Ratings based on 4,740 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Great View with a Touch of Elegance

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: lobby is very elegant & Staff was very polite & helpful
Cons: Fix the elevators , only one was operating . We had to carry our luggage down 2 flights of stairs because everytime the elevator arrived it was full.
Location: location was great we could shop across the street or have dinner at a walking distance .
We had a great time at the Beach , This is the first time to stay on the premises and not run around to do all the sight seeing , We spent hours on the beach enjoying the ocean & sun bathing . They BBQ for us at lunch time , had snacks , waiters never stop asking if we needed water or mix drinks , towels , chairs or Beach Umbrella . There was a life guard on the watch for all the guest. We really felt pampered Thanks to all the staff at The Riu Palace , We had a awesome time and we are ready to come bk .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel just humid

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Our stay was great. The beach was amazing the pool was great especially the bar in the pool. The drinks by the theatre could be improved and the room was very humid, we had AC but it wasn't that useful since things felt wet. But overall I would come again. The food at Don Roberto was absolutely amazing and the staff was just always friendly and never rude. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I noticed some bites on my leg and arm after the first night; so our bedding had to be completely changed & the mattress cover was gross.
It was a perfect getaway!!! The staff was very attentive, the spa was fabulous, & the ocean view was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westfield IN

Exceeded Our Expectations

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel is a true 5 star resort. The staff were all very friendly and the food choices were amazing.
Location: Within walking distance is a flea market. The overall location is perfect.
We made a great choice staying at the Rui Palace. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. Everyone went out of their way to provide high quality service. We were very impressed with all of the staff. Very friendly and helpful. They made us feel like family. We did not want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howard Beach, NY

Beautiful classic hotel on a beautiful setting

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel was beautiful. It had a mix of Roman and Mediterranean decor that just worked. The pools/beaches were extremely clean and staff was great.
Cons: They took 1 elevator out of service for renovations. It was a bit inconvenient, but nothing serious. Also there is NO night life at the hotel at all
Location: Most of the commercial things to do are about 3 hours away making it an all day trip. We found ruins in Cancun, and took the ferry to Isle Mujeres.
We had an amazing time. The hotel and staff were beyond what we expected. The food was OK. It was a little bland, but basically what we were expected when you think about the number of people they are preparing food for. The chef's in the buffet will customize anything for you. We found this out when one of them offered to make my boyfriend a special dish. The view from the room was breathtaking, especially at sunrise or sunset depending on the side of the building you are staying on. The only thing that was truly annoying was being harassed by anyone and everyone to purchase excursions and club tickets. This was not the hotel staff, but entertainment people were everywhere. We ventured out on our own a few times, into downtown and over to Isle Mujeres and everyone we met was friendly and interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel with unbelievable service, staff, and views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Restaurant and good was good staff was very nice and polite over sllbwas good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shorewood, IL

The Only Place For Me - In Cancun

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: I like everything, that's why I have gone to the Riu Palace 4 years in a row. Everyone is so friendly. The Staff cannot be any better. A++++++++
Cons: The food doesn't seem to be as good as it used to be. It is very bland. That is my only complaint, everything else is FANTASTIC.
Location: The location is great for everyone. However, my thing is to just relax, so I don't go off the property. It's my choice.
This is my fourth year in a row, that I stayed at Riu Palace Las Americas. I love it there. I'm a creature of habit and when I find something I like, that suits all of my wishes for a place to vacation, I don't feel I need to go anywhere else. I can't speak highly enough for the staff. I've never seen people that hustle so much. They are always cleaning, they are great. The wait staff are fantastic! The guys around the pool getting drinks are FANTASTIC. My personal favorite is Juan. I am amazed how he hustles to get people drinks. The rooms are always clean and they will clean your room every day, if that is what you want. Honestly, I just can't speak highly enough. Already planning my trip next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
It's a nice hotel right on the beach. The food at the the specialty restaurants was not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Unforgettable vacation with my lovely family.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness of the entire facility, the exceptional service provided by all the waitress, bar tenders, room mades, chefs in all the restaurants.
Location: Location is perfect, few step to the major atractions like Coco Bongo y La Vaquita night clubs. Also very well located if you need some souvenirs.
The hotel was recently remodeled/upgraded an is just amazing. They welcome you with a glass of champagne, and this made feel you in the heaven. I want to thank everyone in the hotel for the magnificent and extremely good work they perform day by day. During check in I requested an upgrade from inside room to ocean view, but unfortunately Yessica nor Pablo can't help me with my petition. It looks like front desk staff, although they are very professional, are trained to said ..."we are sold out", ..... you have to paid additional $ 50 per night", instead really try to do their best to give you an upgrade, as usually the majority of the hotels in all over the world do, based in the fact that you recommended the hotel to your family and friends ( I booked 4 rooms), and you are a frequent guest to the hotel (2nd stay). I felt they are trained by the management to be strictly adhered to the reservation, than to try find better room options for the customer. The Front Desk second shift personal (Fernando and Joshua) were very friendly, and kind every time we requested additional information about the hotel facility and services. Special thanks to Carlos the Captain of the Mexican Restaurant, he provided an extraordinary service above and beyond during all the entire stay in the hotel. In our last night, he organized spectacular dinner for my birthday celebration; my family and I enjoyed the night and he was amazing in small details he made for the unforgettable dinner.