Ratings based on 763 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Staff very friendly and helpful they were renovating so a liitlle messy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Springs Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and coping with our growing pains as we remodel. We hope to see you again once we have finished.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff but.....

Posted Mar 11, 2018
Mountain View was a parking lot with a tree covered slope behind it... WiFi didn't work in room... TV had very poor reception, no HD and few channels(couldn't watch SEC Tournament)... No hot water for shower, barely warm... Was not informed that the spa was under renovation...Kept the remaining TP roll for my tool box.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Springs Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment, we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We are undergoing major renovations at present and hope that your next stay will be much more pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures can be deceiving

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Paid $115 to stay in a room that had so many broken objects in it, including the closet door. The room had not been previously cleaned, there was hair all over the bathroom floor and dirt on the carpet in the room. We brought our blow up mattress to sleep on instead. DO NOT RECOMMEND!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Springs Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay wasn't what you had expected, we wish that we had been informed of the cleanliness or lack thereof, so that we could have done something for you at the time to make your stay more enjoyable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and run down.

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Outdated and run down. Supposedly under constitution but never saw any sign of updating. Bathroom had black mold in the space between the granite they put on top of the old tile. Rubber bathtub plug covered in mold. Bathroom floor was dirty and had hair all over. Walls were dirty and carpet was saggging, stained and ripped. Wall sockets missing or gaining by the cord. Tv was blurry and satellite was out half of the time. Bed was old and very uncomfortable. Pillows were pitiful. Towels were rough and stained. This was a $35 a night hotel at best. Looks are very deceiving because the lobby was quite nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the problems you had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Hotel is fine -- needs to be updated, especially their heating and cooling system. Just a little outdated but for a night or 2 it is fine for the price Great location, near most food and bars in downtown Hot Springs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hot springs ar

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Good location Friendly staff Excellent boutique and restaurant Check in very easy Parking unacceptable Amenities are few
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The parking lots are behind the hotel and well lighted at night. There is the main street in front of us and businesses all around us so behind the hotel is the only place we have for parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
It was okay. There was only one working ice machine that I could find. We had to ask for wash cloths because there was none in the room. The toilet took at minimum three times before it would flush completely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the problems you had during your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Older property that it lacking maintenance and cleaning protocol.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any problems you had with your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wanette, OK

Nice hotel close to the bath houses and shopping.

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: The free parking was super and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the bath house.
Cons: The manager parking in the no parking area caused quite a tie up when a resident checking in left her car in the check in lane.
Location: Colonial pancake and Waffle House. Rick will make you feel like your eating in your own dining room and food is plentiful and good.
Older hotel with a few minor qlitches. But staff very friendly and all matters corrected immediately. Four senior girls can be very difficult and demanding. But Cody would stop what he was doing and cater to our every wish. Won’t stay anywhere else now.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the parking incident.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

The staff were nice.....that's about it....

Posted Feb 12, 2018
The stay started with us being given a room that someone else was already in. Thank goodness they weren't in the room when we got there. The lady at the front desk gave us another room. She actually upgraded us to suite. The rooms are in serious need of repair and cleaning. I read in other reviews they were fixing the rooms so I was under the impression that the rooms would be better when we got there. They weren't. We paid way too much for rooms that looked like that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by Matt Rodgers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the problems you had.