Ratings based on 2,395 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Great place to stay by the beach, with a nice pool and staff.
Cons: The buffet could have more variety in different time and days, but overall is good.
Location: It has a mall less than 3 minutes walking distance, very nice place to enjoy a couple hours.
I was there with my wife and 1-year baby boy, to celebrate his first birthday and it was excellent, the place is clean and staff very polite, they run a club like a timeshare, but they don't push you to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Thiago, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent vacation stay with us. How wonderful that you chose The Royal Sands to celebrate your son's first year of life. We couldn’t be happier to see that your time spent with us was an excellent experience. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal sands phase 2

Excellent resort

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Food was amazing. Staffs were kind. One niche would be that room service receptionist could speak better english. Nothing too bad happened but our orders were messed up a little.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Hugh, Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed our dining options and our staff's friendliness and cordiality. We appreciate your feedback which helps us improve future guests' experiences and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel. I enjoyed my stay.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: the all exclusive service i was provided
Cons: everything seemed well
Location: tourist attractions and nightlife
The only thing that wasn't accurate was the balcony of my room. The Expedia website showed a deluxe balcony for my double room. I thought i was getting a bigger balcony with a table but i was told at the receptionist table that i was wrong. It was false advertising and made me look dumb in front of people. Besides this issue i had a great time at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Allen, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Sands. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We regret to see that our unit didn't meet your expectations. We are very careful about listing the room amenities to avoid this type of situation. We're sharing your comments with our management so we can review our resort's information online. We hope to see you again! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ceres ca

excellent location

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: location and service
Location: close to the mall and close enough to a lot of atracciones and even offer you a shuttle!
beauty and service, the grand kids had a blast with activities and service superb! adult were able to relax with no worries!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay saint louis ,MS

Very, very nice right on the beach .

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Very clean , comfortable and right on the beach
Cons: No complaints
Location: On the beac and a mall was next door . Great restaurants very close .
We had an awesome time . Staff was extremely nice and helpful . Food was great and the beach was beautiful!! I would definitely go back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent vacation stay with us. We couldn’t be happier to see that your time spent with us was an awesome experience. We are honored that you would choose to stay with us again. We will see you then! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Posted Oct 5, 2017
It was great...I recommend this hotel. Great environment for family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Liz, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We're glad to see that your time spent with us was a great experience. Thank you for recommending us to the Expedia community and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to the Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

OK, but had issues

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Grounds are nice
Cons: Information regarding what is included in our stay, not just about the timeshare and signing us up to be "owners"
Location: location is good, took buses everywhere as its the easiest and cheapest form of transportation!
PROS: nice rooms, great grounds, the service staff friendly and caring, CONS: timeshare timeshare timeshare... be prepared for all lobby staff and concierge staff to only sell sell sell, very annoying. Room had to be repaired during our stay the ceiling started leaking, so we had a repairman come in late at night to seem like remove old duct tape with new duct tape... (see picture) Also had to change rooms because of Saturday turn over for the "owners" of the time share... So had to change rooms in the middle of our stay. The personalize concierge was so concerned with selling that we did not inform us that we have both the A and B side of our villa, so for the first 4 nights we did not get the "second" bedroom. Only during our switching of rooms did we understand the the bellman that we had both sides...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear S, Thanks for taking the time to review recent stay with us here at The Royal Sands. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. We always strive to give our guests the best location, value, amenities and service. We apologize if you encountered a few issues in your villa during your stay. But we are glad to hear that our maintenance staff was able to assist you with your needs. We always encourage our guests to let us know whatever we can do to make sure that their vacation nothing short of perfect! We always strive to communicate clearly and assertively with our guests and we regret to learn that we didn’t achieve this goal with you. We’re sharing your comments with our management so that we find ways to improve. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, Fl

All aspects of The Royal Sands was fantastic..JT

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Professional staff Great meals Plenty of drinks Fun volleyball Members staying became friends.
Location: We just enjoyed the resort and only went to the other Royal restaurants.
Celebrating an anniversary, we wanted something special but not over pay. First All-Inclusive. This Resort over performed! Staff was professional and Not over barring selling a time-share. Food was outstanding breakfast to dinner. Loved volleyball in pool and on beach.(Thx Fernanda) Room especially quiet-never knew we had neighbors. AC cold and AC-fan noise even covered up my snoring and wife never woke up :) We are planning another trip next Sept. Bringing friends and family. This is the most positive I've ever reviewed a Resort.....NO issues or complaints. Great Value. JT
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear JT, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy yourselves around the resort and hope that the staff made you feel right at home. We are honored that you would choose to stay with us again with more friends and family. We look forward to seeing you again next September! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Welcoming and family friendly resort

Posted Oct 1, 2017
First thing we noticed once we stepped in the lobby was the cleanliness and welcoming aroma! Smells so good in the lobby! Our concierge Ali was excellent as was the rest of the staff. Our housekeeper Rosa was very detailed and kept our villa fresh. Rafael at the Char Hut was very friendly as well, and awesome to our kids. Overall, the resort is perfect but the staff is what makes it top notch. They are always willing to help and very friendly! We can’t wait to come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Victor Jay, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to see that you were able to enjoy yourselves around the resort and that the staff made you feel right at home. We can’t wait to have you back! Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great pools right on the beach

Posted Sep 29, 2017
This hotel is immaculately clean, well maintained, and has an excellent location with a beautiful beach. However, the best part has to be the staff. They are so kind and helpful! Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. We're convinced that our staff is the most important asset in our company since their interaction with our guests makes possible what we like to call "The Royal Experience". We're glad to learn you've enjoyed your stay at our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards.