Ratings based on 3,093 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, but outdated.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Great location, amazing beach, great food choices, incredible room view.
Cons: Room cleanliness and renew the furniture. Definitely change the bed and linen.
Location: Amazing beachfront, the downtown area with its many clubs and bars is very close. No need to leave the area unless it's for an excursion.
I have to say that we enjoyed our vacation at this hotel, however the rooms were terrible. Everything about the facilities, food and amazing beachfront definitely got us raving, but our bad experience with the room brings down a lot about the whole experience overall. The food & dining options are very good, the staff attention and service overall is totally recommended. Regarding the rooms themselves, I was blown up by the amazing view we had, but the bed and furniture are from the early 90s. We got a very uncomfortable bed and we received the room in poor cleaning conditions. Nevertheless, the staff made their best to accommodate us and improve the room right away. I might not come back to this RIU and instead do my best to book the Palace, which is next door, and get a more lavish setting which this Hotel chain is known for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Very close to the beach and very close to all the shopping stores walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kentucky

Wonderful place

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Riu Cancun was a wonderful experience! The staff were so friendly, great food, and such a great time. Beautiful views everywhere. Standard room is exactly that, but you really don't stay in the room much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort is nice rooms was horrible

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Me and my friend got very sick over a 4 days stay the linen in the room was never changed it had a terrible smell and the bathroom had a very bad smell we had to cut short our vocation since i got fever and really sick from staying in that room :-/
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Awesome Resort

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room was very clean, beautiful resort, staff was very friendly, food was always good and available whenever I got hungry. I enjoyed every moment of my stay. I would definitely recommend this place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non existent customer service

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Front desk staff and management do not value the customers and do not seek to help their guests. They don't answer their phones. They also advertise water sports. The sail boats were not available. They had a total of two boogie boards. They told us the kayaks were not available as well. Skip RIU and go to another resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort. Front desk staff terrible

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Resort condition was nice. Food was good. Great location. Front desk employees were terrible. They would not answer the phone when calling from the room. The phone would ring then the line would go dead. When you would tell them about it when you finally went to the front desk they would stare back like it was strange we would expect for them to answer the phone. Never an apology. We went for our wedding. We invited 50 guests to stay with us. Every one of them were asked to go to a different resort. The front desk claimed the resort we stayed in didn't have good food or facilities and told our friends they would be happier at another Riu resort. A few friends were led to believe they didn't have a choice and actually went to the other resort. The front desk employees and manager acted like they were doing our friends a favor. Even though they would not be staying with us, like my maid of honor. Which was the point of the destination wedding. Riu made it clear customer satisfaction was non existent. Skip Mexico and all the bad alcohol and bad service and try a different country and resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Mediocre. Crowded, loud, drinks very weak. Only a sport 24hours with few options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from National Harbor, MD

Never again

Posted Oct 11, 2017
I normally never write reviews but this was important. I recently stayed in a junior suite ocean view for 5 days. Never again. The rooms and hallways are what I imagined Martha Stewart stayed in while incarcerated. The walls are even dirty. There is no tub only a stand up shower with no privacy in the bathroom. Water literally ran from the creases in the shower wall/door onto the bathroom floor and into the main area. The rooms STINK. Most hotel staff does not speak English so brush up on your Spanish or keep a translator handy. The drinks were cheap and so was the food but it’s to be expected for all inclusive places. Most of the restaurants serve the same thing everyday and some even only have a buffet EVERYDAY. The ocean view was absolutely amazing. The pool bar smells like someone threw up in it and you can smell sewage from the edge of the pool. There are children everywhere sometimes not being supervised by their parents so if you want an atmosphere with no children do not stay here. The beds ARE TERRIBLE. Not only did we get pee stained sheets the comforters smelled like pee and cigarettes. I called downstairs 6 times asking for a change in blankets and had to wait until the next day. The mattress was hard and very old. I was truly disgusted by so much. Great atmosphere of working people as well as guest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Very nice hotel with an awesome view! But there is no room service which really sucked! Snacks in the sports bar where terrible! Need to service better snacks!