Ratings based on 3,042 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I personally do not have anything bad to say about the hotel. Everything was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friend. Thank you Riu Cancun. Will see you next summer vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Overall it is a beautiful hotel. The staff goes above and beyond to please the guests! There aren't enough nice words to describe how the staff treats the guests. The food is amazing with a ton of options! Pools are beautiful as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Resort with "LIMITS"

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Beautifully decorated.
Cons: Clean pillows/sheets. Truly free internet for ALL guests. Make the beach more people friendly. Stop with the limits on everything!
Disappointed with this resort. Did not feel "All Inclusive"....Had too many limits! 1st, the pillows smelled terrible. Smelled like mildew, sweat, and feet all wrapped in one. Called the front desk to get clean pillows, and was told they could only replace up to 4?? *If 6 stink, why only 4 get replaced?? They state free wifi, however, its limited to two devices?? If you have 3 or more "PAID" guests, why only 2 devices?? They won't deliver alcoholic beverages to your table...you have to go to the bar, and bring them yourself?? On more than one occasion, we left 4 dirty towels on the floor for replacement, and ONLY 2 clean towels were replaced?? The beach has a lot of rocks/stumps, which make it impossible to run freely in the water! The gym has about 7 pieces of equipment and 2-3 are out of order, for 1,500 guests, not enough machines.....shame as this is the 1st time on vacation, I actually tried to work out! We were denied entry at the Japanese restaurant one night, stating they were booked for the night. We were a party of 4 (2 of them children), at approximately 7:30pm, and I could see plenty of empty tables?? I have stayed in Cancun many times at different resorts (at lower rates as well) and all have been a pleasant stay, except here! I would not recommend this place to anyone! I wouldn't stay at a RIU resort again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Location: Great location, easy access to clubs/bars.
Pool was filthy also needs disinfecting during the night when closed, pool bar area should be cleaned during the day, rooms need an upgrade the junior suite had 2 double beds stuck together. An upgrade of towel quality wouldn't hurt either for the amount of money paid. AC need in hall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

"So called" All inclusive Resort, but w/limts!!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Was expecting better service from this larger resort! Place looks beautiful from the outside, lobby, etc but the indoor experience of your room is that of a MOTEL. The pillows smelled terrible (and I'm not a picky person, but even I couldn't stand the smell)! They smelled like mildew, sweat, and feet all wrapped up in one!! When call is made to front desk, they said they could replace up to 4 pillows?? If 6 stink, why the limit of 4? They state free wifi, BUT they limit it to 2 devices?? If you have 3 or more PAID guests, why the limit of 2?? They don't deliver your alcoholic drinks to your table.....1st resort that doesn't?? On 2 occasions, we left 4 dirty towels in the room, but they only replaced 2 clean ones?? Got denied to the Japanese restaurant because they were booked for the night. We had a party of 4(2 of them children), and I seen plenty of empty tables, it was appx 7:30pm?? The beach area has lots of rocks, making it not so pleasant to run into beach freely! I have stayed in Cancun many times, and all have been positive experiences....hate leaving negative feedback, but this resort cost more than the others, but delivered quite less! Would not stay at RIU again :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dearborn Heights, Michigan

Staff was terrible

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The room had a really bad smell. The staff wants money if you want a favor, I was told by the manager that if I complain again I will be kicked out. I do not, I repeat do not recommend this place at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Hotel - Awesome Location

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Great location, nice beach (a little small), great food.
Cons: The staff were not very friendly. Door keys failed multiple times nearly each day.
Location: Within walking distance to shopping, entertainment, and dining.
I took my kids and two of their friends (ages ranged from 17 to 24) and we had a wonderful time. There were plenty of activities for the kids to enjoy both in the hotel and within walking distance. I have stayed in many of the Riu hotels as well as many other all inclusive resorts, and the food here was the best I have had in any all inclusive that I have stayed in. The pools were awesome and were not overcrowded. Two complaints: 1) The staff were the least friendly of all hotels that I have stayed. 2) The electronic door locks to two of our three rooms failed continually. We had to get new room keys at least ten times during our 9 day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma, Texas

Very nice,clean and so close to the beach

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Very clean hotel and very central, everything was very close, shops and discos like coco bongo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel staff

Posted Aug 13, 2017
We couldn't ask for a better location, food was great and the beach is just amazing, however rooms need to be improved, we would like to see more amaneties .!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2017
The staff was great. It was to much noise. People running up and down in the middle of the night. I prefer a quiet place