Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice historic hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Breakfast buffet
Location: Didn't stay long enough. We visited Liberty University, now that was impressive.
First room had one stink bug, one fly and 4 ladybugs. We were upgraded to another room, but the beds were so uncomfortable, we cut our stay short. Not 4.5 star at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Lots of Activities

Posted Dec 24, 2017
You can find lots of fun activities in one place. Services are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Southern charming resort

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Lots to do to please young and old alike. Handicap accessible.
Cons: Ski area food was mediocre.
Location: So much to do here: skiing, swimming/hot tub, hiking, shopping, spa treatments, fitness ctr, bird watching, golf, skeet shooting, horseback riding.
Southern hospitality all the way! Resort is in a remote part of VA with many amenities offered (at an add'l fee) but lots of fun and entertainment at no add'l charge as well. Tea time was offered each day. They were decorated for the holidays, including a visit from Santa and Mrs. Claus. Recommend making dinner reservations in advance if staying over a holiday. Appropriate dinner attire (jacket & collared shirts / dresses) required for some dining locations. Allegheny pool and hot tub was splendid! A relaxing time. Fitness area had up to date equipment. Staff could not have been more accommodating and professional! Bring cash for tipping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

Nice hotel- extremely over priced

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Overall our stay was nice, but not one of the best weekend get aways we have ever had. If you are coming here for a weekend be prepared to spend at least 1k for lodging and dinner for two nights. We ate in the hot springs village every night (10 minus walk) because we did not have formal attire required for dinner at the hotel. the least expensive resort activities was minimum of $110. We were looking to enjoy a couple massage for our anniversary, but I refused to pay $400+ for that as well. The hotel hasn’t been updated in quite some time- the rooms are as basic as your holiday inn express. No fancy showers- just a good old fashioned tub. $50 lunches for two and $12 drinks at the lobby bar.... oh and $10 a day to park the car. The best winter activity here is to plant your butt by the fireplace in the lobby and grab a nice book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville VA

Awesome get away

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at The Homestead in November. It was absolutely beautiful among the trees. It was a wet time during our visit but it did not dampen our time. Husband was able to play a game of golf, we watched football in the lounge and I totally relaxed with a good book by one of the many fireplaces. We will make this visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by The Homestead Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for select The Homestead for your anniversary! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Easy pace..

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Setting, facilities, scale and open space provides nice departure from today's fast pace of life... This is not Times Square.. or the Ritz but more of a gentle reminder of what down time can be. The resort is weather resistant regarding possible activities.. During all seasons a bad weather forecast will not derail a weekend getaway.. Fair value for dollar spent..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by The Homestead team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent vintage hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: excellent staff
Cons: Better value
The Homestead is s superb old style historic hotel and resort. Staff were very friendly and very well trained. Very good but overpriced breakfast buffet. We only stayed overnight to attend a concert at the Garth Newell Music center and did not participate in any resort activities but were charged the resort fee anyway. Breakfast was delicious and extensive in its offering but cost $29. The room was comfortable but not anything special. What was special was the historic hotel itself and the staff. Despite the high cost of the room itself, the breakfast and the unnecessary "resort" fee was the gall to charge $10 for parking (not valet parking, I parked myself) which simply seemed insulting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by The Homestead Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penhook Va

Nice resort good location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: smoking places need seating and cleaning
Only stayed one night. It was great Got some great pictures.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Very nice

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
This place is very nice. The property is stunning and the service is top notch. The place could use some repairs. They can still keep the historic charm but some touch ups couldn’t hurt.
1 out of 5
by Thomas

Poor Experience

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
When we pulled up to unload our luggage they only had one person unloading. It took more than 5 minutes to get to us and no communication. We wanted to do the mineral baths in the area and no one at the front desk informed us of the baths closing two days beforehand. Also, I had to call down to the front desk to get the info on the wifi. We were in the old section of the hotel and the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows had no body to them. The food was very good in the Jefferson room.