Ratings based on 3,066 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Nice resort! There are always activities to do. Only thing I would change is the food selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, Oklahoma

Riu Cancun Hotel...laid-back atmosphere

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Riu Cancun Hotel is an affordable vacation spot, with management and staff that really aim to please. Good food, good location, with a laid-back atmosphere that makes you hate to go back to the non-beach world ! Can't wait to go back !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cancun

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel was great, the people were great, the food was great, the only one thing I would say is that the AC in the rooms doesn't really do its job and the beds could be a little more comfortable. Other than that everything was great. One of the pools was a little dirty but I assume because it has a swim up bar and people get drunk and just don't care lol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

very clean,friendly staff,verity of good food

Posted Sep 7, 2017
we enjoyed the clean beach,the verity of food in the restaurant and cleanness and the services from every one even without expecting tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Riu Cancun is great hotel. Plenty of bars, pools and activities for everyone. The entertainment staff is excellent! They are around the pool during the day leading activities then at night they perform for the kids and lead adult themed games. The only issue I have with this hotel is the king size bed was two twin beds pushed together. Other than that, great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Vacation Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Everything about the hotel was great, the rooms were nice, food was delicious, beach front and nice employees. Only negative experience was taxi harassment. They will try pressuring you into taking a taxi. When we refused (because we did not have cash) they followed us to the Starbucks across the street. Considering we were a group of girls and the taxi company had only male employees, it was a horrible experience. Be aware of the taxi harassment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to everything, modern look

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Plenty of pools and the beautiful beach. We didn't even get to use all the pools.
Cons: The beds, get some nice big comfy king beds.
Location: The location is in the heart of the hotel zone so there are plenty of bars, restaurants, and entertainment nearby, short 10 minute walk.
Modern hotel in the middle of everything. We were right next to the bars and night clubs, an easy walk away from shops, drug stores, and a bus stop. The food choices were great, and although I am a picky eater, I was able to find something to have every day. They have plenty of options like meats, fish, vegetarian; standard staples like fries and pizza and plenty of wine, and beverage options. The only beer you will find onsite is Dos Equis. The rooms were spacious and our view was amazing from the 11th floor, however, our giant bed was just two full beds pushed together, so we frequently had them separating. We kept pushing them together. They even made the beds separately so my husband and i kept having to pull the sheets apart just to get close to one another. The mattresses feel like the kind that have a plastic cover on them and they just added the sheet on top of that. If you're looking for a nice fluffy bed after a day in the sun, this hotel is not for you, but if you're looking to use your bed for only a couple of hours to catch up on your sleep between your partying, then I recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NewYork

First time in Cancun great experience.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Many of my friends have stayed at the Riu Cancun and said they had a great time. I guess I was just expecting more. Rooms were ok at best. Food wasn't that great. Maybe because they were very busy it was hard for them to keep up with the level I was expecting. Have been to many other resorts even other Rius where everything was always top notch. Like I said. Maybe I just had higher expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

Nice hotel with perfect beach area

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great hotel with a great staff. Feels very safe, close to all the nightclubs and beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L A

Room

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The room was nice and clean , love the restroom the only thing I didn't not like was the bed it was so hard not comfortable at all and the Pillow were not comfortable... at night when it would get cold in the room they had blankets in the closet , that haven't been wash in a very long time !