Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Classic hotel close to Gatwick airport

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Very pleasant stay in an Elizabethan manor house convenient to the airport although requires a 15 min £12 taxi ride. Dinner in Mulberry restaurant first class, comfortable lounges and friendly staff. Room comfortable and well appointed. Only grouse, breakfast disappointing with small choice and stale pastries especially as this was served in one of the lounges as the dining room was apparently not available at very short notice. No reason was given by the fairly harassed staff but appearances suggested that this was being set up for a conference. Otherwise recommended and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado USA

Gorgeous Historical Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Langshott Manor. The rooms were inviting and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return to England and stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice hotel, but.......

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Although not the hotel's fault, there were roadworks in the access road to the property with 'road closed' signs. A warning during the booking process or at some point would have alleviated the stress of actually finding the hotel. Wwe chose the hotel based on previous reviews and of course the fact that it is a SLH with beautiful gardens and an wonderful history. I guess I didn't understand that notvall the rooms were in the original house and was disappointed that we had a very modern room in a new "extension' away from the main building. The room itself was clean and well equipped, but other than a nice big window seat, had no character whatsoever. Food and drink, as one would expect were expensive. I think for the prices they charge and the standard of hotel, some olives or nuts or similar ahould have accompanied the drinks. On Saturday we had friends and family join us throughout the afternoon and evening for drinks and snacks. Other than one amazing Portuguese waitress, sorry I didn't get her name, we felt we were inconveniencing the staff by not conforming to either having afternoon tea or eating in the dining room. Overall, not a bad stay, but didn't exceed my expectations, in fact it barely met them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Absolutely fabulous

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Location: The location was great for catching our flight back to Toronto at Gatwick airport.
The staff was very helpful, courteous and friendly. My daughter and I had an amazing time staying at this hotel. The room itself was a great size, it was a luxury kind suite. The bed was really comfortable. The grounds where magnificent. The pond view of our room was great to see ducks in. There is a local pub 7 minute walk up the street. I can not wait to go back and spend more time at this hotel as my one day was not enough to fully absorb the tranquility of it all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxted, Surrey

Old manor house near Horley

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above. Good pub 400 yards away which was useful as no bar with draught beer at the hotel.
Location: Close to Horley town centre but hard to access due to approach road being closed requiring irritating diversion through a large housing development.
Anniversary weekend treat. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Had to change the allocated room shortly after arrival as door lock not working properly. Afternoon tea in garden was very good. Dinner on first evening in lounge was average and offered only a limited menu. Breakfast buffet was reasonable but fresh fruit limited. Dinner on second night in Mulberry restaurant was excellent with very good level of service. Large grounds which showed signs of neglect. Needed a lot of gardening work done. Ample parking and free wifi. Room charges as expected although extra charge for Sat night was excessive. Bar prices on the high end of expectations made worse by high service charge added to all food and drink orders. Overall a pleasant experience but could find better value elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Beautiful little gem near gatwick. On arrival they couldn't do enough for us. Dinner was lovely if not a little pricey. Only quibble was that there was no one to provide us our early alarm call or check us out at dawn (early flight!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Professional, nice and polite staff. The grounds are wonderful to walk through and the place is quite.
Cons: Did not have a bar (after a 10 hour flight, it was needed) but was directed to a nice neighbourhood pub just around the corner. About a 10 minute walk
Location: It's in a residential area but the road is quiet and small. Which makes it fine for a gentle country walk.
What a joy this Manor was. Was looking for a quiet place away from the airport and was blown away by such a beautiful place around 400 years old.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Lovely Hotel close to Gatwick

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely Hotel and a perfect place to stopover for Gatwick. However, my one grumble is that the rooms are too hot and need air conditioning.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Beautiful hotels and rooms - very comfortable. However, bear in mind that a lot of guests stay prior to flying out from Gatwick airport and so guests were leaving at all hours of the night - which was a bit noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to review prices

Posted Jul 2, 2017
For 12.50 pounds for a buffet breakfast I thought I was going to get a lot more than a croissant and a jam. There burger was 20 pounds and it was tasteless . The only thing nice about the place is the garden.