Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice clean motel. Reasonable continental breakfast. Good size room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel for a stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Exactly what a hotel room should be. Clean, comfy.
Location: Nice short drive to Custer, Mt. Rushmore, Cave of the Winds and other entertainment.
We pulled in late that evening, and we were greeted promptly and let into our room nice and quick. It was clean, well maintained and was exactly as I expect a hotel room to be. Breakfast was well supplied in the morning and was a great continental breakfast.Our kids liked the "play ground" too (a swing on a tree branch across the parking lot).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lahaina, HI

Smelly

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Replace the carpet and get rid of the foul odors.
Location: Evans Plung was on our plan.
We checked in and the smell of the room was intolerable to us. Hotel staff member said she couldn't smell it - which is the only negative thing I have to say about her. She tried very hard to set us up with other rooms - all or which carried the same foul odors. The hotel staff member went out of her way to please us but couldn't get around the odor. Perhaps it is the old carpet- which noticeably needed to be replaced a few years ago ! We located another hotel but had to drive 40 miles to get to it. I had to change hotel plans due to the required 24 notice at each one. This problem totally changed our 3000 mile trip. We ended up cutting it short. Had to cancel out Rapid City hotel due to the date changes that resulted from this hotel experience. I had planned this trip months in advance and acceptable accommodations were not available st this time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richland, Wa

Not that great even for a budget hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Not great. It's a room and a bed. If that's all you need then you'll be set.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Needs a Deep Clean

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The location is a bit out of the way, the staff was nice enough, but I booked a room to sleep 3 and found one full sized bed! The worst part was that the room said no smoking but reeked of stale cigarettes. I wouldn't even unpack for fear of smelling up our belongings. The bathroom was not very clean ( splattered walls?) in fairness I didn't request transfer as I was only there late one night into next morning, and we were exhausted when we got there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: Needs to be updated
Location: Lots of things in the Black Hills to see - nice location
Room was fine but did smell a little musty. Breakfast was a BIG disappointment -- choices of cold cereal, cheap packaged sweet roll, bread and frozen waffle. Had coffee and left
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needed place after long day of exploring

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We were supposed to drive into Nebraska and realized the hotel we had selected was way further away then we had thought, we were tired after exploring parts of South Dakota and decided to stop closer to where we were. The price was okay, but the accommodations weren't. The water faucet in the shower was broken and hard to turn on or off, the room smelled stale and the bathroom smelled moldy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewiston, ID

OK hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Next to the mammoth site but far from everything else. Rooms are OK but the beds are not comfortable. No pool or hot tub. No ice machine on the lower level. Have to climb 3 flight of stairs to get to it. Not much for restaurants in Hot Springs, SD.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Rooms were very small and the breakfast was terrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha NE

Nicest friendlies staff you will ever have.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean. It's always nice to not smell any smoke. It was also the quietest hotel we have ever stayed in.
Cons: The carpet definitely is out dated but I would still stay there again.
My wife and I stayed here while on our motorcycle. There is a great restaurant next door so that was convenient to walk over to at night after a long day of riding.