Bernard (F&B manager), King (bartender) and Teo (Manager) & Marvin (waiter) along with the ladies at the reception office for going the extra mile to make sure everything was going ok & we were having a good time. Thanks so much for the awesome experience !!! (FYI, don't be afraid to rent a car at the airport & drive around the country.. the main roads are fine & it's simple to get from point A to point B if you can read even the simplest of maps. Just watch your fuel gauge - there's not a gas station on every corner like in the USA)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016
Excellent stay. Excellent staff. Beautiful views of the Carribean............................................ I was blown away at how our hotel room looked. Loved all the windows and the ability of being able to let the ocean breeze roll into our room at night. Excellent welcome drink too. And dinner and breakfast were both incredible meals.
5 out of 5
by Alexandra from Louisville, KY

fantastic, relaxing stay in a gorgeous setting.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great hotel. it's new and clean. It's right on the beach and has two gorgeous pools. The staff are really friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast that came with our stay was fantastic and very filling. the bar/restaurant, the Rhum Shack, is really great too. Overall, we had an excellent experience.