Ratings based on 2,775 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha Nebraska

Paradise on the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2017
The place is incredible. fantastic food and great drinks. super entertainment in a beautiful setting. I would highly recommend it. I’ve never gone to the same place twice but if I was going to this would be it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Awesome

Posted Dec 7, 2017
We had a great time! Definitely going back to this hotel in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Need to pay attention to some of the details

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: We liked the pools and number of places available to get a drink or something to eat were numerous.
Cons: We had the romantic dinner on the beach. Venue was beautiful, but the details could have been better - serve wine with dinner, warm the bread, etc.
Location: Facilities were nice but the Riu Caribe next door had the better beach. Could not walk the beach for very long without obstruction.
We had a King size junior suite overlooking the pools and water on the 11th floor - it was beautiful. I would recommend a higher floor to eliminate some of the noise - but you can sit hear the nightly show easily from the balcony. The room was spacious, but the layout is made for couples only - there is not a private door to the shower or sink area - only a separate toilet closet. We we found the beds and pillows to be just right for us - not luxurious, but totally fine for a good night's sleep. The lighting in the sink area was really awful - I don't expect pure make-up lighting, but it was limited to very bright canned lights overhead - I preferred the mirror on the closet doors. Restaurants were pretty good - only ate at the buffet twice, but enjoyed the Sports bar food (open 24/7) and the themed restaurants for Japanese and Mexican food. Liked that you did not need to make a reservation for these - rather if they did not have availability they gae you a buzzer. The pastries in the lobby bar area were really good too. Fabulous on-site photographers will take as many pictures as you would like or your special vacation - no fee but they do want you to buy them of course. Very nice and accomodating staff, and it was nice to have an Expedia rep on site at the hotel. Great weather made the trip wonderful. Overall, pretty good for an all-inclusive, but not the best I've been too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Best Cancun Experience After 20 Visits!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: The 'beach' is more like a rocky cliff which was cool for pictures, but not for laying out. To resolve this walk to Riu next door and perfect beach!
Location: The hotel is very close to the Hotel Zone 'downtown' for easy access (5 minute $1 bus ride) to the clubs and flea market for shopping.
I never write reviews on ANYTHING, but was so impressed by our recent stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula I had to write. I have travelled to Cancun over 20 times and have never had such an amazing experience as at the Riu. The service was exemplary. Some examples - The front desk staff was super nice and accommodating, none of the stuffy/don't understand English tone you sometimes get in Mexico. In the buffet restaurant you were assigned a server. They would bring you WHATEVER you wanted to drink even if they had to walk to the bar. There was never an issue with attitude or hinting/asking for tips. The drinks at the all inclusive bars were US recognizable names (not no name well liquor). The drinks were not strong by American tastes, but a simple reminder to the bartender/server would do the trick for a stronger drink when needed. The room was spartan but extremely clean. The maid was courteous and even brought extra waters when she noticed we had a trash can full of empty bottles. We never even switched on the TV and just looked at the amazing views. Each night there was complimentary entertainment at the hotel ranging from a beach concert, comedy show, opera/dance play, and popular music concert. There really was never a need to leave the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Don't celebrate your wedding in this hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: food
Cons: everything
Location: pharmacy
I stayed there for 8 days, I made a big mistake when I decided to celebrate my wedding there. They don't tell the truth, poor quality in everything but the food. I paid a lot for "nothing". I'm very disappointed and none of my guests will come back there for various reasons ( cleanliness, service etc ) Waiters don't give you a good service if you don't give them tip every single time. Cleanliness of the room is very poor.. sometimes you think that they don't clean at all. Go to other hotel, overall it does not worth. There are BETTER hotels in Cancun for the same price....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Everything was really great, i would recommend this hotel to anybody. Very clean, the food was great and lot's of different options to eat....great place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville Fl

Best vacation for family

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Great time with my family. Hotel is beautiful. The people over there make your vacation a great experience. The trips to isla mujeres the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Beautiful hotel! Service was amazing and staff were all extremely helpful! Such a relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK, NY

Style. Quality. Beautiful beachfront. Best yet!

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Stayed here for 1 week and realized i could easily live here forever. The grounds were beautifully manicured plus so many beach/pool options- several pools, all super clean and great temperatures. Also several options for beachfront relaxation- under a mini forest of palm trees, or directly in the sun along a unique stretch of rocky (but smooth enough to walk barefoot) beach front with amazing spots to layout or sit in a chair and walk down 3-4 steps to clear turquoise water. Also, i can go on and on about the interior of the hotel- really art deco but super tasteful. Feel like a celebrity here! My fiance and I are 99% sure this will be where we have our destination wedding. Highly recommend this hotel. My 5th time to cancun, and from now on i will only be at the Riu Palace Peninsula!! 10 stars!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Tobacco odor

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: cleanliness
Location: nothing near, you should use transportation.
I arrived and the room has a terrible tobacco odor, server don't treat you well if you don't give them tip ( which is included) and of course I gave tip, but not always. Dated room and clean service is very poor.