Ratings based on 1,097 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My family stayed 7 nights was very good, clean, a lot of assist if needed. We enjoyed the restaurants and environment was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

One of the best all inclusive resorts in Cancun

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: The shows at night were very entertaining. The musicians are the best I've heard of all the resorts we visited, including cruise ships.
Cons: I wish the ocean waves were not so strong so I could swim in it.
Location: For water sports excursions, speak to the water activities booth by the beach for best deals. There are also other excursion desks inside the hotel.
We booked this hotel because Iberostar had a great reputation, so I didn't have to spend so much time researching for one. No regrets. It has everything we wanted. Great food. Professional service. Very clean pools that were checked and cleaned everyday. And beautiful beach, clean overlooking turqois waters. So we didn't have to leave the resort, except for the two excursions for snorkeling and ziplining. Our 12 yr old son enjoyed the playing with me in the swimming pool. There is a nice kids water park, but he's a bit old for that now. We stayed at a villa, which was conveniently next to a smaller pool. The only negative thing was the strong ocean waves, which explains why very few people were in the water. So no water sports off the beach. Great if you want to body surf. We normally spend our mexico trips at our other favorite hotel near Playa Del Carmen. But we may come back here in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful ocean view from all the rooms

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Great hotel for the family. The restaurants excellent. The people in cancun super. I recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from califonia

Basic Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The staff very friendly and attentive
Cons: The rooms and hotel overall needs upgrading and better food
Location: Everything was near by it was great.
Overall the hotel is OK! The rooms are old and not very updated. The Hotel itself feels more or less that it is falling apart. The staff is amazing though. They are very helpful. The Spa is a bust don't waste your money. I wouldn't go back to this hotel. The food is average nothing to rave about. We all agreed that the red meat wasn't good. The staff is great everything is average or below average. The check in process is a NIGHTMARE....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft worth tx

Great family Vacation

Posted Aug 11, 2017
My family and I had a great time and enjoyed the hotel and staff. The pools and our view from our room was amazing. Will definitely come back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Fun hotel for families but not ideal for couples

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Spa
Cons: Staff
Location: Less than 20 minutes from the airport and just a little further to get to downtown Cancun.
The hotel was nice, clean and had a great pool area, especially for kids. The restaurants were good, especially the French restaurant. We were there for a destination wedding and it was beautiful on the beach. However, there wasn't much to do at night. They have a usual nightly show but that's about it, no fun bar area other than the boring lobby bar. I also found myself looking for more from the staff, no towels out by the spa pool so we had to walk through the spa soaking wet to find someone to get us a towel. The bathrooms were constantly out of toilet paper and I didn't find the staff at check in or guest services especially friendly. The girl taking pictures at the hotel and selling them at the desk after was incredibly rude to me as well as friends of ours. There were not enough staff at the Japanese restaurant when we were there so we had to keep flagging people down to get drinks throughout our dinner. However, the servers at the other restaurants were always very attentive and I was impressed by how hard they worked. It just wasn't consistent with all of the staff. My massage at the spa was great and I highly recommend taking advantage of the relaxation pool, sauna and steam baths (included in your stay). Overall, I liked this hotel but I have stayed in places much better. We always enjoy our stays at the Excellence Resort in Cancun and would much prefer to return there rather than Iberostar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Staff in charge of activities and nightly shows were great ! The food at the restaurants was very good ! Jamie the beach bartender was awesome !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis MO

Nice vacation with the (adult) kids!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Traveled with our adult kids to this resort for a late summer trip. Weather was perfect as well as our accommodations. Part of the trip was spent in the ocean view villa--one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in. We stayed the second part of the trip in the hotel rooms (ocean view room). These were above average as well. Staff was awesome. We particularly enjoyed Ruben in the Mexican restaurant and Marasal in the spa (where I had one of the best massages ever). We used the gym which was more than adequate. The food was excellent, and we tried each restaurant our week there. Do wish we could have made reservations for each night, but ate at the buffet when we were unable to obtain a reservation. We noticed the restaurants were never full but they did limit the number of guests they would serve. Staff overall was excellent all around. Did get a little wearied by the vendors on the beach and even were solicited for merchandise while sitting in the hotel lobby. Pools were great, beach service was great. Was definitely one of our favorite trips and we hope to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Nice hotel perfect location close to the beach, I stayed with my family for 3 days and we pass a good time. Nice pools ,and the food is excellent. i want coming again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

It was alright.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The lobby was beautiful and always a nice place to gather
Cons: More staff in the pool and beach areas.
This resort was beautiful. My biggest complaint is there was not enough staff for the amount of people there. They do not have a big variety in places to eat, times to eat and the rooms are not stocked with a variety of snacks and drinks. Room service is available and that was very nice. While I was able to ask for specific foods and drinks for breakfast, my friends were not. There is also a "thing" with beach towels. They are only given with a towel card, and you had to return the towels to get your card back for fresh towels. This was alot of trouble, so we were towel-less for the stay. The entertainment crew was fun and friendly.