Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Felmer from Moss Point

Good Choice

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel welcome. We were initially given a spacious third floor room but because of the 60+ steps on the stairs (no lift) we requested and were given a lower room. Monika at the front desk (and dining room), who it seems was always there, is an excellent representative of the hotel. A special thanks to her. Breakfast was splendid. The views take your breath, even when its raining. We would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, b.c.

Terrific

Posted Oct 14, 2015
This is a grand old hotel located scenicaly beside the ruins of a castle overlooking a charming Black Forest town. The hotel and town should not be missed if traveling in the area.
5 out of 5
by Dale from Sacramento

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights in hornberg during a 3 week trip in Europe. The Hotel Schloss Honberg was a perfect place to stop and visit this incredible area. The hotel staff was helpful with suggestions for day trips in the area. The room was clean and quiet during the evening hours. The breakfast was included with the reservation and well worth it. The hotel is on top of a hill next to an old castle tower. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Germany.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Canada

Don't miss this beautiful hotel and surroundings!

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing! Would definitely visit again. It's in a fairy tale setting. Beautiful! The employees were all so friendly. We ate at the restaurant for supper, a late desert and breakfast. The service was friendly and prompt and the food was delicious! The lack of air conditioning, although not surprising, did make the room a little stuffy at night. Nothing a large fan couldn't fix. Definitely worth the trip and would love to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jem in Scharzwald

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Food, staff, scenery.
Cons: There is a bit lack of staffing, but it could have been just when I was visiting.
This is one of the best experiences I have had in Germany. Situated on top of a small mountain overlooking a picturesque town (Hornberg) and Bahn-Viaduct, it is fortunate for travelers that it seems to be not crowded with tourists while unfortunate for the hotel owner that is not better known---I would go here again whenever I have the time in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
by Karl

Beautiful and comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely hotel with beautiful views. The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable. The only downside were the beetles and flies in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Phenomenal restaurant and gorgeous views!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The restaurant!
Cons: The staff being friendly 100% of the time not just when they felt like it.
Location: Hornberg was one of my favorite towns on our month long trip around Europe. It was very pretty and a nice quaint town in the Black Forest.
I picked this hotel and the town at total random when finding a mid point for Switzerland and Rothenburg Germany. I'm glad I did because Hornberg ended up being one of my favorite towns on our whole trip. I also had the very best steak I've ever eaten in the hotel restaurant! Also the best Vanilla ice cream I've ever had and my husband was raving about the strawberries that came with it. We had planned on only staying one night but loved the area so much that we stayed another. The first night I had the turkey, beef, and pork skewer which was also fantastic esp the turkey. The room was clean and a typical European room nothing special but nothing bad either. The view however was gorgeous! We could see the town and the whole valley. Some of our prettiest pictures from our trip came from the window in the room at Schloss Hornberg. The only bad thing I would say is that the staff seemed to go back and forth on whether they were going to be nice to us or not. It was very strange. By the last morning we were saying to each other I wonder who we are getting today, Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde? But because the food (even breakfast esp scrambled eggs) was so phenomenal I would definitely recommend this place. ps. remember when ordering steak in Europe medium is still mooing. you need to be very specific on how you like it or it will come rare
5 out of 5
by Evelyn from Canada

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service, helpfulness, cleanliness, restaurant and llocation in the heart of the Black Forest. Loved it. Very good value for money too!
5 out of 5
by Viktor from Boston

Beautiful Nostalgic hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
It is not easy to find this hotel, but if you want an old nostalgic hotel from quieter times, then this is it! The family that runs it is extremely nice and will help you with any questions you might have.Good breakfast buffet and dinner is nice in the restaurant. The views of the Black Forest out into the valley are great. To find the Hotel enter Hornberg from the south off route 33 and immediately take a left, the sign to the hotel is small,then just follow the road up!
5 out of 5
by Tatjana from Los Angeles

Hidden Gem in the Black Forest!

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Just as beautiful as in the pictures. Easy to miss the little street in town that goes up to the castle hotel. Service was great and staff was very helpful and spoke English very well. A problem with the phone was solved within minutes. The room was clean and check in and check out was very easy. Breakfast was great and plenty. And it's definitely worth it to have dinner at the restaurant as well! Delicious! Be sure to spend some time to explore the castle ruins around the hotel and pick up the key to the tower from the front desk! A great view (especially in the early morning!).