Ratings based on 4,746 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

highly recommend, great food, service

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Absolutely beautiful hotel, food was top quality, staff was great very helpful and polite , very organized. I am going to plan to go again and next time I will try the Riu peninsula because I want to take children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kodiak, AK

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, roomy, beautiful views from our room and nice pool area.
Cons: Food quality
Location: Very good location walking distance to all the bars/nightclub in the hotel zone. Large supermarket nearby and souvenir stores.
Nice hotel but do NOT leave your window open. The humidity will come in and leave your entire room in a river of water. The staff was nice but I would not recommend the massage I was supposed to get a stress relieve massage and end up being more painful than I thought. I still cannot move my wrist since then. The room was kept clean but the staff broke a hot rock massage I bought and left there without a note or anything. There's a lot of variety of food and restaurants inside the hotel and the service was amazing. The quality of the food was sometimes disappointing especially the buffet. The Mexican restaurant was our favorite during our stay but we thought maybe they could reduce the variety of food and improve the quality. The pool area is great and our favorite was near the bar they had volleyball and several other activities throughout the day. I would recommend this hotel just a few things could be improved especially when it comes to food. The night entertainment is AMAZING! I had a really good time just wish was a little longer =)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Everything was great. Entertainment groups were amazing. Very satisfied with food, and all services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Beautiful place, staff was really nice, food was incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Great View with a Touch of Elegance

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: lobby is very elegant & Staff was very polite & helpful
Cons: Fix the elevators , only one was operating . We had to carry our luggage down 2 flights of stairs because everytime the elevator arrived it was full.
Location: location was great we could shop across the street or have dinner at a walking distance .
We had a great time at the Beach , This is the first time to stay on the premises and not run around to do all the sight seeing , We spent hours on the beach enjoying the ocean & sun bathing . They BBQ for us at lunch time , had snacks , waiters never stop asking if we needed water or mix drinks , towels , chairs or Beach Umbrella . There was a life guard on the watch for all the guest. We really felt pampered Thanks to all the staff at The Riu Palace , We had a awesome time and we are ready to come bk .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel just humid

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Our stay was great. The beach was amazing the pool was great especially the bar in the pool. The drinks by the theatre could be improved and the room was very humid, we had AC but it wasn't that useful since things felt wet. But overall I would come again. The food at Don Roberto was absolutely amazing and the staff was just always friendly and never rude. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I noticed some bites on my leg and arm after the first night; so our bedding had to be completely changed & the mattress cover was gross.
It was a perfect getaway!!! The staff was very attentive, the spa was fabulous, & the ocean view was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westfield IN

Exceeded Our Expectations

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel is a true 5 star resort. The staff were all very friendly and the food choices were amazing.
Location: Within walking distance is a flea market. The overall location is perfect.
We made a great choice staying at the Rui Palace. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. Everyone went out of their way to provide high quality service. We were very impressed with all of the staff. Very friendly and helpful. They made us feel like family. We did not want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howard Beach, NY

Beautiful classic hotel on a beautiful setting

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel was beautiful. It had a mix of Roman and Mediterranean decor that just worked. The pools/beaches were extremely clean and staff was great.
Cons: They took 1 elevator out of service for renovations. It was a bit inconvenient, but nothing serious. Also there is NO night life at the hotel at all
Location: Most of the commercial things to do are about 3 hours away making it an all day trip. We found ruins in Cancun, and took the ferry to Isle Mujeres.
We had an amazing time. The hotel and staff were beyond what we expected. The food was OK. It was a little bland, but basically what we were expected when you think about the number of people they are preparing food for. The chef's in the buffet will customize anything for you. We found this out when one of them offered to make my boyfriend a special dish. The view from the room was breathtaking, especially at sunrise or sunset depending on the side of the building you are staying on. The only thing that was truly annoying was being harassed by anyone and everyone to purchase excursions and club tickets. This was not the hotel staff, but entertainment people were everywhere. We ventured out on our own a few times, into downtown and over to Isle Mujeres and everyone we met was friendly and interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel with unbelievable service, staff, and views.