Ratings based on 2,255 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food was mediocre very salty. Place needs upgrade

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Resort did not have any night time entertainment found iboring with limited activities. Food was super salty the buffet lacked variety. Staff in restaurant were very cordial and professional. We were changed from rooms twice since this resort is a Time Share in which we weren't aware of. When transferred from 7th floor to 3 floor bathroom had a ceiling leaking problem. The resort needs to be upgraded colors are not welcoming throughout the entire resort . Resort colors are dull. Will never return to this resort again and will not recommend to others. This resort also lacked a disco for those who would of liked to go dancing at night. Nothing to do in resort super boring !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Lily, Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about your recent experience at The Royal Sands. We're disappointed to hear that your stay fell below your vacation expectations. Our resorts are built with relaxation in mind and we always aim to offer a relaxed experience taking care of your good rest without noise or any annoyance. Our restaurants are certified by the Mexican Ministry of Tourism with the Distintivo H, a certification granted to establishments that comply with the highest hygiene, food preparation and quality standards. However, the best certification we can achieve is our guests’ satisfaction. We're disappointed to read your review and learning we didn’t meet your expectations regarding our dining options. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away of any needs or issues that they encounter during their stay, as we want the opportunity to make it right. We truly value all of our guests, and would love the opportunity to host you again in the future. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Cons: the same attention to detail that has been given to customer service should be given to the preparation of food. Or just come up with a new menu.
Customer service was excellent but the food was horrible. I had to keep going to Mcdonalds and ordering papa john's pizza every night for my kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting about our resort. We always take special care when preparing our food and beverage items and our resorts are certified by the Mexican Ministry of Tourism with the Distintivo H, a certification granted to establishments that comply with the highest hygiene, food preparation and quality standards. However, the best certification we can achieve is our guests satisfaction. We're disappointed to read your review and learning we didn't achieve our goal of providing our guests with the highest standards in food. We are constantly working to improve the experience of our guests, and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Right On The Beach.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The Pools and the access to the beach.
Cons: on site entertainment could be beneficial to the Hotel.
Location: Location is the best part. Easily accessible by public transportation.
My stay at The Royal Sands Cancun, was as described by numerous reviewers. I have to say first of all that this is a Hotel which is conviniently located on the beach, very clean and with a great staff. although, place has limited entertainment for adult and children, it is a place where you will relax. I like the fact that the staff made this place very attractive with their guess treatment, and therefore I will pay future visits to this place. Restaurants were very accommodating to late reservations, and food menu items were somewhat extensive, with minor surcharges on certain items on the menu. Overall experience was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear RealDominican, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. It’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy yourselves around the resort and we hope that the staff made you feel right at home. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, and we would love to see you again soon! Warm Regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a timeshare resort

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I have to say the only good thing there is the beach, very poor customer service, all inclusive is a trap the night menu for room service almost nothing, and when you order you will wait 1hr at least for your order. Stuff are really rude, bell men very bad. It is a timeshare place which I didn't know so if you are looking to go for a weekend or few days better put your money in a better place! As for weekend be ready for a silly idea is to change the room Saturday morning and the new one not ready so you end up with your luggage 2 hours at the reception. Very poor experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post about our resort. We always strive to provide our guest with the highest satisfaction rates and we regret not achieving this goal with you. Rest assured the behavior you described is not encouraged nor promoted by Royal Resorts. We appreciate your feedback and we're sharing your comments with the appropriate channels so that our service may improve. We truly value all of our guests, and would love the opportunity to host you again in the future to change your mind about vacationing with us. Warm Regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that bad, but if you can Stay away from it

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Stay away from it if you can.. made us change rooms like 2 times, Management is all messed up
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Danny, Thank you for taking the time to post about our resort. We apologize for the inconvenience that represented the room switching on Saturdays. Our Inventory department works closely with the guest services one to avoid it. This is particularly difficult when the occupancy rate is high. We communicate this timely with our customers by publishing about this policy on all of our websites and our business partners' websites. We strive to make the process as smooth as possible. We will share your comments with the appropriate channels so we can improve our service. We truly value all of our guests, and would love the opportunity to host you again in the future to change your mind about vacationing with us. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R. Dallas tx.

Wonderful place to be

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Everything and everyone was wonderful. Our first time there . Will be going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Yesenia: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal hotel location...

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Onsite restaurants and hotel sister chain restaurants do not serve authentic Mexican food if you're looking to satiate your palette. Hotel staff friendliness can be a hit or miss depending on how much you're willing to tip. Even though your all inclusive stay already includes tips, it is customary to tip. When you get towels for the pool, make sure that you return them. My husband and I left them on the lounge chairs and the gentleman, the next day, wanted to charge us and even accused us of lying and that we were instructed to return them. We resolved this misunderstanding by simply stating, let us speak to your manager on duty. Same horrible experience when it came to asking for a drink 5 min. before the pool bar closed down. Sorry, we're not serving alcohol anymore because it's 7pm on my register and it won't allow me to sell anymore. Other than that, we had a pleasant vacation despite these unforeseen customer service hiccups.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Meli, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. We always strive to give our guests the best location, value, amenities and service. We appreciate you letting us know about the aspects of your stay that didn't meet your expectations. We are constantly working to improve the experience of our guests, and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean ,staff were very friendly and helpful.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Royal Sands was beautiful!! Staff was excellent!! Food delicious!! Our kids had an amazing time! We had a great experience, can't wait to return again to the same resort! Loved everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Nico, Thank you for your review. We couldn’t be happier to see that your time spent with us was a great experience. We hope that you and your family made some incredible memories that will last for years to come. We are honored that you would choose to stay with us again. We will see you then! Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Great experience

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Beautiful facility situated directly on the beach and right next door to a very nice shopping mall. ALL of the staff work very hard and are so friendly. We were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was and the nice choices of restaurants to select. The small grocerie store was a nice accommodation to grab a few waters and snacks from. Two very large pools with swim up bars for you to choose. The larger pool was more of a party place with activities going on and the smaller seemed to be more family oriented. The beach is amazing and it was nice to have staff serving drinks and food right to you. Overall a wonderful experience and I would recommend The Royal Sands to anyone. The views are magnificent!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Sands and that our staff's warmth and cordiality exceeded your expectations. It's great that you were able to take advantage of so many of the amenities available around the resort. We appreciate you recommending us to the TripAdvisor community and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice & Cozy

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Cozy, convenience and great view of the ocean from every rooms. Great layout and about of the facility. Good foods and beverages.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Sonny: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.