Ratings based on 4,706 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Perfect hotel! Beach and great food!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The service
Cons: SPA free.
Location: Good, between the beach and places to shopping.
The best hotel in Cancun, amenities, ugrade in room, delicious food and drinks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
food was not as good as it use to. Manager of hotel was rude. staff were very good and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel swap scam. Please read.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: I got out alive.
Cons: Honesty and transparency with customers. Cleanliness of rooms and lobby bathroom. Maintenance of Jacuzzi and showers. Quality of food. Moldy smells.
Location: I was moved to a location with no shops in walking distance.
I booked my reservation for the Riu Palace Las Americas adults only resort. I ordered the king bed junior suite with ocean view. I was initially attracted to staying at the hotel because I heard it was recently renovated. I also didn't want to deal with crying and screaming children on my relaxing vacation. After arriving to the hotel I was told that the room I already paid for was unavailable. This was extremely irritating because no one from Riu Palace had the decency to contact me prior to my arrival so I could make other arrangements. I was then told I would be "upgraded" to the adult villas at the Riu Palace Peninsula. I was told it would be very romantic, I would receive a canopy bed, and I would keep my ocean view as promised. This was all a lie. I arrived to a standard room that had a moldy and musty smell. I had a pool view. There was no canopy bed and the bed was left unmade. It was as if I was thrown in a random available room without it being cleaned first. At that point I realized that I had been dupped. The Riu Palace overbooked the Las Americas resort and decided to shove me into their less desirable location when I arrived to Cancun. Where do I start with this resort? It's dated. There are obvious signs of wear and tear on all the furniture. The eating areas, rooms, and sports bar have a disgusting moldy odor as if there is an issue with their ventilation system. The quality of food is poor. Everything from the syrup to orange juice is diluted. Just RUN!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Good for few days, lasy staff, no crazy about the food !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Second RIU hotel we've stayed at and had another great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

CanCun

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: clean, neat, well run
Cons: have the smokers hold there breath on the outside patio where people eat - inconsiderate bas*****
Location: ton of excursions and tours. Coba has the history that you can climb on - but hurry - they are going to stop that at the beginning of the year.
Never 5 minutes without a drink in your hand or someone coming by to ask you what you want. always a full glass of whatever you are drinking at the breakfast, lunch or dinner table. The only drawback was the desserts - well - maybe its a good thing that the desserts weren't that good. Had dinner in every restaurant - and sorry to say that the worst steak was from the steak house - the best was from Krystal follow by a close second at the Japanese restaurant - which was tied with the fajitas at the Mexican restaurant which was also tied by the Italian grilled lamb chops. so there you have it, 1 first place and 3 second places. the buffet you could eat everyday and have something different everyday. The pineapple juice taste different there just like steaks taste better in Texas - they must get them locally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Sep 19, 2017
I enjoyed my time, staff was great, food was perfect and the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO USA

Nice hotel at the beach

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pleasant stay, close to the beach and good food,good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Friendly staff and great location lots of activities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco bay area CA

Hotel did not live up to our expectations

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: swimming pool
Cons: yes, at least buy some fabuloso and clean smelly floors in the rooms. My whole wardrobe and shoes smell horible.
Location: beach was great, hotel from outside looked great, but across from it not so great.
hotel look like it had onle a face lift, not total remodeling as we read about it. our only request was a quiet room and instead we got a room below remodeling site where they ware breaking the tiles in the bathroom and noise was constant. upon our complaint they moved us to another room, that has chiped tiles on the floor, and smelled old. compared with our previous exeperience at Live Aqua this hotel was a huge disappointment, and both hotels where price wise very similar. We will not return there.