Ratings based on 2,779 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK, NY

Style. Quality. Beautiful beachfront. Best yet!

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Stayed here for 1 week and realized i could easily live here forever. The grounds were beautifully manicured plus so many beach/pool options- several pools, all super clean and great temperatures. Also several options for beachfront relaxation- under a mini forest of palm trees, or directly in the sun along a unique stretch of rocky (but smooth enough to walk barefoot) beach front with amazing spots to layout or sit in a chair and walk down 3-4 steps to clear turquoise water. Also, i can go on and on about the interior of the hotel- really art deco but super tasteful. Feel like a celebrity here! My fiance and I are 99% sure this will be where we have our destination wedding. Highly recommend this hotel. My 5th time to cancun, and from now on i will only be at the Riu Palace Peninsula!! 10 stars!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Tobacco odor

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: cleanliness
Location: nothing near, you should use transportation.
I arrived and the room has a terrible tobacco odor, server don't treat you well if you don't give them tip ( which is included) and of course I gave tip, but not always. Dated room and clean service is very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Great food. Nice lobby. Friendly staff. Nice and multiple pools. Nice beach. But the room is not four star quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

It was a beutiful hotel and very clean.

Posted Nov 25, 2017
It was my favorite hotel ive been to in cancun and its so clean the staff are very nice and a wide variety of foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel, Highly Recommended

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Great experience overall, we stayed for one week at the villas, recommended for couples that want some privacy. The villas area have their own adults only private pool, two hot tubs in your room, as well as rapid acces to the beach. The food was excellent, with an array of themed restaurants and two main buffets you always have a place to eat no matter the time. The rooms and hotel decoration are modern and chick, staff is focused on great customer service. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Amazing, excellent customer service, delicious food options, overall beyond happy with this location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson city Nevada

Excellent

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Its been the second time I have stayed here and I definitely coming back to enjoy my get away. I specially love the food and the way that they treat u there. I will never change of mind on my next escape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in Cancun

Posted Nov 23, 2017
It's new and beautiful. The service is very good as well. I would say this is my favorite hotel in Cancun. Most importantly, when I made a mistake of using Super Shuttle (aka Yellow Transfers) to take me to the airport and Interjet to fly me back to New York (both are poorly run companies that I will never use again) and ended up being stock in Cancun for another night, RIU took me back and gave almost the same nightly rate while other hotels were asking for tons of money. So it was good to know there is hotel that had my back. The only minus is the beach which is nice, but not as nice as the beach that other RIU hotels in Cancun have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel close the beach.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Delicious food, great desserts. We love very much our vacation time in Riu Palace Penisula. We love very much Riu in Dominican Rep and one of the best Punta Cana beach and excelent evening entertaiment ..We had graet time in Riu Palace Las Americana three years ago, and with daughter four years ago , very good food , entertaiment and waiters polite. See next time in Riu in future ....next year . Thank you and best wishes for hotel staff Piotr and Elzbieta Narewski
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Very nice hotel. Delicious food and very friendly staff Definitely recommend it .