Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Nice hotel close to the Black Hills

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: It was reasonably priced, and the room was quiet and nice. The free breakfast was very good.
Location: Located on the edge of Hot Springs, it's close to the Wooly Mammal Exhibit. and there are a few restaurants nearby.
Just stayed one night, but was very pleasant. The hotel seemed fairly new. The location worked out well for us. The staff was kind and efficient. Definitely would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very unpleasant

Posted Jul 17, 2017
This room had a toilet that had to be plunged with EVERY flush. I assume it is normal since we were give a bagged plunger to handle it. Our door did not latch and lock without a fight. Cleaning left our room unlocked all day. I told the RUDE lady at the desk and again at the end of the day our room was unlocked. It was too far from all of Rushmore's attractions as well. Avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ada, OK

Convenient Place

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We stayed at this Hotel during our trip to Mt. Rushmore. Nice place and great breakfast. Only issue I had was the tile was loose in bathroom and slippery. Overall we were pleased. Just across from the Mammoth Site who's was really neat. Have to eat at The Vault while in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beatrice, Ne.

Nice Motel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The elevator, free hot breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms and pleasing atmosphere. The enclosed Courtyard in the rear, and nice swimming pool.
Cons: softer pillows, exhaust vent in bathroom, taller toilets
Location: The location of the Motel on short by-pass 18 was easy to get in & out of. There are a Multitude of things to do in the Black Hills Area.
After a mediocre Motel the night before, we checked into the Stay USA Motel at Hot Springs, SD. It was a pleasant surprise to walk into a very well managed Motel and perhaps the bad experience at the former Motel made this Motel seem so great. The people at the desk were not only Professional at their job, they were friendly and informative answering our questions. Our room was on the 2nd floor and very clean & fresh. The elevator was a welcome sight for a retired couple like we are, and was quiet and smooth. I liked the room so well, I went right down and reserved it for another night, and repeated that the next night also. The Breakfast was very nice and had several hot foods in addition to fresh fruit, yogurt & sweet rolls. Now for the things we weren't fond of. The shower exhaust wasn't strong enough to keep the mirror from fogging, and the pillows were too firm for me. Other than that I would have rated it excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Front desk personnel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Person at the front desk was unpleasant and appeared to be put out with having to work. Otherwise the free breakfast was 'above average' and the hotel was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Breakfast is same everyday

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Although good, a little variety would go a long ways. Rooms were great and clean and staff is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Nice hotel. Had a spacious room and good breakfast buffet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Pool & spa need a lot of work. Rooms ok. Just there overnight. People fine -guilt & peaceful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spa GROSS and unusable. NEEDS PROFESSIONAL help

Posted May 23, 2017
Never seen one so bad without a CLOSED sign on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne

Great location

Posted May 8, 2017
Great place to stay. But sink was very slow draining and maid wasn't attentive to leaving Coffee.