Ratings based on 1,387 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Nice hotel but next time I'd choose a hotel more down the hotel zone. Better beach and closer to city center and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Its good to know your overall stay was nice, thanks for your feedback. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Amazing December getaway!

Posted Dec 9, 2017
We loved everything about this hotel from the staff to the cleanliness! One of the best services we have received while on vacation! Truly felt like we were on vacation and treated amazing! Staff is amazing there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Its great to know how much you enjoyed your vacations and had an amazing time! We hope to have you back again in the near future! Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Room was uncomfortable

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Mattress was uncomfortable. Drain in bathroom kept clogging up causing a sewage smell in the room. Didn't have power for two of our days. One was there hotel's fault the other Cancun's power company.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. We truly value all of our guests and are disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that we have shared your feedback with the corresponding departments and we're taking the necessary measures to improve future guests' experiences Best Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We got the wrong room ended up with two twin beds for a married couple And Four Knights Inn to our stay my husband was joking around with security and they called the Mexican police and then ask us ask him to leave the hotel so we ended up paying for three nights at a whole separate location
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are a family oriented hotel, we got a report from other guests stating your husband was bothering them and he was visibly drunk, we talked with him and a couple of hours later, we got a report from your room for the door lock being broken, we tried again to talk with him, and he kept offering money in order to get away with it, our staff couldn't control him after letting him know we would call the police, he just kept being agressive, that is the reason we called the police. For the integrity of the rest of our guests and our employees we can't tolerate that kind of behavior. Best Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Not the quality you expect for a Four Star hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, ventilation and air conditioning of space in guest rooms.
Location: Nightlife, water sports, restaurants, shopping
Booked this hotel for my 16th year wedding anniversary weekend based on 4 star rating and pictures in the website. Arrived to this hotel in Cancun and upon entrance to the room we felt a stuffy and heavy odor of humidity in the room, which trigger allergies in my wife. We went back to reception and the front desk very willingly offered us another room. This room was bigger, but the same smell and heavy humidity was felt. Went back to front desk and guest services offer to send a person to recondition the room and asked us to wait for an hour. They sent a person with a bottle of scented spray to "correct" the situation. Evidently that didn't do it. They offer us a room in the other building tower. This room was smaller but also had the stuffy, humid smell. I asked the hotel staff to cancel our reservation due to lack of cleanliness and proper room ventilation but the local staff said that had to be done by the reservations office which was not available. We called Expedia, and they were not successful in contacting them either. The hotel gave no other options so we had to request a cancellation and left to a nearby hotel that was two buildings down the road and had no issues with room cleanliness. The Solaris company never contacted us. Expedia kept on trying and were not successful in obtaining a reimbursement from the hotel either. Even though Solaris accepted that the room was not in acceptable conditions, they did not take responsibility for it and charged us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We want to apologize for not meeting your expectations, all our rooms undergo an air quality program to avoid humidity, we appreciate your feedback in order to check deeper into the rooms you were in. In all times our staff offered you different options and was there to provide you the support to find a solution, nothing of what was offered to you was of your liking, we deeply apologize for this, in regards to the cancellation, as you state it is part of Expedia, and there are policies of reinmbursement, until today Expedia hasn't contacted our Reservations Department regarding your case. We will keep working to improve in all areas, thanks for your feedback. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Dec 5, 2017
The staff were amazing - Ivan (concierge), Ana (hospitality, Zaire (front desk). Thank you for all your help during our trip! This was our 2nd time in Cancun, first time at GR Caribe. We got ocean view rooms with spectacular views. Thank you. The heated pools were a big plus especially since the weather was a bit cooler during this season (end of Nov). Wish the pools were open later into the evening, but closes at 7pm. The access to both Royal Solaris and GR caribe made it totally worth it. The food was great, especially given it's an all-inclusive resort. We had a special dinner menu as a VIP Expedia member and it was excellent. I have to say though that the most memorable part of each meal was the salsa bar. The salsa bar in La Fuente was above and beyond. Fresh pico de gallo, fresh tortilla chips and 4-5 different kinds of salsas with many other condiments!!!! I was in salsa heaven every day! Only two issues, one of which was resolved. We had a 6 month old baby with us and giving her a bath was difficult due to only having showers. I asked for a basin and was provided one. It would've been nice if it wasn't provided from day 1 with the crib. The second issue is there's a lot of noise outside during middle of night - maintenance noise (carts moving, water hosing?), and other loud noises. The doors are not well insulated so you can hear everything outside. Other than that everything was great. Our trip was too short - 4 nights and 5 days. Would've be
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Its great to know how wonderful your stay was and how much you enjoyed it! Thanks for mentioning the names of the staff members who went above and beyond with their services. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with all of our staff. We hope to have you back again in the near future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, WA

Wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Very good hotel. I would like to come back here again. Friendly staff, clean and comfy rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed our cleanliness, rooms and service! We hope to have you back soon! Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angelea

Memorable trip

Posted Dec 1, 2017
The staff were amazing - Ivan (concierge), Ana (hospitality, Zeina (sp? - front desk). Thank you for all your help during our trip! This was our 2nd time in Cancun, first time at GR Caribe. The heated pools were a big plus especially since the weather was a bit cooler during this season (end of Nov). Wish the pools were open later into the evening, but closes at 7pm. The access to both Royal Solaris and GR caribe made it totally worth it. The food was great, especially given it's an all-inclusive resort. We had a special dinner menu as a VIP Expedia member and it was excellent. I have to say though that the most memorable part of each meal was the salsa bar. I love salsa - all kinds! And the salsa bar in La Fuente was above and beyond. Fresh pico de gallo, fresh tortilla chips and 4-5 different kinds of salsas with many other condiments!!!! I was in salsa heaven every day! Our trip was too short - 4 nights and 5 days. Would've been perfect if we stayed even just one or two more nights. We'll definitely be back!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Its wonderful reading how amazing your trip was! Thanks for sharing the names of the people who stood out with their service. Its great to read how much you enjoyed having access to both hotels and yes the salsa bar is amazing! We are glad you enjoyed it! Please come back soon, we will be waiting for you! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2017
I loved the hotel. The food was amazing. The only thing I didn’t like it’s thst it doesn’t have a night life. There is no night club. Although you can take $1 bus to where the nightlife is, it’s about 15 mins bus ride. But besides that it’s a good hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by General Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Its great to know how much you enjoyed your vacations and had a wonderful time. We appreciate your comments regarding night life at the hotel, as its a cozy hotel, all night life concentrates at royal Solaris, which is next door, and at GR Caribe we only keep sax music at nights. Nevertheless we will send your comments to our Entertainment Manager in order to have more activities for our guests at night. We look forward on welcoming you again soon! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Good food. Room are small as I expected because it's a older hotel. We like the pool and location. I will recommend it and will go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Ana Lòpez, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! Your opinion is very important to us, we hope see you soon again, have a great day.