Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, b.c.

Terrific

Posted Oct 14, 2015
This is a grand old hotel located scenicaly beside the ruins of a castle overlooking a charming Black Forest town. The hotel and town should not be missed if traveling in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jem in Scharzwald

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Food, staff, scenery.
Cons: There is a bit lack of staffing, but it could have been just when I was visiting.
This is one of the best experiences I have had in Germany. Situated on top of a small mountain overlooking a picturesque town (Hornberg) and Bahn-Viaduct, it is fortunate for travelers that it seems to be not crowded with tourists while unfortunate for the hotel owner that is not better known---I would go here again whenever I have the time in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Phenomenal restaurant and gorgeous views!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The restaurant!
Cons: The staff being friendly 100% of the time not just when they felt like it.
Location: Hornberg was one of my favorite towns on our month long trip around Europe. It was very pretty and a nice quaint town in the Black Forest.
I picked this hotel and the town at total random when finding a mid point for Switzerland and Rothenburg Germany. I'm glad I did because Hornberg ended up being one of my favorite towns on our whole trip. I also had the very best steak I've ever eaten in the hotel restaurant! Also the best Vanilla ice cream I've ever had and my husband was raving about the strawberries that came with it. We had planned on only staying one night but loved the area so much that we stayed another. The first night I had the turkey, beef, and pork skewer which was also fantastic esp the turkey. The room was clean and a typical European room nothing special but nothing bad either. The view however was gorgeous! We could see the town and the whole valley. Some of our prettiest pictures from our trip came from the window in the room at Schloss Hornberg. The only bad thing I would say is that the staff seemed to go back and forth on whether they were going to be nice to us or not. It was very strange. By the last morning we were saying to each other I wonder who we are getting today, Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde? But because the food (even breakfast esp scrambled eggs) was so phenomenal I would definitely recommend this place. ps. remember when ordering steak in Europe medium is still mooing. you need to be very specific on how you like it or it will come rare
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, would stay again, good value

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: location
pleasant place, great view of town, secluded and quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napoli

Albergo grazioso e comodo

Posted Aug 18, 2016
L'hotel è situato su una collina, quindi in tranquillità e lontano di rumori. L'ambiente generale è molto gradevole. Molto bella la sala colazione con vista sulla valle. Colazione molto ricca e varia. L'hotel dista pochi km dalle cascate di Triberg e dal museo all'aperto di Gutach, posizione molto strategica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr schön und ruhig gelegen

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Oben auf dem Berg mit guter Aussicht. Sehr ruhig.
Sehr schönes Hotel, wirklich zu empfehlen. Einziger Nachteil, wen es stört: Kein Lift vorhanden. Jederzeit gern wieder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsche Aussicht

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Service ist ausgezeichnet
Cons: Ein Aufzug wäre für ältere Menschen von Vorteil
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich auf einem Berg, man kann wandern
Es war eine (von den Eltern des Brautpaares) gut organisierte Hochzeit. Das Essen war sehr gut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Die Lage, die Ruhe, die Freundlichkeit und der Service.
Cons: Vielleicht ein kleiner Kuhlschrank damit das Wasser nicht auf Zimmertemperatur ist.
Zimmerkomfort, sehr gut. Das Restaurant, ausgezeichnet und die Preise sehr erschwindlich. Ein Fruehstuecksbuffet wo nichts gefehlt hat, wo sogar die Spiegelier perfekt waren.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

herrliche Aussicht auf den Schwarzwald

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Die Lage
Cons: nein
Location: Das Hotel liegt oben auf dem Berg an der Burgruine, mit tollem Blick über den Schwarzwald. Nur auf der Durchreise gewesen
Trotz sehr später Anreise, war das Hotelpersonal überaus zuvorkommend, selbst die Küche blieb noch bis zu unserer Ankunft geöffnet, so dass wir noch etwas Warmes bekamen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vakantieganger from Amsterdam, Nederland

Relaxed overnachtingshotel

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Terras en omgeving
Cons: stof
Location: Het slot staat boven op een berg en je kunt over de hele stad heenkijken en je kunt over een wandelpad naar beneden lopen naar het dorp.
Wij hebben dit hotel geboekt voor een overnachting op weg naar Italie een lekkere rustige stop in een mooie omgeving waar je als je vroeg aankomt nog een lekkere wandeling kan maken. 'S avonds op het terras van het hotel prima gegeten, het ontbijt was iets minder in onze ogen erg karig als je een gebakken ei wilde moest je bijbetalen. Het personeel was erg vriendelijk. Het enige minpuntje was dat de kamers stoffig waren wat niet handig is met een allergie.